Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southport

Very shabby

Posted Aug 25, 2014
We stayed in the family room which was a good size and comfortable beds with clean linen. The kitchenette was falling apart & was grimy/greasy, filthy pans & no plates or bowls, fridge was smelly & dirty. The walls had brown smears around the room. The carpet had all manner of stains on. The bathroom was ok but lots of broken tiles & stained towels. You can't take the key out so when returning to the hotel you just ask for your key but there were no checks made the key is just handed over & no safe for your passports etc. We didn't chance the breakfast. We wouldn't have stayed at all if the trip had been a long one but as it was only to sleep in & 2 nights we put up with it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GB

Budget hotel don't expect the Ritz

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Close to Metro at Republic which is a major interchange. Many places to eat within a couple of minutes. 24 hr reception
Cons: Could do with air conditioning in summer so the windows can be closed at night to cut down street noise
Not many facilities but clean with friendly staff who mostly understood our Franglaise
2 out of 5
by Eva

This is what you get for cheap...

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: need serious repaint job, better cleaning, better service, free internet
The location was ideal, but I wish I had pay more to have better quality. Just wanna point out that I am French, not obsessed with cleanness and I don't mind small rooms. The hotel is right between two majors metro stations (Republique and Oberkampf), which is really ideal. There is an elevator, which MUST be the smallest in the world, can only fit one person and a bag if you're skinny. The walls are thin, but no street noises, mostly you hear other hotel guests. Internet is available for 5 euros/day. I hadn't had breakfast there, I stayed just two nights. I specifically asked for a room for 2 adults with a bathtub, which the manager told me it was the case for my room. When I went inside though, it was only a shower and there were no other options apparently. The room really need to be repainted, walls were dirty, curtains and carpets as well. Bathroom cleanness was minimal, no shampoo or anything, no hair dryer (you have to go downstairs and ask for one). I also had to ask for extra towels because there were not enough for two adults. Staff seemed out of it all the time, and of course, mildly friendly (but hey it's France, and Paris, so I'm used to it).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel Voltaire Republique

Posted Jun 20, 2013
Pros: Location okay.
Cons: Size and twin beds.
Location: Close to metro. Repbublique Square just opened after extenisive renovation. Restaurants okay nearby.
Vey basic and tiny. Bec took half th room. No twin beds.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Emanuel from Malta

Recommandable!

Posted Jun 13, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: no free wi-fi
Location: just 70 metres away from Place de la Republique!
very central and seconds away from metro station. lots of shops,restaurants,pubs close by. very friendly staff. clean. just needs some renovation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by BDM from England, UK

Brilliant for a budget

Posted Feb 11, 2013
Pros: Warmth of room, friendly staff, cleanliness of room. TV provided.
Cons: Small lift
Location: Busy area of Republique-close to metro, supermarket, ATMs, patisserie. We walked everywhere for the first couple of days to save on money-it's doable.
My friend and I, as students, were visiting Paris on a budget. We found this hotel considerably cheaper than any other after a lot of research and despite the negative reviews, we took a risk and booked it. (Exchange rate made it £86 for two people for two nights) Not knowing quite what to expect, we were positively surprised. We arrived in the morning around 11am so a lot earlier than check in (2pm) but we were allowed straight into our room and again, on the last day, we could keep our luggage in the hotel until we were ready to leave. The room was a good size, clean, beds made, everything working and there was even a little TV in the room! Soap was provided and the water very warm. The temperature of the room was ideal too when we'd been outside in cold Paris all day. If I had to be picky, the only negative is the lift is very small but we still managed to squeeze into it with our small cases. Also, there was a faint smell of vinegar in the bathroom but not a problem when you're in Paris for the attractions and not to spend the whole day in the hotel. Location brilliant too-right near a metro station, supermarket and patisserie of course! If you're looking for a bed and roof over your head for a couple of nights in Paris, this is ideal!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very basic

Posted Nov 24, 2012
Pros: It was close to other events and thus no travel.
Cons: bed linen
Location: easy to get to
Rather a let down: room shoddy and loo not working. Sheets vert thin and smelly blanket did not help ( Room was warm, TV worked and could get internet - so not all bad!). Breakfast very basic (coffee/bread) - no choice and had to share table with others.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Zarandieta

Terrible

Posted Sep 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
Probably the worst kept hotel we have ever been. Stained and dirty walls and carpets, beds with pillows without their covers which were rolled inside the top end of the sheet (difficult to picture and to explain, for sure a first..I guess to save in washing..) beds with plastic undercovers and really old blankets which you couldn't trust had ever been washed, tired bathroom with mouldy grouting, and a shower curtain that you wished it had not been there.. Truly disgusting ... It's ashame because area is nice and the fixes easy, but they obviously do not care.... Book anything else, it will be better
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Margaret from Lancashire

Good budget accommodation for family

Posted Aug 21, 2012
Pros: Location and budget
Cons: Bit tatty and room was hot at night
Location: great central location for family
Basic, but clean and in a fabulous central location. Plenty of family restaurants nearby and close to the Metro.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Okay but disappointed

Posted Aug 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
Firstly this hotel was simply used for a 1 night stay, arriving late and leaving early..., I just needed a simple hotel. You should note I have spent over 20 years in international sales and marketing in tourism and have represented several thousand hotels in my products. So now for the facts. The hotel is cheap and cost effective. It is nothing more than a get your head down place. However the hotel is under renovation! It was extremely dusty and uncomfortable due to this - why oh why did your website NOT advise this or simply make it unavailable, I would have changed to another hotel! Simply anyone staying longer will end up suing you?! Why is there no policy for such event notification..., Anyway, I am not after anything as what I needed was serviced okay. Please have someone get updates on the hotel and/or do a site inspection. Please let me know someone is on this. Once renovated I would class this as a 1 star property, good and basic, close to the Metro and easy walking distance to some well known attractions. The hotel location is dirty with a lot of graffiti and building works near Republic Metro. Thanks for reading.