Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh pa

Grat hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: The charm of it...loved the little patio
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very convenient
If your looking for a very cute parisian place to stay and very central located this would be it...we loved the charm of the place and we were traveling with our two kids and had plenty of space in our room for all our stuff....the staff could not have been nicer and so very helpful...we LOVED IT
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by romano from uk

decor

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location! Great staff! Decor a bit scruffy, but clean. In need of a bit of updating or refurbishing in areas. Other than that, OK for a short stay.
2 out of 5
by Ashley from Los Angeles, CA

Motel 6 of Paris

Posted Jan 7, 2013
This hotel is basically the Motel 6 of Paris, maybe worse. While there were not bugs or vermin, the mattress was probably 20 years old and the springs dug into my back, really uncomfortable. The room and bathroom were not very clean at all, there was mold in the tile grout in the bathroom. The shower head broke off. The room reaked of cigarette smoke even though it was a non-smoking room. The staff was somewhat helpful. The "free" internet did not work. Next time I will stay somewhere else.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Connie

Very Bad Hotel With Rude Staff

Posted Nov 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
My husband and I stayed at Monceau Etoile for 2 nights in room 17 and were not impressed with the hotel. First, the female day staff was ok but the male night staff was very rude and unfriendly. I tried to start a friendly conversation with him but he just ignored me as if I was not worth his time (yes, he does speak and understand English). Second, the hotel needs to replace the flowers in the lobby more often; you can smell the unpleasant smell of wilted flowers as soon as you walk into the hotel lobby. It smelled like a funeral home. Third, the bed needs to be replaced badly! It was like sleeping on a box spring with metal sticking into your back. Last, the bathroom in our room has a foul smell and was in a really bad condition. There was mold all over the wall as well as the shower curtain. The shower itself was in need of a good scrub and was a rather awkward shower stall that I have ever seen! It was basically a hole in the ground and you just stand on it while holding the hand held shower head. When I asked to switch room after discovering the foul smell, the mold and the awkwardness of the shower, they refused to give me another room saying that they are fully booked. Monceau Etoile Hotel is in need of a serious remodeling and upgrades. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone. It is not worth the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chadwick

Unbeatable Neighborhood, Room needs upgrade

Posted Oct 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
Fantastic location!! 5 min walk from the Metro. The street turns into a market by day, flower shops, food, and gives you a very neat experience. Very quiet by night. Plenty of cafes/restaurants nearby. We walked to the Arc de Triomphe in about 15-20mins, and then to the Eiffel Tower. The room…Only stayed one night and moved onto another hotel. Not a bad hotel, however, it is not very nice. We are both 29, traveled a lot around North America and Europe, and weren't looking for anything fancy. Pros: Great Location. Good size room for Europe & price. Friendly staff. Cons: No A/C. Usually not a problem this time of year, but we were on the first floor, so couldn't keep the window open while gone or at night, got quite warm. Terribly outdated linens. As mentioned in other reviews, the shower is very small, about 2.5 x 2.5 ft, but didn't pose a huge problem. I would not be opposed to staying here again. We moved hotels because we found one that was running a deal and was a bit cheaper (Hotel WO), one metro stop away, and much nicer. However, the new hotel's neighborhood was not as good as this one. Overall: We don't have big expectations when traveling in Europe on a budget. We like location, we like to be able to walk to sites to experience the culture, and room does not mean a lot to us since usually we spend very little time in the room. We would stay here again if we could not find something in a comparable neighborhood at a comparable price. Updated rooms needed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Stacey

Quaint

Posted Oct 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel was quaint. We stayed in the bungalo across the courtyard. The room was moldy in the bathroom. Bathroom was typically european (small). The staff was friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel was nice - close to the metro and had cute shops along the way where we could pick up breakfast and dinner each day. Really got to "flavor" the culture due to this location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by alex

near to tourists attractions

Posted Sep 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
helpful staff and the place is homey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marcia

Excellent Low Cost Hotel in a Great Neighborhood

Posted Aug 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
We were two adults with two kids age 11 and 14 (boy and girl) The first night we stayed in the ground floor room that has four single beds. We were not happy with this room. It was a bit small when all four single beds were set up. The small fridge was not cold enough to keep food and the bathroom was in need of some refurbishing. It was right off of the small patio area which was nice. It had rained so the air was a bit muggy and stuffy in the room. The ratings above are for the second room. The next night we were moved to the only other room for 4 people which is on the 4th floor facing the courtyard. It had two double beds that were in two spaces separated by a wall. We were VERY happy with this room. It was very comfortable and quit. The windows opened which was nice. The small elevator was adequate for getting up and down. The bathroom was very clean with a small but adequate shower. The WIFI worked great. The neighborhood around the hotel was perfect. Lots of restaurants, bakeries, meat and cheese shops, clothing stores, a grocery store, pharmacy, a laundromat, and a self service bike rental stand. There are a few subway stops within a short walk as well. Although there are no cooking facilities in the room, there are some shops that sell delicious cooked food that you can eat in your room. The two women who worked the desk during the day were VERY accommodating and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Anna

Three day stay with kids

Posted Jul 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
It was a nice little hotel in a really quaint neighborhood with little shops all set up outdoors. The nearest metro stop was a good 3 blocks away but not really all that far. The room was adequate since we were only there to sleep. The bathroom however was tiny and "rustic". We had this neat little "cabana" since we were four (2 adults, 2 kids-7 and 10 y.o.). It was quiet and quaint, not at all luxurious but sort of a typical little Paris hotel. You still have to get on the Metro to get to any of the major sites and attractions, not very centrally located but the quaint cute neighborhood made up for it. THere are a few little cafes within walking distance and even a grocery store one block away. All in all we were happy with it, just next time we'll try to stay somewhere a little more centrally located.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

walking distances to the metro transportation

Posted Jul 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
Cleanliness of room/hotel: It was very clean, could be improved. Hotel location is convenience.