Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Super hotel and perfect location

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location/cleanliness/ease of booking in and out
Cons: A bit more tourist/concierge type service and assistance
Location: Lots of places to eat and drink and couldn't be more convenient for metro and buses
Just returned from a 4 night stay at Villa Modigliani in Montpernasse. Really happy with our choice - location was great and hotel exceeded expectations. We arrived a little early and hotel were happy to store luggage while we went for lunch. Very impressed that they remembered us immediately on our return. Same thing happened when I asked for extra pillows - really appreciated that personal touch. Room clean and bed very comfortable. Rooms are small but for Paris we really felt that it was good value for money. Hot shower, free safe in the room - all good. Only one minor gripe, felt that the reception staff weren't very informed when it came to answering questions about where to find things even in immediate locality (i.e. where to have breakfast outwith the hotel) but we made our own way so not a problem. All in all a big thumbs up!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st louis

Convenient & tucked off the street in Montparnasse

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Easy stay, but free Wi-Fi was too weak to be useful. Staff was kind and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jacqueline from Potters Bar England

Very nice hotel wonderful location Montparnasse

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Beautiful gardens - friendly staff. There was air con but I preferred to use the window shutters to keep the room cool.
Cons: A small fridge in your room would be nice. Some rooms did have fridges but not our room. Best to request a fridge when you book.
Location: Wonderful location buzzing with life and so typically Parisian I felt it was everything I imagined I might find. Cafes and restaurant were all good.
We arrived by car and were immediately given entrance pass to the hotel's secure car park. The hotel is stylish and clean. It is set back from the road. Wonderful gardens at the back and front. Montparnasse is a delightful area of Paris with a brilliant cafe and restaurant scene and a short stroll to the Luxembourg Gardens. Despite the lively street scene there was no noise at night in the hotel bedroom. On Sat we went to the weekly fantastic antiques street market at Vanves just a few metro stops away. The hotel has 2 very close metro stops. I found the Front Desk staff helpful as well as the cleaning staff who did the room. The room did not have a fridge which caused an initial problem as my partner is diabetic and needed to keep his medication cool, however the Manager said that there was a special fridge in the bar area for medication of guests. Thoroughtly enjoyed our 4 day stay and would definitely go back there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from R

Staff not the most helpful but nice

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Room was ok for a quick weekend but no tea or coffee making in the room! Had to get several swip keys to get in bit of a pain going down & back up to room to get in?
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Danny from Canada

Convernient location

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room is decent size considering this is Paris. Close to restaurants and tourist sites. Two metro station nearby which helps a lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well situated quiet hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Situation. Quiet.
Cons: Breakfast.
The hotel is a few minutes walk from Metro station Vavin. The hotel is approached through a courtyard set back from the street and consequently there is no traffic noise. The rooms are clean, a little bit small, but OK. The restaurant wasn't providing evening meals when I was there but the meals in the bar were quick and quite good, althought the menu was quite small. Breakfast wasn't very good however - not much choice - I did not like the scrambled eggs very much and the sausages were fairly nasty in my view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jason from Bletchley england

Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel . Bar not stocked plus shut early
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pete from Scotland

Comfortable option in Montparnasse

Posted Jan 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
It's not a luxury hotel but in Paris you don't get much for your money unless you pay big prices. This hotel is quite modern, clean, and rooms are no smaller than most hotels in Paris (and larger than many). It's strength is it's location: Montparnasse is an area with restaurants, cafes, bars, and residences so it feels quite safe not touristy. You're a few minutes walk to 3 metro stations on 3 different lines. The reception staff tend to be either friendly or not interested in you. I remembered several from my last visit so knew what to expect from each of them. You may read in other reviews that the room keys are hit or miss, and I can confirm that - last visit our card was changed every day, but this time we had the one card all 4 days. Room 114 wasn't quiet due to noise from internal drains that run in the roof space. The room has a sliding door between bedroom and bathroom/hallway - close this and you'll hardly hear it through the night. This has been mentioned in reviews for rooms ending 14 or 15. The problem with Paris is that many people are used to very different standards that simply don't apply to most European hotels. If I was looking for a reasonable standard of room in a great location with acceptable service & comfort standard, I would book again. This may sound like a negative review, but in Paris terms this hotel is a decent choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by simon from UK

Posted Jan 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Best value in this part of Paris when I booked (January). Basic but clean and comfortable room. Free Wifi a bonus - low bandwidth but adequate for mail and web browsing. Didn't bother with breakfast - probably better value at one of the many local cafes. Staff were friendly and helpful. Have already booked again for another trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jeff H. from Bay Area, CA

Very convenient location

Posted Nov 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is the second time I have stayed at the Villa Modigliani (the first time was with a tour group) and I was vey satisfied both times. The building is set off from the street by a courtyard surrounded by other buildings which shields off the street noise. The rooms are well furnished with excellent service and the hotel is very close to two different Metro lines which allows quick access to all parts of Paris. I would highly recommend it!