Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London UK

Lively area but poor value for money

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Bed was good. Location convenient.
Location: Close to several Metro Lines. Enjoyed Le Souk on Rue Keller, Cafe Pause, and Bistro au Vieux Chene (15 minute stroll) exceptional, highly recommended
New area of Paris for us, very lively, but front-facing rooms wouldn't suit light sleepers. For this price we expected a lot more. Our standard double room had very limited space and was part of a two room suite, so the door to the suite and to the other unit in the suite were continually banging as neighbours came and went. Wardrobe space was narrow and nigh on non-existent - four hangers at an acute angle only. One bedside table only. Bedside lights far too bright with no dimming capability. No room for suitcases. No tea/coffee making facilities in room. Bathroom unit drawers didn't work and one hanging peg in bathroom only. No facilities in hotel except breakfast room and the 'rooftop view' was literally that; a view of a rooftop. This is not part of US 'The Standard' chain although it appears to be marketing itself as a French equivalent branded 'Le Standard'. The final straw was the complete failure of the front desk to inform us that the taxi we'd requested an hour earlier wasn't going to materialise, leaving us waiting in ignorance on the street for 15 minutes and then racing for the Metro to get a train back to the UK.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lebanon

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Room is a small room they only put water on your first day ! The safe was available bit need reset... Noisy at night since 3 pubs are under the hotel! But the fatigue of touring paris will make you sleep in all cases :) Breakfast is at 10 euro / pers i chose to take my breakfast in the street 1 minute walk at 5 euro each day ... The positive thing is the location and the clean attire and the comfort of the bed and the friendly staff except the young guy !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Excellent Staff:- very polite, helpful and courteo

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: It's location and it's staff
Cons: Carpets in hallways and room was a bit small, especially ensuite
Location: 5 minutes from Bastille Square it is very lively and surrounded by bars and restaurants as well as plenty of small supermarkets, boulangeries.
All queries were responded to immediately from the minute we stepped into Reception. All staff couldn't have been more helpful. The continental breakfast was the freshest I have ever come across and while at first glance the breakfast room is small, it was extremely clean and food provided was of the highest quality. Huge choice of breads and pastries as well as good quality meats and cheeses.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andres R. from Dublin

Good choice for Paris

Posted May 19, 2014
I decided to stay in this hotel because Expedia launched a promotion offer for this hotel reducing the price by 50%. That was convenient, that's the only way to go for this hotel because the normal price is too high. The hotel is well located in Bastille, near two metro stops (Bastille and Voltaire). It has nice little bars and restaurants nearby. The best part of our stay was the breakfast, simple but delicious, and you can get as much as you want. Wifi OK. Staff helpful. The room was a bit tiny but the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was tiny and the shower a bit uncomfortable though. The condition of the hotel and rooms is alright. I had a pleasant stay, but only for the promotion offer is good, because regularly the rate is too high for what it is.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by David from Glasgow

Ok, but wouldn't rush back

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rooms were incredibly small with very little space between the TV cabinet (mounted on the wall) and the bed. There was a terrible smell in the hallways and lift area. The staff were pleasant and helpful. There are other hotels I would like to try in front of this one, when I go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by adam from israel

good hotel, a little noizy

Posted Feb 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
this is the second time i am staying at this hotel. i got room 211 and my friend room 212. the room are big (relative to other hotels in this area) and very modern. the bathroom is small but comfortable with good water pressure. a large lcd tv but with only French speaking channels. there are 2 problems. 1. the room is close to the street and you can hear a lot of noise at night (didn't bother me but did bother my friend) second is that the internet (free) is extremely slow (the wifi signal was good but data speed is bad) . i talked to the receptionist but she didn't know how to help. breakfast is very good and fresh. i will stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: staff and good clean and tidy rooms
Cons: no exaggerating photos online
Location: tube stations were easily accessible, less than 5 mins walk away. very picturesque walking around the local area.
the hotel was good, online photos made the room look a-lot bigger than it actually was. however, room was very tidy, good clean facilities. staff were very helpful and welcoming. breakfast is slightly over priced i feel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Dec 9, 2013
Good location but hotel was undergoing renovation when we arrived which we were not informed of when we booked. The room was decent but there was always a horrible stench of cigarette smoke in the morning. Not sure it was worth the £100 a night price tag.