Ratings based on 401 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to the Lourve so it is okay

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Its location that was central to some interesting spots and the underground train facility that was nearby.
Cons: Manners and more English language television stations.
The experience itself was nice. However the reception at the hotel was rather cold. It felt as though we were not welcome there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wayne from Swansea

Great location at a reasonable price.

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Location, Location, Location.... Oh, and the price too.Very reasonable.
Cons: The rooms are in need of upgrading but it was exactly what I expected it to be. Shabby chic, not boutique.
Location: The Louvre, Musee des arts decoratifs, Musee D'Orlay. Love lock bridges, Notre Dame, The Left Bank.
The public areas are classic french style but the rooms are probably best described as classic shabby chic, clean but dated. I didn't use the hotel for anything other than a base to sleep but breakfast is available at 12€ it's okay but there a McDonalds around the corner that does English breakfast tea(McCafe) add that to 2 Bacon & Egg McMuffins all for 5€, sorted. The Normandy is just 500 m from the Louvre but even closer is the Musee des arts decoratifs (Museum of Decorative Arts). Also within walking distance is the fantastic Musee D'Orlay, which just happened to have a Van Gough exhibition when I was there, and within walking distance is Notre Dame and the wonderful bars and restaurants of the Left Bank, or staying on the right bank there are many French bars and restaurants around the hotel but the prices are higher than advertised (various local taxes added) and the food is not great. There are also lots of sushi restaurants too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helena from Cornwall

nice old hotel one minute from the Louvre

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: the central location
Cons: A little bit shabby but to be expected with an old hotel
Location: The Louvre, Palais Royal and the Opera are all 5 minutes walk away.
A lovely old, grand hotel with plenty of character. One minute walk from the Louvre, 5 minutes walk from the Opera and the metro around the corner. Everything you could want.
2 out of 5
by armstrong

Tired hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2014
In its day this hotel was beautiful but unfortunately it is in need of massive decor attention , felt like we were sleeping in hospital / nursing home beds . Basic facilities are ok and location is good that's it !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location! Right by the Louvre.

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: The room, fantastic, the staff really great.
Cons: If I could have stood longer.
Location: Located right across from the Louvre, walking distance to Notre Dame, great cafes in walking distance. The fashion area is the best.
Great location, in the heart of culture & fashion.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Normandy, Hotel Non Merci

Posted Feb 26, 2014
The appearance of the lobby is quite nice but the room are really old (old paints carpet faucets...) I would not recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by yuki from Singapore

Not really 4 star but reconmend for couples

Posted Dec 20, 2013
Pros: best location, near metro, concierge staff is nice.
Cons: as mentioned before, they should count properly guest's breakfast consumption. dont expect all guest have daily bf's and then charge them for everyday
Location: best location, near metro, louvre museum, cafe's including mcdonlads, and minimarts.
It is advertised as 4 star, but its really like 3 star but since i paid the price is pretty cheap per night, i did not expect it to be really 4 star. booked about 2~3 months before, so maybe thats why it was still on lower rate. i stayed 7 nights at this hotel, and have no complaint. Rooms cleaned and towls changed every day. but overall its pretty ok, reconmend for couples, but not so for family. location wise , its the best place, right in the heart of paris. staff there was alright, although some was not really polite. people at concierge was nice though. the only thing i was not happy, was that me and my wife had adhoc breakfast at the hotel during our stay, and when we do have breakfast we need to sign for it (our hotel booking was without BF). At check out time, the front office told us that we had breakfast x2ppl every day!! when we clearly counted only 3 days we had breakfast. i told them that they should have clear records of we signing to our room when we had breakfast, after they show us our signed Bf bill's, they could only find 3 sign bills, which was exactly how many times we had! after that without apology, they just amended the final bill and told us to pay the 3 bf's, also thier CC machine does not take overseas credit card... will reject. (and we just had coffee across the street paid with our CC no problems) at the end used cash to pay the city tax and bf's.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ann Marie from Detroit, MI

Best deal in Paris

Posted Dec 15, 2013
Pros: Ambience, staff and location
Location: In the center of everything!
A beautiful and traditional hotel in the best location in Paris that is unbelievably affordable. The staff is one of the best I have encountered in my travels. I have stayed at this hotel at least once a year for the past 17 years and have never been disappointed. The location is right by the Louvre and across the street from Musette, the perfect place for dinner, coffee or a drink. I would stay no where else when in Paris.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Herb from Corpus Christi, Texas

Posted Nov 28, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff.
Location: Close to Louvre Museum and central Paris.
Room safe was out of order and hotel made no attempt to repair.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marcia from Wisconsin, USA

Don't believe all the reviews

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: The old world charm. Nice staff. Great breakfast every morning. Location was the best.
Location: Between 3 Metro and steps from the Louvre.
I was expecting the worse after reading all the mixed reviews but was very pleased. Expecting to open the door and it hit the bed, found the room very large, clean, compfy bed. The large double french doors opening onto the balcony in the room and the bathroom, nice to view the streets of Paris and the Louvre just a block away. Close to 3 Metro, attractions and too many cafe to choose from. A wonderful first experience in Paris.