Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very central and reasonable value

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Very central and reasonable value compared to alternatives in the area. Courtyard room was clean and quiet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Tiggy from London, UK

Good location but minor niggles

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Reception staff need to be more friendly. Need electric socket close to bed. Need proper blind on window. Need practical sink in bathroom.
Location: Good location - a few minutes walk from Opera metro station
Reception staff average, not very welcoming. Had a horrible small room in attic and rather than using a proper blind for the velux window they have a curtain that does not fit, so does not keep out light. Sink in bathroom might look modern but ridiculous to use - impossible to wash your face without splashing water everywhere. No TV signal for English channels. No electric socket near the bed, so cannot charge and keep phone by the bed (so if you need to charge overnight and it's also your alarm clock you will need to jump out of bed to turn the alrm off! No tea and coffee making facilities - but mini bar to store your own cold drinks. Not good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good option in high rent district

Posted Feb 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the Volney as a last minute option for one night and were pleasantly surprised. Tiny hotel (5 rooms on our floor), but rooms were decent size for Paris. Great location, essentially on the backside of Place Vendome, with shopping (Cartier, Van Cleef & Arpels, Mont Blanc, etc) and many dining options only a block away. Only drawback was a lack of hot water, albeit we slept in until 10am or so. Might have missed the window there...
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Howard from USA

Great proximity-need earplugs, kareoke downstairs

Posted Feb 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very close to Opera subway and walking distance to major sites in Paris. But very disatisfied with the stay for two reasons. The hotel is under construction during the offseason. Banging and drilling began promptly at 8am every weekday morning. If you enjoy singing kareoke for free, good hotel, because the music and 'singing' from the bar next door carried through the walls nicely. Loud enough to identify the songs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by D-Man from Newport Beach, CA

Great Little Hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel Volney Opera is a fantastic hotel within a two minute walk from some very expensive hotels at have simular features. Great location. I would definately stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Keenen from New York, NY

Looks more appealing in photos than in real life.

Posted Jan 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
You you're not going to find a better quality hotel in this location at this price unless another hotel is giving away rooms. The rates are an absolute steal! Though the hotel looks amazing in photos, the standard rooms are pretty small and a lot of the modern accents depicted were absent from my room. The photos of this hotel can be a bit deceiving, but for a three star hotel what can you expect? All things considered, it's clean and perfectly located.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kristen from Toronto, Canada

Great stay at Volney!

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was my first time in Paris and I'm so happy I found this hotel. The location is fantastic, easy to walk to Opera Garnier, Place Vendome and shopping. We used the stop at Opera Garnier for the hop-on-hop-off bus tour that takes you to all the major sites. There's many shops and restaurants near by. The best part is it's on a quiet street so there's no problem with noise at night. The staff was very friendly and helpful giving directions and tips for sightseeing. The rooms were clean and quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel and Location

Posted Nov 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The elevator wasn't working the day we checked in, but the problem was fixed by the following morning. Besides that, we did not face any other problems at the hotel. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel location is great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mccallum from New zealand

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice staff and location