Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Great location, very clean.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, size (not too big). Helpful staff, happy to speak English if required.
Cons: No down service (not sure if offered anyway) Tea/coffee/milk not replenished, more on request. (Should have more than one of each available).
Location: Centre of St Germain. Loads of shops/restaurants. Metro virtually outside. River nearby, Notre Dame, Louvre, Musee D'Orsay, Tuileries.
Excellent short stay. Comfortable room, view onto aircon unit unfortunately but for price wouldn't expect more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Great location!

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Location, nice room, great view
Location: 10-15 minute walk from Notre Dame, Metro station 1 minute walk, bus stop 3 minute walk.
Very friendly staff, I expected a tiny room but it was very comfortable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra ACT, Australia

Great Hotel, Great Location.

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Location: Lots of cafes and great little streets in walking distance, also shops....
Great location, very easy to get around from here, Hotel staff were very helpful. would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely, comfortable boutique hotel in St Germain

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Madison is a small but beautifully formed boutique hotel set back slightly from the Boulevard St Germain. All the staff were friendly, efficient & efficient. Our Superior room was well appointed, comfortable & clean. We hope to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Midnight in Paris

Posted Aug 27, 2014
I just completed my stay at the Madison and couldn't have been happier. My flight arrived in Paris at 6am and by the time I got in the hotel (7:30am) staff had already checked me in and all. I read in a previous review where they complained about waiting too long for check-in so I was very happy to see the opposite. Hotel staff and concierge are also very friendly and willing to give you the info you need at any time. The hotel is located at the heart of Saint Germaine des Pres and you can literally stay within the hotel radius if you want and still have plenty to see and do. My only thing was about the breakfast which I thought was a little pricey €30... It wouldn't hurt to have an a la carte menu rather than a buffet style. Aside from that, I would absolutely return to this lovely little place - a la prochaine!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice hotel, close to everything

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Very close to Metro
Cons: Only thing I would recommend would be a shower curtain. I know when traveling to different places they do things different.
Location: Best restaurant just a couple of doors down. We ate there 4 times!
Helpful staff, even upgraded us to a larger room just because they had one available. We didn't even ask so that was a nice surprise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Location Location with easy access everywhere

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Great location, very helpful staff and very clean. For us the fact that the hotel is dog friendly and close to secure car park was also very important
Cons: The toilet and bathroom could be a bit bigger - small price to pay for all the positives associated with this hotel.
Location: Very elegant area with quality bars and restaurants and shops in close proximity.
Great hotel which definitely adds to the overall Paris experience. Very elegant area with quality bars and restaurants and shops in very close proximity. Also located on one of the four tourist bus routes and close to the metro station and a short walk to the river and its boat service allowing easy access to anywhere one might wish to go. Definitely going back next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin

Intimate and Top-notch hotel.

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Modern yet very attractive Old World styling. Great staff throughout the hotel. Very nice and convenient neighborhood
Cons: Real coffee in room rather than instant.
Location: Within a short walk of Notre Dame, the Seine, and the Louvre. Two Metro stations within a block. Many decent restaurants very close by.
We spent 2 weeks at The Madison Hotel in Paris and benefited from close proximity to the Metro as well as comfortable walking distance to Notre Dame and the Louvre. The hotel is impeccably clean and lovely with a very friendly and capable staff from the front desk to the breakfast room to the housekeepers. The rooms (we had 2) are most comfortable and modern in all respects yet decorated attractively with hints of an older era. The rooms overlook an ancient church on one side and the Cafe Deux Magot on another. Despite a little street noise, the rooms are almost sound-proofed so our sleep was uninterrupted. The breakfast buffet is most generous in variety and appeal, although a little expensive at 25 euros. I will stay here again when I return to Paris. The posted rate is over 400 euros a night, but my rate through Expedia was barely half that.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great Location and good hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Location is great - walk to almost everything: :Louvre, Laduree, shops, restaurants. There is also a Monoprix around the corner, which is a nice way to save if you want to get some cheese, salami and wine for dinner. Room was nice, overlooking St. Germain des Pres, a beautiful church. Some staff were great, but housekeeping was horrible. Not once did they refill the coffee supplies, nor did they empty dirty glasses. Also, I would have expected a coffeemaker rather than instant at this price. I also needed change one day for a taxi. When I ran in to get it, I was told the hotel does not have change despite the fact that many ask for it. Seems to me that if many people ask for it, the hotel would make arrangements to have some change on hand. Yes, I understand people pay with credit, but the staff should make things as easy as possible, especially when they want to be seen as more of a luxury hotel. I admit that I checked in after a remarkable stay in London with a very attentive staff, but I was expecting more based upon the reviews I read. Overall, I hope the service starts to match the location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Great location, friendly staff.

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Location and helpful staff.
Cons: Easier wifi.
Location: Lovely location across from church and near to many shops, cafes and restaurants. You can walk to museums including the Musee D'Orsay and Le Louvre.
Friendly hotel in a posh neighbourhood full of excellent shopping and little cafes and restaurants, including the famous Les Deux Magots and Cafe du Flore. The hotel is a short walk to Metro stops on the 10 and 4 lines, allowing for easy access from Gare du Nord, and an easy stroll along boutique-filled streets to Le Louvre, Jardin des Tuilleries, etc. The rooms are pleasant, with clever storage and huge (by urban standards) bathrooms that have a separate tub and shower. Staff was very friendly and spoke excellent English. While technically right on the Boulevard, it is set back, and this really helped minimise noise. Only knocks were that I could never get Wifi to work, and the breakfast at 25 Euros seemed expensive, though probably standard for Paris hotels. Didn't have it so I couldn't say if there was any value there.