Ratings based on 551 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumberland County, NJ

Wonderful stay!

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The beautifully manicured lawns, the friendly staff, the wedding venue, the gym, the pool...well, I like everything about this hotel!
Cons: Maybe hand sanitizer or anti-bacterial wipes for the gym. Not much else to improve with this hotel!
Location: Not far from NYC, historical areas. We didn't have a chance to explore but maybe next time.
We made the reservations because a friend of ours was getting married in the Conservatory at this hotel. First impression upon arriving at the hotel: the outside was well maintained and beautiful. We were greeted right away upon entering the hotel and the service was prompt and very friendly. The lobby and common areas of the hotel were clean and wonderfully decorated. The decor was stylish without being overly pretentious. The room was spacious and clean. The beds were very comfortable. I would be the first to complain if they weren't! The wedding venue was absolutely gorgeous and the food that was served was, in my opinion, 5 star. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a wedding and reception venue. We visited the pool and gym and found both clean with plenty of towels. One thing I would recommend for the gym would be to put sanitizer gel or wipes so you can wipe down the equipment both before and after a workout. Just a suggestion. The continental breakfast was great with a large of selection of foods for every appetite: fresh fruit, bagels, cereal, oatmeal, croissants, yogurt, etc. Check out was quick and easy and again, the staff was fantastic. Would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Westfield, NJ

Awesome, gorgeous and classy hotel..

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: The old fashioned look and the bed and blankets were soooo comfortable..
Cons: Nothing.. was kinda a pain to get to with the tiny roads but that cannot change obviously.
Location: Nothing to do nearby.. Good place to relax and spend time with your significant other.
Got checked in, in less then five minutes. Staff was very friendly. Computers with a printer that were free to use. Room was absolutely beautiful..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice 'local' hotel.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Cons: Air conditioning...wall thrmostat.
Great continental breakfast. Room and bed were comfortable. Bathrooms were updated and very nice. However, the air conditioner was controlled at the unit and not by a thermostat on the wall….ran all night….thought I was in a roadside motel. Also, the TV was not a flat screen but an older set housed in the armoire with doors.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not recommend

Posted Jul 19, 2014
When I arrived at the front desk the supervisor was arguing with the cleaning staff in front of the guest and did not acknowledge the us. In addition the room looked very old and smelled bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south carolina

wedding at hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: European old-style hotel, very luxurious.
Location: NA, I was at the wedding events all weekend
The wedding reception took place in the conservatory. It was gorgeous and the food was wonderful, served HOT which takes some skill with so many folks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Night on Broadway

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Hope to be back great service wonderful room! Great room service! Had dinner in our room in 15 minutes!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

Perfection

Posted Jul 1, 2014
This hotel had all the comforts of home and more. Great relaxing breakfast and a nice courtyard to eat in. The rooms are clean.the hotel is convenient to all the local attractions and eateries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Beth from Philadelphia

Nice hotel. Close to various historic sites.

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Very comfortable and location great. Rod"s restaurant delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith from Long Beach, CA

Historic Madison

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Traditional design blended with modern hotel amenities.
Location: Morristown National Historical Park, where George Washington wintered during the first year of the Revolution, interesting museum.
My mother and I stayed here so that we could visit the nearby Morristown National Historical Park and the Madison Historical Society. We were meeting a couple for dinner in Madison and were originally scheduled to meet at 6 but due to heavy traffic coming up from Washington, DC, we had to postpone until a later time for dinner. As it was, we arrived at the hotel about 15 minutes before our scheduled time to meet and the staff got us checked in quickly and provided directions to the restaurant. When we returned to the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised to see that the hotel had turned down our beds, even placing a chocolate on our pillows. I haven't had this kind of experience since my last cruise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hari from Dublin, CA

Great location. Clean hotel.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: More elevators
We chose this as a base location to visit family & friends in NJ, and also visit NYC for sightseeing. Very convenient and peaceful location. Walkable distance to Convent station. Certainly would stay here again.