Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Beautiful, remote resort on the Pacific Coast

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: The resort is tastefully decorated. Each room feels like a beach hut on a resorted island, except with comfort and style.
Cons: There should be more transparency in extra costs. Exorbitant fees should not be included for small children who take up little space.
Location: The resort is secluded, but has a nice pool to enjoy. The ocean is available, but there is a 15 minute drive down a dirt road to get to civilization.
The Clandestine Beach Resort was gorgeous. It is nestled down a dirt road along the Pacific Coast near Parrita. We arrived at night, but awoke to a paradise on Earth. The rooms were tastefully decorated, and we experienced a perfect balance of feeling we were on a stranded island with luxury accommodations. Our only frustration was a feeling of being taken advantage of by having to pay $25.00 a night per person for any additional guests in the room beyond the room limit of two. It seemed a ridiculous fee when each room has two large guest beds, we had already purchased two rooms, and the two extra children (one extra child per room) were small. It left a bad taste in our mouth having a bill of $150.00 at checkout when we only had three people per room (and our girls are tiny). Also, the food and beverage costs are very high.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by LS from Tel Aviv

Great choice

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is an excellent hotel, but not flawless. It has a beautiful setting and a very nice pool (open 24h), with a small artificial waterfall. You cannot swim in the ocean because of the big waves and strong riptides. The food was good (not amazing) but pretty expensive. The service is OK (they don't have a bellboy, consierge or something similar). The room is nice, with fan and A/C, but seemed smaller than in the pictures. The location should be clear to all - this is some 25-30 minutes from Quepos, half of it on unpaved road. But this is really OK, and should not be considered a minus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and remote

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: It's peaceful feeling
Cons: service
Location: Manuel Antonio National Park is 30 Minutes drive.
It is quite and adventure getting to the resort, but it is a very quiet and beautiful setting. Some of the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help, but if this resort has a short coming, it is the service and friendliness of the staff. After we had driven 6 hours to get there, the man at the reception simply said sit- not welcome or hello! Expect to see Iguanas frequently. We did not see monkeys on the property, which was disappointing. Our family enjoyed having the friendly dogs to play with. The meals are expensive, but going into town was not appealing because of the road into the hotel. The rooms are unique and comfortable. Bring bug spray for the evenings!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Secluded Beach Getaway

Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comfortable, clean, large beds in the room but if you don't have a car, you are stuck eating at the hotel restaurant. There are no restaurants nearby in the area and the next town is in Quepos or Jaco. Private beach front with hammocks (not extremely comfortable but at least underneath palm trees with shade). Pool is nice, but sometimes not enough poolside loungers for all guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Hidden treasure

Posted Apr 12, 2014
When we finally got to the hotel after the long drive down the dirt road we were pleasantly surprised. Hotel is beautiful. The have a nice pool that has a jacuzzi in it. Bed is very comfortable. The beach across the road is amazing. It's like having your own private beach. They rent boogie boards and surf boards out but you pay more than if you rent from the local beaches and not the best boards. Food at the restaurant is ok. Very bland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic boutique resort!

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Expedia
Loved the resort, one of the highlights from our two week trip for sure!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great time at Clandestino beach resort

Posted Mar 29, 2014
My girlfriend and I had a great time at the resort. It is tucked away and very private. We were close to a lot of attractions and tours Costa Rica offers. Great and friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Brent from Minnesota

Beautiful resort with a nearly private beach

Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved our stay at the Clandestino. The staff was excellent. The resort was beautiful & lush. The rooms were very nice. Manuel Antonio National Park & Quepos are about 25-30 min away. We spent one day enjoying the beach & pool - most of the time we had them to ourselves even though the resort was fully booked. The second day we did some Jungle Zip Lining. The third day we visited Manuel Antonio NP. The National Park was beautiful & it was neat to see the sloths, monkeys & other wildlife in the park. The location was off the beaten path, so restaurants & other nightlife are ways away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Douglas from Omaha, NE

Close to beach

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Sheltered hammocks on the beach. Deserted beach.
Location: There is a 5 mile coastal dirt road which is very bumpy. OK for ordinary cars but slow driving.
Wonderful setting on the beach. Lovely garden and pacific style thatched cottages. Large rooms, air conditioned. Nicely furnished.