Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Bates Motel

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Closeness to Knoebels.
Cons: Start from scratch and re-build.
Location: Knoebels is 5 minutes from here.
Arrived at about 11 p.m. Checked in and opened to door to a room that smelled so badly that I thought that there was a dead animal rotting in it. I turned on the AC which smelled moldy. I used 1/2 a bottle of cologne to spray the air and make it tolerable. There was a dirty used rag in the bathtub. The shower curtain was filled with mold and mildew. There were hairs on the sheets. The window was open, but there was a crack in the window anyway. The door had only a push-in button lock, no chain and no dead bolt. The door opened outward so I couldn't even use a chair to barricade the door. I really did not sleep that night. NEVER AGAIN.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Asheville

Only when you're out of options

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Time seems to have passed this place by. Room decor & fixtures from the 1980s; bed pillows so old and flat I thought there weren't any under the spread. Clogged sink. Clean, functioning AC. Free breakfast a joke--coffee machine not working & no staff on duty. Stay in Danville or Shamokin Dam.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horable place

Posted May 19, 2014
Place was so old falling down broken windows toilet leaked shower was so dirty didnt want to get in ants every where old tv that did not work right .
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike from Maryland

Inexpensive and out of the way

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel met my price point and was within driveable distance to Geisinger.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Aubrie from PA

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean hotel with friendly staff. Nothing fancy but good for the price. Easy check in and check out. I will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Surprising quality for the low price

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Chose this hotel because everything else in surrounding area was full. Didn't expect much based on other reviews and price. Was pleasantly surprised. While the motel does show it's age and needs minor repairs the room was completely adequate. Motel was easy to find and near Sheetz, Subway and many other stores. We arrived very late and they had moved our bath towels to another room because they didn't know ours was booked. Lady at the desk asked us to stop at desk the next morning to get towels. We did, along with iron and ironing board, with no problems. Had tried to call before arriving but there was no answer. That was slightly worrisome, but this is not a huge place with many staff members. One person to do it all at that time of night. I'd suggest calling ahead to confirm just to be 100% sure. Continental breakfast was rather limited but we weren't expecting much at this price. Had a make your own waffle station, bagels, juice, coffee, pastries. Would definitely return - can't beat the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, very ciose to Knoebels Amusement Park

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: Manager was extremely helpful and co-operative. Nice attitude!
Room was warm and comfortable. I needed a room that would be a "quick in" at night and a "quick out" in the mornings. Manager made sure I had a room that accomodated my needs. I appreciated that.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My Stay

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: I called them to see if I had a refrigerator in my room and they told me that it did not. I surprised to find one in my room when I got there.
Cons: As I said, it was a bit run down. Money and time will surely bring it back to date.
Location: It is near Knobel's Amusement park where I was a Vendor for the Covered Bridge Festival. Good food close by and a grocery store right up the road too
I stayed there 4 nights and even though the motel was run down a bit, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the price was right. These days, that is important to me. I stay in many hotels in the Pennsylvania area and I hope to return there again next year around this same time.
2 out of 5
by College Mom from South Central PA

Ok Place If You Don't Expect Much

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Pros: The cost was not too bad.
Cons: General clean-up and care could do a lot for this place.
Location: Not too far from Lewisburg, when all hotels in that area are booked.
This hotel at least gave us a place to stay not too far from the area where all hotels were booked. The hallways were dirty and needed general vaccuuming. Continental breakfast was just pastries, juice and cereal -- no fresh fruit or waffles. The breakfast area was not stocked well and had to ring bell for restocking of general things like napkins, milk, etc.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Deborah Bradley from High bridge nj

Glosser hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Was dried stuff running down walls mold on ceiling no refund on one room very dirty my kids wouldn't even stay