Ratings based on 307 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Close to main areas in Paris

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Small rooms, noisy at nite due to Metro, even an. Upgraded room , clean. Close to sites
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Expedia should be careful reccomending this hotel.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The only thing they have to their advantage is the locaction if you need to be in the expensive side of the city and close to the subway.
At most the hotel should have a 4 star rating. The conditions of the room, furniture and painting reminds you of a place with ZERO maintainaince. The concierge service is not up to par for a 5 star hotel. In general their rating is just a tourist trap for charging more for the rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super close to the Metro!

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: NON SMOKING! It's just gross!
Location: Center of everything
Cute hotel very Parisian but a bit dated. NOT A NON-Smoking hotel... We asked for a non smoking room and got one that reeked of cigarettes and we were told all rooms were smoking when we asked to change :-( It is 1 block from the Arch De Triumph and the metro so it is very convenient. The rooms are a tad old and in need of an update and at night GIANT lights that light up the building shine in the windows like day light. The concierge is not a ton of help but very sweet. 30 Arabic channels - a few french ones and 3 english ones? The bathtub was a bit moldy - never a happy sign in my book! Overall - I think the hotel was a bit overpriced for quality and service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

So good

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Everything is O.K.(location,staff,facilities,condition) But Hotel View is not good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Paris Hotel!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Great location close to the Arc. Hotel was very clean; staff was helpful and courteous. Perfect stay for our first trip to Paris!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Florida

Charming Paris hotel perfectly located

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Location, charm, hotel staff, non smoking floor, hotel staff
Location: Located by the Arc and a metro station
The Napolean was beautifully Parisian. The hotel staff were courteous and helpful. The location was excellent for touring as the metro station was very close and convenient. This hotel was able to offer an entire non smoking floor. As well as a triple room to accommodate our party of 3. The rate was quite expensive but this hotel met our expectations and I would recommend this room for travelers to Paris.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.I.

Excellent hotel in a great location.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Hotel is a great location, staff are very friendly and the food good. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2014
great staff very helpful good location concierge was great
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Great location but overpriced. Small, small rooms. We had connecting doors that one of our children accidentally shut, had to call down 3 times to get someone to come up and open it, 3 hours later. For $2,000 a night would expect better service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

Very disappointed and dissatisfied

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: The housekeeping was good. The view was ok of the Eiffel Tower.
Cons: They could improve alot - including their people skills.
Location: The location was the only very good thing about this hotel. It was a 2 minute walk to Champ d'Elysse - a very busy shopping and people street.
We checked in late to the Hotel Napoleon. Upon entering the room, I noticed right away that the room was not the room I booked and prepaid for. I paid for a Jr. Suite with Avenue view and I received a regular room with an Avenue view. It was a much smaller room. I called the front desk and told them but they said that I would need to speak to the Manager the next day. However, the next day we were gone all day for a tour. When I stopped in at the front desk that evening, I was told that the Manager was not available and to try back the following day. The following day, there was another guest complaining about the same thing. There were so many people in line and we were late for another tour so we waited until that evening. That evening, I was told that they were fully booked and were unable to do anything about it. The morning I checked out, the following day, I complained again and stated that I wanted the difference back between the 2 rooms price and the Manager said that I needed to speak to the General Manager. I left my name and email address and it has been 5 days since and I have not heard back. I will be making a further complaint with Expedia for reimbursement. Besides, that the hotel had very strange, bad odors. On our floor, there were people constantly sitting around the elevators, their doors open, their shoes spread out everywhere. Not at all a 5 star experience. .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2014 by Guzman, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. MEDEIROS, I would like to thank you for your feedback. I was very disappointed to hear about your experience at the Hotel Napoleon. Unfortunately, I was outside Paris during your stay and I am very sorry that I was not able to meet you in person. I have consulted your file and can confirm that the room you stayed in, room 708, is a Junior Suite Avenue, as has been reserved. We verified the website of Expedia concerning the information about our Junior Suites. We noticed a difference of categories shown between the photo at mentioning the category and the one when paying. We understand if the information is not quite clear and we apologize for this. Unfortunately, we cannot manage the photos Expedia uses at a certain moment when making reservation. Rest assured, we have contacted Expedia to change this information. Hotel Napoleon is an individual hotel in a historic building. This means that each room is different, concerning the decoration and composition of the room. This particular Junior Suite, is indeed slightly more cozy than the other ones, because of the slanted ceiling. This gives the room a special charm with the large balcony and the view of the Eiffel Tower. Room 708 is also known as our honeymoon suite and usually very much loved. We are very sorry to hear you did not appreciate this Junior Suite. During your stay there was a special event in the Imperial Suite, which explains the many visits on your floor. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused for this exceptional situation. We have taken note of your comment and make sure this will not happen next time. I would like to apologize about how our team handled your feedback on the room during your stay. Being most concerned about the memory you have of our hotel, I can assure you that your experience is not following our standards. Also, the staff involved have been spoken to at length, and would like to be associated with my apology. Yours Sincerely,