Ratings based on 578 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Pleasant hotel in perfect location

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Very good hotel though I've paid less for more facilities (mini-bar and basic breakfast) in a nearby hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Cute, unique, and great location

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Can't name anything specific. It was just a neat experience. It felt like a completely French experience. Really loved the location and atmosphere.
Cons: ???? I saw reviews that complained about the lift and other small stuff before I booked the place. The lift is cute and I'd change nothing. Just enjoy
Location: Notre Dame is a couple hundred yards. And it's surrounded by the Italian Quarter which is just fun and lively. Tube stations for 3 lines nearby.
Loved this hotel. I wanted a locally owned hotel, not a chain. This fit the bill perfectly. It's kinda funky and very cool. The cave feel and look of the stairs down to breakfast was unique. Having the window open all week overlooking the fountains and the University of Sarbonne, building is just really neat. Very French experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Fabulous location

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Its location, but the facilities and cleanliness made it perfect.
Cons: Room temperature was centrally controlled and we found it too hot at night, but possibly this could have been changed if we'd asked.
Location: Right on Place de la Sorbonne near Cluny-Sorbonne metro. 5 mins to Jardins de Luxembourg; 10/15 mins to Ile de la Cite. Great location!
Stayed here in Sept 2014 in room 49, which looked out across Rue de la Sorbonne to the university. Our room was modern and spotlessly clean. Well equipped - fridge, kettle (and tea bags, mugs), safe and the facilities were good with a large shower and a double sink. We didn't eat breakfast here so can't comment on that. The location was great - just ten minutes walk from the river and Notre Dame, with all the interesting streets in between. Very close to the Jardins de Luxembourg, which are well worth a visit. For convenience (snacks, bottled water etc) there is a Monoprix with a food hall nearby, also a M&S Food shop. Also, of course, many other shops together with plenty of restaurants and cafes. We would definitely return here next time we're in Paris. Thoroughly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice and accessible .

Posted Sep 2, 2014
I had wonderful time. Love every places I went and see . Staff in our hotel is accommodating and helpful. There's more to see. Hope to come back again ,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Hotel in a good location with tiny rooms

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Bed size, customer service
Location: Lot's of lovely restaurants and bars in the area.
We stayed their for a long weekend. The Hotel is situated in a very good location close to Sorbonne University and pretty close to the M4 "Odeon" Metro station and there are plenty of good restaurants and bars nearby. All in all, we had a lovely stay there but where very disappointed by the size of the rooms in this hotel. Normally i always check room sizes and this might be the standard for Paris, but the rooms are tiny, only 11m^2 for a standard room. The beds are also quite small, i'm a frequent traveller and compared to US standards this is not even a queen size bed. The rooms come with free wifi but you might be better off by getting a local sim, because the wifi speeds we had where <1mbs. Also the lack of wall sockets can be challenging and we where lucky to bring our usb multiport charger with us. Staff was sort of friendly but when we asked them for a quiet room, when we arrived exhausted from our travel, we just got a very rude answer from the guy at reception. This is definitely not how to talk to customers and i haven't experienced something like this before in any other hotel, but he might just have had a bad day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool, UK

Brilliant location

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Quiet, modern, beautiful little square but close to local shops and cafes.
Cons: There is no longer a bar, so we were unable to get a drink in our rooms.
Location: Quite central for exploring Paris. 10 minute walk to Notre Dame and 5 mins to Luxembourg Gardens
Very quiet area next to the beautiful Sorbonne university. Very close to the hustle and bustle of St Germain which has lots of cafes and bars. Quick 10 min walk to Notre Dame.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Good hotel, hard bed

Posted Aug 31, 2014
From arriving we received a warm arrival. We then got a lift not big enough for 2 and luggage. Got to the room. It was a pleasent room. But unfortunately the bed was hard and not comfy. Not giving us a good sleep on any night. Overall the hotel was really nice, staff too. But unfortunately the one thing above all things you need in a hotel is a good bed and that for us let the stay at hotel select rive goughe down. I would stay again but that is down to the location not the hotel it's self as it failed on its primary meaning. A good bed would expect more from a 4*.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Great neighborhood and nice hotel. View was nice. Bed and bathroom nice. Lobby nice. Staff nice... Nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I would recommend this hotel.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
The staff was courteous. The air conditioning excellent ( as I had read that other places had AC but not cool). They spoke English well. Location is in a pretty place/plaza with water fountains. The hotel was a couple blocks from the Latin quarters which had great foods at reasonable fixed prices. Our room had a pretty view of the Sorbonne University. It was hard to find. You must ask for Sorbonne University and find the plaza with the water fountains. Also easy to access by metro from CDG airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wakefield, England

Lovely hotel - Close to the centre of Paris.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The entrance lobby leads out to a lovely square with fountains, restaurants and old stone buildings. We spent some time outside on most evenings.
Cons: The warm breakfast option wasn't all that warm. It was kept covered, but with no additional warmth it was cooling from the moment it was served.
Location: Close to the Seine, Notre Dame Cathedral and Pont St Michel. Within walking distance of the Louvre and several bridges such as Pont Neuf.
We booked this stay to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. The hotel staff were polite, friendly and spoke very good English. We were made to feel welcome but tea and coffee were not available in the room and they would have been appreciated. Is that too "English" a thing to ask for? The room was nice; especially the en suite. The location is excellent - only a five to ten minute walk to Notre Dame Cathedral and the Seine. We had a lovely stay and if/ when we return to Paris we would certainly book to stay here again.