Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

Great hotel for the Sorbonne

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: In Latin Quartier, quiet street, all facilities working well.
Cons: Shower head needs sorting out (as normal!).
Location: Two very acceptable brasseries within metres - one of the best steak and chips ever eaten at L'Oree du Parc. Luxembourg gardens close by.
Excellent value hotel. Charming staff with good English if required, fresh free breakfasts (we expected to be charged), free newspapers, free wifi, and only three stops from Gare du Nord on the RER. Smallish room but as expected at this price in Paris.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new hampshire

my favorite hotel in paris

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: coffee and tea in lobby
Location: i particularly like hanging out in the luxembourg gardens - just a short walk away. but it's close to lots of the usual places to visit.
i have stayed at this hotel 5 or 6 times in the last few years and have always been more than satisfied. friendly staff, nice facilities and superb location. i have regularly been able to check in early - which is nice after an overnight flight. this time i was upgraded and spoiled!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Well situated, close to main tourist points

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: The lounge and breakfast room were pleasant. Hotel situated on a relatively quiet street with a lot of trees
Cons: More flexibility for front desk service (could not do anything without manager) , furniture that is dilapidated and badly maintained, bigger bathrooms
Location: Close to main boulevards, Luxemburg Garden, many nice restaurants, on the verge of Latin Quarters and tube station.
During the last two days of our stay water was coming down from the light fixtures in our tiny bathroom every time the guests above our room used their bathroom so that each time we used ours we came out completely wet. The hotel staff, however, was indifferent, nobody came to check how bad the situation in our bathroom really was. All the towels were wet and the floor was slippery.The room, which was very small, smelled of wetness. At the check out nobody apologized or commented, and nobody suggested a lower charge, since we could hardly use the bathroom for 2 days. The breakfast charge was very high. Altogether we felt like a necessary evil being there just to squeeze as much money out of us for as little service possible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2015 by Yan GILLY, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your recent visit at the The Relais Saint Jacques and for sharing your impressions with us on Expedia. We are sorry to read that you didn’t appreciate entirely your stay. We take onboard all your comment and all the technical problems have been fixed We are looking forward to welcome you again at our Hotel. And perhaps you will change your mind about us. Again, thank you very much for the time taken in sharing your experience with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Bijou Hotel in quiet location

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: Attention to detail; comfort and style
Cons: The modernisation programme could have allowed for bigger bathrooms
Location: Walking distance from RER and Metro, the Pantheon, Latin Quarter and extensive Luxembourg Gardens
Behind its 19th Century facade this is a hotel which has been tastefully modernised and has all the 21st Century amenities one could desire
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice hotel in a lovely quiet neighborhood.

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: I liked the location and the curb appeal of the hotel. The breakfast was also good. L'Occitane products, robes and slippers provided.
Cons: The WIFI was pretty awful which was something we did not count on. That made making plans very difficult.
Location: Near the RER B train. two restaurants very close. walking distance to shops and Luxembourg Gardens
This boutique styled hotel was in a pretty and quiet neighborhood within walking distance of the train, restaurants and sites. The staff was very helpful and accommodating in every area of the hotel. The bathroom is fully equipped with everything you would need for a stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice Hotel at the edge of the Latin Quarter

Posted May 4, 2015
It's a nice hotel in a nice area; be aware though that 4 stars in Paris gets you a tiny hotel room with somewhat better than normal service. Still, a pleasant stay, and better than any other hotel I know in this area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Boutique-high on style, slightly less on function

Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
A pleasant boutique hotel, reasonably well situated. Some things are not well arranged for business, despite renovations. For instance, the few electrical outlets in the room are all committed, to lamps, television, etc., none are for guests, which means that using a laptop or any sort of phone charger or similar means unplugging something you might want at the same time. Wireless access is poor, through a out-service that requires webpage login, which may need to be repeated each time an iPad is opened. It need not be a big deal, but the connection can be congested, so that this may take 3-5 minutes each time a connection is wanted. It's nominally high-speed, but in practice can be quite slow at certain times. That said... you can pretty easily be in the same situation in other small hotels in Paris, where they can list "free high-speed wireless access" this way, without really being very functional. Larger hotels may run their own wireless networks. All the staff I met (~5 people) were professional, friendly, knowledgeable, capable, responsive, and helpful. Breakfast was expensive at €17 but I thought worth it each day, the buffet-style efficient and typical upper-end of Paris hotel breakfast buffets, tables well appointed with good linen and china and everything impeccably clean and shiny; cheaper options are close by, if you are not in a rush and don't mind stepping a block or less.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Alejandra from Brooklyn, NY

Latin Quarter 5th Arr.

Posted Apr 26, 2015 on Hotels
It was a last minute choice to stay at this hotel. My Airb n b was canceled 2 days before my arrival in Paris. The rate was perfect and the location was a few minute walk from the RER B. The room was clean, quite and comfortable. I would stay here again. Also the concierge was helpful and courteous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ahmad from Lebanon

Good hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2015 on Hotels
Very bad wifi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Henry from Oslo

Fint boutiquehotell

Posted Apr 8, 2015 on Hotels
Sentralt og kort vei til RER B