Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Mediterranean / Morrocan theme hotel?

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
I think the hotel is more for leisure travelers as opposed to business travelers. Rooms are efficient and small. The only thing lacking was easy access to power outlets. I had to find them hiding behind furniture etc. Shower / bathtub does not have a door so you might find the bathroom floor getting wet constantly from your wash. Wifi is available throughout the hotel and seems to work well. No keycard, just an old fashion key for the door. You are asked to return the key to the front desk every time you leave the hotel. Breakfast is a bit lacking however. You would be better off going to a local bakery in the morning. It is a short 10 minute walk to the metro station. Right now there is massive construction nextdoor and you will certainly hear it during the day. During the night, it is pleasantly quiet. It is Paris, and there is wonderful cuisine in the city, but if you do try the Italian restaurant nextdoor, they have fantastic pastas!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Robin from Malta

Well situated for Metro to Central Paris and Gare

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Pros: Friendly
Cons: Bathrooms small
Very good friendly staff.good breakfast Good value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by E.B from Toronto Canada

Small hotel in a quiet centrally located area

Posted Sep 25, 2013
The staff was kind and helpful. Room was small but very clean. In a quiet well-maintained area of Paris close to subway and bus. Attention!There is municipal construction project going on next door sometimes noisy. Price was good considering going rate for Paris hotels in September. Only one key per room had to be left at desk when going out.Would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2014 by Eric Raffestin, Hotel Management
thank you very much for your comment, The Hotel La Villa Royale Montsouris is in deed 5 minutes away from the métro Porte D'Orléan, near the very biutifull park Montsouris, and close by all shops. We also have a fabulous Restaurant just next door, with specialities of the south of Italy. Regarding constructions near by, we are experiencing in september and october 2013 noise from 9AM to 18PM from Monday to Friday. The city of Paris is crashing down old buildings to make a new residence area in the futur. I have signed with this compagny a convention in order to preserve the noise of my customers. Until now, everything is going well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Monika from Reading,UK

Nice hotel close to the metro/RER stations.

Posted Sep 12, 2013
Pros: The staff was nice and helpful. They gave us choice between two rooms.
Cons: At the breakfast time is nice to eat warm meal.There was no fruits and no vegetables. There is a small choice for vegetarian also.
Location: The hotel is close to the Cite Universitaire RER station and Metro Porte du O'rleans.With the RER you can get to the Gare Du Nord in 10min.
I spent few nights and I would be back. The character of the rooms is specific and originall. Lighting is not bright and creates romantic atmosphere. Definitely hotel is not for businesspersons but who cares;).The room was clean and nice. However not to spacious, rather small. Bathroom was a good size,bright, looked new and a glaze is very colourful.At the breakfast time was not much choice just cheese, boiled eggs, ham, salami and baguettes, tea or coffee of course but that all without any vegetable and anything warm to eat.Just breakfast has disadvantages.Someone said in review about bedbugs but is not true!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2014 by Eric Raffestin, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you liked the Hotel. I would like to bring more comments about what has been said : Regarding Room size, we have 2 sorts of rooms, standard or superior. Superior rooms are up to 20m2 size. I have often read that my breakfast needed to be improved. I will experience soon in October a new breakfast buffet with more choice of bread and fresh fruits. I have to say that it is a choice of mine to serve a simple breakfast for 8.50€. Many 3 stars hotels serve a breakfast, for a rate between 12 and 15 euro, and I know with experience, that the quantity of products is sometimes similar. I do not want to overcharge my breakfast, but I also do not want you to go away to have your breakfast, just because it is too expensive. Regarding Bedbugs, like in all touristic cities, and even if your hotel is a nice 5 stars hotel, you can’t guaranty that you will never be infected. We are very careful to watch every day our beds , and I am paying more than 5000€ per year a company in order to keep away that infection. If you have more questions, regarding that comment, please send me a message. Best Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jadz from suffolk, UK

Nice friendly hotel close to the metro

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff
Cons: Decor was a little in need of renovation in places, but nothing major
A hotel with its own unique character in decoration. Room was comfortable and clean and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Metro, shops and places to eat nearby. We would certainly stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by msco7605 from London

Unique decor

Posted Aug 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Rooms were comfy, staff helpful and a reasonable though basic buffet for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!!! Great price and super clean!

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Really pleasant and helpful staff. Room was small but had everything we needed, t was very clean and quiet at night. Breakfast was great and the hotel is a close walk to the subway. Only thing would be useful if the company gave instructions on how to get there from the airport. Would definitely recommend to anyone wishing to have a city break in Paris.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Graham from UK

Good base for a short city break

Posted Aug 10, 2013
Pros: Near to Paris Metro, helpful reception.
Cons: Breakfast choice poor after 9:30
Location: Inside Paris centre ring road, quiet street, shops and cafes nearby
Stayed with one adult and 4 kids for 2 nights. Convenient for Metro to the centre of Paris - 5 min walk. Bedrooms were small but nice. Get to breakfast early as the choice was very limited after 9:30am! You may be better going to a local café. 24hr reception was helpful and the staff were very friendly and spoke English. Overnight we parked on the street, but then had to move the car to a public car park (25 Euros for 24hrs) Extra bed in one room for child was expensive (50 Euro per night). Twin beds were joined so felt more like a double. Paris was great and this hotel worked as base for a short break. I would not pay full price here, but on offer it was good value for Paris.