Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Hidden gem... ultimate relaxation!

Posted Feb 17, 2015
We just left today after spending the last 5 nights here for our baby moon... we absolutely loved every minute of it! It was easy to find (our GPS had it listed as a Point of Interest), it is located about 8-9km from the main road (10 min drive, parts of it unpaved and bumpy). Having a 4x4 gave us flexibility to leave the hotel for daytrips and dinners off-site. Parking is free and gated after hours. The boutique resort is intimate and gives off a very relaxing vibe. We stayed in room #14 which was closest to the restaurant and had views of both the pool and beach. WiFi connection was strong with 3 network options. The pool was amazing, nicely designed with many seating options and depths suitable from children to lap swimmers. The black sand beach of Playa Palo Seco was so untouched...sunsets were beautiful every night around 5:30pm. My husband enjoyed his long beach jogs without anyone in sight. Water activities we saw other guests enjoy included surfing, boogie boarding and jet skiing. Breakfast every morning started with a plate of fruit and an option of 3 choices (typical Costa Rican, pancakes or an omelette). We enjoyed several lunch and dinners at Clandestino but found the prices higher and food a bit salty at times. Highly suggest going to Mar y Sol down the road or Pitos Que Comemos in Parrita for alternative options. Our room was so comfortable, we appreciated the TV hard drive pre-loaded with movies/documentaries, and we enjoyed the swinging chairs on our pa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paradise

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Don't expect perfect. Just appreciate the amazing setting and privacy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore, MD

Remote Beach Hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, facilities. And of course, the beach!
Cons: The only one thing was the price of drinks perhaps.
It is true about what other reviewers have noted regarding location - empty beaches, remote and peaceful. Lovely facilities, calm and relaxing rooms, extremely comfortable beds. A very enjoyable place to end our 8 day vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

Remote piece of paradise!

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Beach, service, pool, restaurant, small size, seclusion, sunsets and quiet low-key guests. Loved the waiters and waitress!
Cons: A couple more chairs around the pool and new loungers at the beach.
Location: Lots to do near by, National Park Ballena, Manuel Antonio, Dominical, Nauyaca Falls, Rainmaker
Away from the tourist craziness, this is a unique quiet vacation spot. Stayed for a week, great home base for touring that area of Costa Rica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom stony rapids, sk

Lovely

Posted Feb 8, 2015
The place is great. the beach feels deserted. the pool feels private. staff are courteous but not over bearing. rooms are secluded and amazing. although you are encouraged to not swim the ocean, i didnt think it was so bad. If youre looking for a packed pool filled with people carrying tim hortons bubbas this place is not for you. as for the other reviewers complaints, i dont get it. All of the things complained of should be known in advance with any research.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Great & friendly staff. Some room issues.

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Great layout out of hotel design with a great staff. Beautiful landscaped hotel right across the street from the beach. Noise from yelling child & family first night. Room had some missing amenities, tv stations, no phone, no coffee maker & little to no water one night while showering. Shower water did not drain well & always had some water standing in rock shower. Mildew smell in room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lyon

cet etablissement possede tout le confort d un 4

Posted Jan 7, 2015
petit coin de paradis au calme , propre , accueillant avec une activité surprenante , du jet ski dans les mangroves avec un guide tres sympathique qui tout en securité vous fait decouvrir cette partie de l ile tout en vous laissant le plaisir de vous amuser a toute vitesse.Nourriture exellente.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Frankfurt

By far the best stay at Playa Seco

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Pretty nice pool and restaurant area! Many lovingly details: e.g. nice handmade bamboo furniture, many fresh flowers, candles in the rooms.
Cons: The rooms are a bit dark. Nice for romatic hours, but could be improved by brighter walls and removing shaded window films. Matresses not very comfy.
Location: Playa seco is a quite place - you can be almost alone on the long beach. Next restaurants are quite far away. You will love it or hate it.
The host is a very nice lady from france (however in the first minutes she appeared a bit gruff to us). She build this nice resort about 4 years ago, which is now by far the best stay at playa seco. Especially the pool area is one of the best i saw in our 20 day costa rica trip. The restaurant was quite good, but the quality of the dinner was swaying a bit from day to day. The breakfast was typical but a bit over-average compared to other stays we have been in Costa Rica. Overall it would help, if two or three other small and good resorts would be build nearby to have a choice for dinner - especially if you plan to stay longer. Other guests told us that you can get great dinner menus at Beso del Viento, but unfortunaltely it was closed in the days we stayed there. On the other hand you can at the moment enjoy to have this nice beach almost on your own. Improvements are always possible: e.g. the rooms could be brighter (paint the walls brighter? and replace shaded windows?). Also the ACs could be soundproofed a bit. Especially, if you do not use the AC it is a bit annoying to hear the neighbours ACs buzzing. Overall i would totally recommend this resort, if the quite surronding is what you like.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom collonges

Bungalow magnifique

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Hotel isolé idéal pour profiter de la plage et faire du surf Accueil très agréable et nourriture avec un très bon rapport qualité/prix Je recommande vivement cet établissement
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location/staff ... terrible beds

Posted Dec 20, 2014
The location is fantastic. The hotel is lovely with huts and a swimming pool. The staff (including the owner) is wonderful. Rooms are clean. Great food and reasonably priced. The beds are terrible. They were soft/lumpy and creaked!