Ratings based on 415 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is the only good thing.

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Close to the Louvre. Good restaurants nearby.
Cons: EVERYTHING about the rooms could be improved.
Horrible rooms. Peeling paint, cracked walls, uneven floors, old - not antique - furniture and fixtures.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tustin, CA

Right Place, Right Price

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: This boutique style of hotel is rich with its own history. I personally had great interactions with the hotel staff-although they're on their own time
Cons: The bar closes early. Being with a group, the time to relax was the late evening hours. Their bar closed at 11pm making it difficult to stay close.
Location: The Louvre is literally across the street. Above the museum, you will see the Arc de Triomphe in the far distance. Walk to this and see so much more.
When we arrived at the hotel we were provided the first pleasant experience. About a month prior to the trip, we requested the rooms be close to one another. During the conversation with the travel agent, it was stated that we could be on the same floor, but next to each other would be difficult. The host graciously set the rooms right next to each other making my job as a chaperone much easier. Furthermore, we had a room on reserve that was also placed near the group after making the payment. My first interactions with the Normandy staff were quite brief albeit friendly. Where this changed was with my interactions at the hotel bar. Many of the hotel staff would frequent the bar to watch the World Cup and they were extremely welcoming and friendly to a non-native speaker. The rooms could use a face-lift but it was not a major issue at all - especially given the fact that the hotel is over a century old and located in a city that has been at the brunt end of two world wars. There is no central air, but personal units are available on request. I would highly recommend this hotel as a great spot for couples or small families. The access to downtown Paris is unparalleled for the price and the views out on the veranda are gorgeous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Perfect Location / Typical European inside

Posted Jun 26, 2014
The location was excellent. Cafes everywhere, bustling street, easy walk to much. Metro right there. Interior typical older euro hotel - not "nice" by usual US standards, but still comfortable. Not there to be in a resort anyway - the thrill is the location. Staff was hit or miss - NO early check in, but held our bags. Nice desk staff, one concierge great but two others a little less so. Bar tenders at hotel bar were fabulous. I would definitely recommend even though my ratings seem mediocre (they are asking the wrong questions).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland

Great location, nice staff

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Charming, affordable, pleasant, well sited.....Will stay here again
3 out of 5
by Yvonne from New Zealand

well located, very close to train station

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: location, friendly staff, inexpensive
Cons: room cools quickly with open windows, the downside is no privacy with open windows as net curtains are fixed to window pans
Location: Louvre museum, Tuileries garden ( absolutely beautiful), River Seine, Notre-Dame Cathedral, Holy Chapel ( amazing stained glass) ...
nice lobby, rundown though quiet room, no air conditioning. Excellent location with nice staff, surrounded by cafe, restaurant and bar
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

The hotel was good about a 100 years ago.

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros- clean, very good location . Cons- no A/C, 20" TV , just local channels. Furniture , carpet- from the early 1900's Ancient hair drier . Not a 4 star hotel- maybe a 2????
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heather from Calgary, AB

Wonderful experience overall!

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Location! Rooms are beautiful.
Cons: The Reception staff was not overly helpful or polite, but the Concierge was very helpful!
The hotel is beautiful and situated in an excellent location! There are a lot of bad reviews and I honestly have no idea why. I was in a "Superior Room" #507 and it was very spacious for European accommodations, had a large balcony, a big soaker tub in the bathroom, his and her sinks. Really, honestly lovely. Because of the location there is some traffic noise that comes off the streets throughout the day and night, but even sleeping with the windows open is tolerable, and it's no problem a $0.99 pair of earplugs can't solve. I would recommend to anyone to go for the Superior Rooms, as the accommodations were so comfortable, and to request a room on floor 5 or higher so you can enjoy views of the area from the balcony!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by S from Toronto, Canada

Centrally located. Rooms were disappointing.

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: Location, proximity to subway. Did I mention location?
Cons: The interior is dated and needs a revamp. Friendlier staff. Better breakfast selection.
Location: Right next to Louvre and Opera.If you plan on taking the Big bus tour, their ticket center is also just around the corner.
We got a really crappy room at first. The fridge, phone didn't work, and the sheets looked dirty. We had to complain to the reception, and they finally agreed on giving us a different room, which was better. The Double bed was actually 2 twin beds joint together, so it was quite uncomfortable. Otherwise, you can't go wrong with the location. Steps from the Louvre, and a few minutes walk from Opera. Easy access to metro, Pyramides station is 2 minutes away, where you can get on M7 and M14 trains. P.S. the breakfast which is at an additional cost was a waste. But there are plenty of great restaurants in the area...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was so dirty we did not stay. Gross

Posted May 24, 2014
The rooms were so bad and full of mildew, they had dehumidifies going and it still smelled horrible. The paint was peeling in the sinks and ceilings, the carpet was splitting it I'd so old. The beds were sunk in, omg. I could go on and on. It was so bad we left and found a best western down the street that was perfect. Normandy is gross!! I would be afraid to put my head on a pillow there !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Russell from DC

Nice Hotel, Cleaning staff sketchy.

Posted May 21, 2014
Very nice, was expecting worse but turned out to be OK. Hallways need renovation but room was Great(talking about our room). However cleaning staff is sketchy, the safe in the room had the front plastic piece peeled revealing the keyhole to manually open the safe. I put a super glue to the key hole plastic cover. The next day the key hole cover to the safe was peeled again. Not sure why but there is no way the cover would peel itself. Another thing, I hang the do not disturd sign on purpose before we head out to grab lunch because We did not want them to come in the room when we came back they still came in to our room.