Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic service, beautiful hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Our luggage was lost by the airline. The concierge was extremely helpful following up with the airline until its recovery. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Location is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I definitely would stay there again.

Posted Mar 10, 2014
The location was great. The staff are friendly. Our room was a good size.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Yvonne from Brisbane, Australia

Parisian style and super " heavenly bed"

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: The location to Opera establishments, Shopping, cafés, bistros etc.
Cons: Food Scribe just does not seem to cater for breakfast, lunch, snacks at a reasonable price and their service in their food area is not acceptable.
Location: You can walk to anything from Scribe. Walked to Champs Élysées , Louvre, Plaz Vendome, Rue St Honore, Louis Vuitton .airport & tour buses go past.
So comfortable with great Parisian style. I left Paris on 26 th. January and returned to Scribe on 13 th February. I had been to 5 other hotels in France and Italy and no other hotel had the softness of the Scribe bed. Much smaller room than my initial visit even with the offer of upgrading room for ninety euros extra on top of Standard room I had already paid. No view given for deluxe rooms. Higher rates just do not give value for money. No upgrade was offered because I travelled as a single, although I had paid for a double rate. I think this will be my last stay at Scribe. The other Sofitel , Faubourge has , since I was there in 2012, already increased beyond my budget. Had lunch at the Westin on Rue Rivoli and found it to be so much better than Scribes restaurant. Two course meal for 30 euro. Absolute luxury with its purple decor. Fantastic seafood soup and roasted lamb with risotto and mushrooms. Lamb roast was so large that I could hardly finish it. Such and enormous difference between Westin and Scribe restaurant. Shall be looking at Westin for my next stay in Paris next year.
3 out of 5
by David from Londres

Well located

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The price and the architecture.
Location: Close to the Palais Garnier and the metro Opera
Well located but terribly overpriced for what it is. Poky rooms and limited breakfast hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Great massage at the spa. Food was ok, I expected better. Room was beautiful. Most staff was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Blackberry from Oxfordshire

Exceeded our expectations by miles. Or kilometers.

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: The warmth of the staff, not stuffy, but highly professional, attentive and warm
Cons: Breakfast / Restaurant expensive, though probably great value. Rue Godot de Mauroy behind the hotel has some very reasonable restaurants.
Location: Central to all the attractions. The 42 bus goes from 50 metres by the hotel to the Place de la Concorde etc.
We arrived early.. no problem, sit there for a few minutes while we find you a room. We weren't sure about our complicated metro / RER trip, no problem, here's a map and let us write down directions We weren't sure how to get to the rugby ground, no problem, let us show you the best route We got back very late from the match, we were met with polite, warm smiles, sympathy at the result. The room was clean, nay, spotless, the beds magnificent, the towels thick and fresh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yvonne from Brisbane Australia

Wonderful location in the Opera district

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: The location. I have been to Paris more than ten times on tours and privately and have never wanted to pay this rate but I really enjoyed it.
Cons: Some tour groups were in the hotel while I was there for five days. Something better has to be found for the buffet breakfast situation.
Location: scribe is on major roads for bus access, tour buses etc. Great cafés eg Chez Clement , where you feel like being in someone's home. Everything close.
A hotel that is geared for business clients, not tourists. Fantastic location and is truly the grand hotel of bygone days. Staff are quite helpful except for one of the concierge women. Buying breakfast for the first day was a disaster. Practically all the food had gone by 9 am and was not replaced by the time I left at 9.45 am. I waited for 30minutes before I had to ask for a cafe latte when the waitress brings me a pot of black coffee.i then had to ask for hot milk and make my own latte. At 35 euros it is just a nightmare regarding staff who do not want to help you. After the fist day I would buy a brioche at a cafe and make my own coffee in my room and cost is about 2-5 euros.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel near Garnier Opera

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Staff were friendly and attentive. Accommodations were very comfortable. Very convenient to transit and shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com