Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by helen from GB

Helpful staff, but a budget hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2013
Pros: helpful staff
Cons: attic bedroom v small
Location: not marvellous, but excellent for the Gare du Nord
I was given an attic room on the 6th floor, very small indeed. No room for cothes except in wardrobe. Very very noisy during the night. When you got out of the lift there was barely the space of the lift as a landing. One morning I opened my bedroom door and fell onto a man waiting for the lift! However the staff were very pleasant and helpful One other point, the buses on the main road only ran towards the Gare du Nord, not towards central Paris
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

the worst

Posted May 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
It was simply dreadful. Noisy. Scary even. the worst. And the fellow who booked it for us, named Mark, had no idea where it was. He tried to book us in towns outside of Paris. He was totally unequipped to handle the job.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angie from Estill Springs, TN, USA

Well Situated & Pleasant with Terrific Staff

Posted Dec 31, 2011
Pros: The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Mini-bar fridge was an added convenience.
Cons: Rooms situated on the front of the hotel facing the street are noisy with the windows open. The elevator is small enough to induce claustrophobia.
Location: Situated between to two Metro stops, the location is terrific. Walkable to two major train stations and many good restaurants and shopping areas.
This hotel is a nice place to stay for visiting/sightseeing in Paris. It's situated almost exactly halfway between the Cadet and Poissoniére Metro stops, making getting around the city very easy. There's a Starbucks less than five minutes walking distance (towards the Cadet stop), which in Paris is a good deal for breakfast. It's easy to get to on foot or Metro from both the Gare du Nord and Gare de l'Est stations. Walking to/from either is not more than 15 minutes, even pulling a suitcase. The room was really clean and of a generous size. There were three of us and we didn't feel crowded at all. The beds were very comfortable. We can't say enough nice words about the hotel staff. They were very friendly and highly tolerant of our rudimentary French language skills. Of course, their English was just fine. They were extremely helpful and seemed to genuinely enjoy their work. Another plus is that the Wifi is FREE! There was also a mini-bar fridge in the room. The only real downside was that our room was on the front side of the hotel, which faces Rue la Lafayette. It's a very busy street, so sleeping with the windows open means it's noisy. The good news is that the windows close tightly, significantly attenuating the noise. Don't pick this hotel if you're looking for "fancy" or "well appointed". It's basic, but comfortable. Bring your own shampoo if you can't manage to tear open those little plastic packets with wet fingers. Overall, the value for the money spent was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2011 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Simi Valley, CA

Best hotel that I've stayed at in Paris! Book your stay here! Can't wait to go back!

Posted Nov 22, 2011
Our awesome stay at this hotel began when we arrived 3 hours before check in. The man at the desk (I can't remember his name) took our luggage for us and put it in a secure location (unlike a previous hotel, who pointed us to an unlocked room to put our luggage). He looked up my name and said the room will probably be ready early (check-in is at 2pm). We walked around the neighborhood and came back at 12:30pm. He called the person in charge of cleaning the room and let us know it will be ready in 10 minutes. We were able to get into our room over an hour early! The room was much more spacious than other hotels I have stayed at in Paris. The rest of the weekend was amazing, and was even better by the free Wi Fi that is offered at this hotel (even the Hilton in Paris doesn't offer that!). There are staff members there 24-hours a day to help you. We were ALWAYS greeted with a sincere smile and a happy face. You can tell that the management here loves their job! Also of note, we came back late one night and hadn't eaten dinner yet. The small liquor/convenience shop 2 doors down was open, even after 1am. We were able to buy a few sandwiches and cozy up in our room to eat. I would definately recommend this hotel! We can't wait to go back! Bravo to Hotel Montholon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

argumentative unhelpful staff

Posted Oct 23, 2011
Location: Around the Opera house.
Radiator and TV were broken. It took 5 hours and repeated prodding to get them to fix the TV. It took hours to fix the radiator on a cold night and I had to argue and threaten. Finally they just gave me a space heater. They were very unhelpful and when something was wrong, very unfriendly. They actually yelled at me at one point. The location is great, 20 minutes walk from Opera. Room was tiny but functional.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

montholon paris

Posted Aug 25, 2011 on Hotels.com
.great location for centre . great staff. but on main road. too much noise at night - restaurant next door. Main road traffic . Passers by shouting all night - no air conditioning- were there in august for hottest week of year.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great, great, great

Posted Aug 2, 2011 on Hotels.com
Great location, great price, and Great service. The front desk guys were very helpful and attentive!!! Love this place!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

good location, horrible bed

Posted May 14, 2011
The location was perfect as it was 10 min walk from Gare du Nord and 2 min walk to metro station and grocery store called Monop. We didnt stay much in our room so we werent looking for frills. There was a small elevator, staff were very friendly. Decent breakfast, safe in room. The bed was HORRIBLE! My husband and I slept on two twin beds put together, one bed was too soft and other was too hard. Also there was some construction noise but we woke up early each day to sightsee so it didnt bother us too much. I would recommend this place if you need an affordable hotel near Gare du Nord and metro and are not needing luxury.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 13, 2011 on Hotels.com