Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Very cute.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
The rooms were a little small, but the idea if it is a boat. It was very clean. I loved the old fashioned furniture. You get a free full breakfast(drink NOT included). I only stayed for one night, but would definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Columbus,ohio

Nice hotel on the Muskingum River.

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Location was perfect, steps from the river and near the a tivities. Staff was very nice. I liked the antique furnishings and archetecture of the bldg.
Cons: Replace the carpet. That is probably where the musty odor is coming from. It is really worn throughout the building.
Location: Perfect location steps from the river. Trolley ride and Sternwheeler ride were very interesting. Both Operators certainly knew their history. Loved it
Only stayed one night, but was enjoyable. Room was very clean but small with two single beds which were kind of springy. I prefer firmer beds. Bathroom very small. Musty odor on first level of hotel when entering from the back. Nice restaurant/bar with good food. Oak Room where delicious breakfst is served is very attractive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mt.Pleasant,SC

Room size and bathroom

Posted Jul 24, 2014
The room you reserved for us was kind of small and the bathroom was Very small
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so great

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Request upon reservation, long time in advance for a refrigerator in the room because they advertise that as available upon request. None in room, asked at front desk, clerk said "yes, right away". None ever arrived. Second request was forgotten when the toilet leaked and flooded the bathroom. They did fix that and mop it up with towels while we waited to unpack, or do anything because we were not sure if we'd be moved or not. Toilet was also dirty when we arrived and I cleaned it with travel lysol wipes. Outside grounds are dirty and neglected. Trash cans stinking, overflowing and never emptied during our entire stay! Does not look like any outside maintenance in years. Too bad because we had been in Marietta about 8 yrs ago and stopped in the hotel and thought it looked nice. Served the wrong breakfast and were then told the toaster broke. Got toast after meal....which was not acceptable to me. I realize that is piddly, but the 'breakfast included' became completely worthless when I couldn't eat it. Just beware, it may look nice on the website, but it is not.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by DrRandy from Yonkers NY

Charming old hotel

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
This charming old hotel offers a very pleasant stay. Not a few of the rooms offer views of both the Ohio and Muskingum Rivers. Well-kept furnishings evoke the hotel's riverboat-era heyday. (This hotel has been here so long that my husband's great-grandmother worked in its kitchens.) Two complaints: the televisions need to be upgraded to something more modern, and there's not enough drawer space to unpack. The old-fashioned chests are very cute and appropriate for the time period, but the drawers are tiny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Historical Riverside Accommodations

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great place to stay for history buffs; an early 20th Century hotel with 21st Century amenities on the banks of the Ohio River. Many of the sites to see and visit are within walking distance. Definitely worth a visit during the annual Sternwheeler Festival in early September.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Akron, oh

Wonderful historic hotel on the river

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and accommodating staff, as well as location, and historic significance.
Cons: Additional staff for breakfast.
Location: Located on the Ohio River, in a charming historic district. Wonderful three and a half mile walking trail adjacent to hotel. Blennerhassett Island
Staff was extremely accommodating to all requests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Arthur from Asheville, NC

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
It is an old hotel that has retained the character of a bygone era, don't look for all the frills but do look for the experience. The rooms are small but comfortable, the lobby is warm and inviting, and the location is great for this charming small town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fred from Evansville, WI

Historical hotel in a historical town.

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: location in downtown Marietta, close to the historic venues this city offers -- museums, interesting shops and places to eat, etc. Breakfast service!
Cons: I wouldn't touch anything. I thought it was an excellent place to stay in Marietta, if you appreciate the finer things of a different era.
Location: There's a walking/bike path that goes right along the river bank next to the hotel. Visitors' bureau is only two blocks away - a great resource.
It sits just across a narrow street and small parking lot from the mighty Ohio River. A Great Location. The hotel is old, but very classy. The lobby is gorgeous, filled with antique furniture in excellent condition. The desk staff were very helpful. My room is small, but tastefully appointed and furnished with old (antique) furniture in very good condition. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom, very small, but it was functional. Let's face it; most old hotels don't have spas serving as bathrooms. Many rooms overlook the river. We had a great free breakfast, cooked to order, in the restaurant, whose display cases were filled with rifles from the early days of the republic. If you're looking to experience an elegant historic hotel, this is THE place to stay in historic Marietta. And the price is right, too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com