Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Work Trip

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Hotel is nice and historic, however upon arriving in my "Cabin Room" I noticed the room was very dark and dated, in fact made me feel like I was in a cave. I immediately requested to be moved to a different type of room, which was a king suite, nice Victorian furniture, however bathroom was very dated. Resturant and bar were good, and reasonably priced. Staff was friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Zacharyfrom Columbus

Great old fashioned charm!

Posted Jan 1, 2015 on Hotels.com
This is a wonderful old fashioned hotel with a great classical charm. The rooms are furnished with antique furniture and the staff is very friendly. It made for a great weekend trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Pinehurst NC

Historic Hotel close to River

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Location: The proximity to Austyn's restaurant that I highly recommend was a plus and there are is the river and downtown shopping that is good.
The Riverboat era and decor ambiance were the main positives for this hotel. There was an old odor to the facility. Our room was on the street side and noisy til later in the night. Despite never turning on the heat the room was very warm The period style furniture was pleasing and the queen bed comfortable. The staff was pleasant and helpful and the dining staff for our generous complimentary breakfast was cheerful and engaging. The room cleanliness left something to be desired. There was an odor in the very small bathroom. The ceiling fan hadn't been cleaned in months and the carpet had grit on it like it hadn't been vacuumed. The water glass had a chip in it that could cut someone if not noticed. We like the alternative of bed and breakfast or historic renovated properties instead of the usual modern motels, but I would not stay there again unless I had a room in the back with a river view and the housekeeping improves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Stevefrom Michigan

Nice place great shower!

Posted Dec 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel that is kept up nice. If you are a light sleeper you want a room on the top floor or on the river. The street side is a little noisy. Newer windows would make this unnoticeable and a top notch hotel. Free home made breakfast, included with the room. A great deal!! This hotel is kept up very nice!!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ohio

Historic hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Our room was clean but... wallpaper coming off, air conditioner cover didn't fit resulting in very cold air was blowing in over thermostat. Was 30 outside. Front desk staff helpful. Resturant staff not great, food ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Janetfrom Charleston, WV

Love the LaFayette!

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was our 2nd trip. We spend our anniversary at the Lafayette. We attend the comedy show, stay overnight at the hotel with our puppy, & enjoy all the shops within walking distance of the hotel. Food & service are good and the history associated with the hotel and the Marietta area are priceless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Historical Location

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Very nice historical hotel. Nice shops and dining right out the front door, as well as historical walkway and markers. Room was clean and nice although smaller than newer hotels. Priced very well. Business office was not functioning at time of my visit. Complementary breakfast was fantastic, and freshly cooked when you order.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lindafrom Seville

Too loud to sleep

Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lots of college kids out late at night making noise
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by davidfrom Marion ohio

Marrietta Stay

Posted Nov 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a lovely view of a roof .The service was great .The carpeting needed cleaned . The sewer gas smell coming from the elevator shaft was sickening .The river view from the front of the hotel was wonderful .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Decatur, AL

Room along the river

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere, views, class.
Cons: Pricing for basic rooms.
Location: The sightlines are beautiful if you're fortunate enough to be placed above the main corner. Front st also has several good bars/restaurants/shops
Personally my girlfriend and I both enjoy throwbacks in time, and that's exactly what this is. If you're looking for a large, modern room, this place is not for you. OR maybe you just need to upgrade your room. But if you like a refined albeit simplistic environment than this is your place. The furniture is antique'y but definitely of a higher quality. Throw open the windows and you'll feel like you're in a time long since passed, the views of the rising sun over the bridge and front street at night are both satisfying experiences, if you're into that sort of thing.... Breakfast was pleasant. And the front desk lady was very kind. Overall, I would recommend this place. My only complaint is the price. if they would drop the price for the basic rooms it would make more sense, because i felt like 80$ was a bit high for what you get, though i suppose i was paying for the "atmosphere."