Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Beautiful Secluded Beachfront Resort

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Location. Close drive to Paritta. Short trip to Jaco and Manuel Antonio National Park. But private on a gravel road. And on a beautiful beach.
Cons: The level of the staff's service.to be luxury resort level, they need to focus more on the little things. The staff needs to be more professional.
Location: It's in a beautiful beach. It's privte and secluded in a well-maintained gravel road. It's a 20 minute drive to the town of Parritta. Short trip to
Property as a whole is beautiful. It's pretty secluded on a gravel road about a 20 minute drive from the town of Paritta. Road was in very good condition and easy for our SUV (no four wheel drive). The pool was very large and warm but maybe a little too deep overall. Beach access is close just across the dirt road. The sand is so soft. Waves were fun. Almost no one on the beach so very private. Beautiful stars at night and crabs come out too which was interesting. Room was huge, clean, luxurious, and comfortable. Food was good. Staff is friendly, speaks English and Spanish and maybe more, and helpful. The property presents as a luxury resort and while the staff is quite good they are not at the level of a luxury resort. Our family of four (two adults and two children 9 and 12) loved it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Hotel close to the beach with nice pool

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Hotel is isolated, but has a nice pool and is close to the beach. It would have been a great experience for us except that the hotel decided to charge us for our 9-year old sharing the room with us. And, even that would have been fine, except that when I made the reservation I had called Expedia and confirmed that there would be no charge for the child. In addition, our itinerary was annotated that there would not be any charge for the child in the room (using existing bedding), but the hotel was adamant about the extra charges. I emailed Expedia but was asked to call them before the issue could be resolved. After I got back to the US called Expedia and was able to get a refund of the extra charges I incurred for my child. But the experience added a sour note to our vacation. Please note that the hotel is far away from civilization - which is what we were looking for - so you have to eat at the hotel restaurant. Also, the owner has a couple of dogs that roam around the hotel grounds. The dogs are very friendly and docile, but may not be everyone's cup of tea. Also, the septic system is not up to par apparently, so we were asked to dispose all toilet paper in a bin as opposed to flushing. Unsanitary given that it was 90+ degrees (and I had to request housekeeping to come and clean the room in the afternoon). There is a lot of vegetation around the rooms, so do not forget the bug spray.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico

Esta muy retirado y viejo

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Tiene un buen concepto pero le falta mucho mantenimiento y limpieza
Cons: Todo! Pero sobretodo la atención!
Location: Realmente no hay nada atractivo, sólo la gran cantidad de palmeras
Es un hotel muy retirado, le falta mantenimiento y limpieza, y la gerente es muy grosera y prepotente, no me agrado la playa, y lo único bueno es la atención de los meseros.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great deserted beach feel

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Great relaxing
Location: Pretty on its own. Really enjoyed our mangrove tour on river with local fisherman. Saw lots of birds, iguana, crocodiles and monkeys.
Great pool. Love having loungers at the amazing beach...a long sweep of nearly deserted sand and waves. Waves were too rough for light swimming or playing in surf. Love the cabanas and palm leaves bamboo decor.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Disappointing.

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Location: Across the street from an empty beach-otherwise not near anything.
This hotel is extremely over priced-from the rooms to the food and drinks. Breakfast was supposed to be included but they charged us for it. The decor is very cheesy and the staff is unwelcoming. The bed and pillows were extremely uncomfortable. Also, keep in mind that this hotel is not in a desirable location. Yes, it is located across the street from the beach- but it is a 5 mile drive down a dirt road to get to a random town. I would highly advise staying in Manuel Antonio instead.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel the remote location is a plus

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: There is nothing not top like . The price for comparable facilities was even better
The staff was great the place was quiet and very relaxing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel right on the beach food was fab

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Greeted with a cocktail and lovely staff room was amazing pool was beautiful and the food was yummy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 17, 2015
This is a very nice hotel on a secluded beach. If you plan on going into town or to the park, I believe a rental car is a must. It is easy to drive around the city and not stressful at all. About 45 minutes from Manuel Antonio. The hotel breakfast was included and very good. The one dinner we had was decent but nothing to write home about and a little on the more expensive side. This being said they did seem to have many options. The rooms had ac which was necessary during our stay because it was hot and muggy making perfect beach weather! The hotel was beautiful and after reading the review about the staff being not friendly I see they have made changes. They hired a new person at the hotel with very good customer service that made us feel very welcome. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Ana CR.

Hidden Gem

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Wonderful hotel,great quiet location, beautiful rooms, great restaurant and miles of empty sandy beach. We are glad it is off the beaten path or you'd never be able to get a room there. We'll be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Have you been in paradise...?

Posted Mar 12, 2015
If not, definitely you have to visit this beatiful place that shows in front of you a perfect black sand beach.