Ratings based on 338 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Looking forward to going back with the whole family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Full of country charm

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Amazing country charm with everything you could need from kitchenette to amenities. Very impressed and would definitely stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Quaint & Quiet

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: We loved that it was out of town and had a beautiful view. They could not have been more accommodating.
Cons: Be prepared to walk a bit to your room....that is the layout. They are motel rooms that can only be entered through a center hotel like hallway.
Location: It is at he base of the rim....which is so beautiful. Right across the highway was a road that took us back to the fish hatchery .
Our room faced the creek rather than the parking lot.....definitely a plus. Our view was cabins across the way, grass and plenty of trees & pines. Everyone has a patio that is pretty private from your neighbors. The facilities in the room were ample...and nice and clean. We did not eat at the restaurant......but peeked in. The dining room was cozy and had a log cabin feel. Would definitely like to try this out when returning . Also, smoking rooms are not available....even though Expedia gives you an option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from arizona

Cabin on the creek

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Location, facility
Very homey cabin, couch a little uncomfortable, everything else in room and on grounds comfortable and relaxing, good place for children ,we had a 3 1/2 year old with.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Great facilities

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Great lodging with a lot of history in the middle of nowhere, however a couple of miles from Payson-- loved the city. Loved the decor of the ranch. Clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sun City, AZ

Great location in the mountains.

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: In the forest and cool climate.
Cons: Add a full size tennis court. Add a pool for kids with a small slide.
Location: Visit the parks play tennis at Rumsey park and see the Zane Grey cabin.
We had a wonderful time for our three day stay seeing the Payson area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mesa az

nice and quiet

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: the surroundings and the staff
Cons: internet wifi and food choices maybe more vending machines
Location: I didn't do anything
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Best Place to Stay in the Pines

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: All the activities for our kids
Cons: The Wifi
Location: Payson had antique and thrift shops. Great places to eat and lots of hikes! We hiked along Christopher Creek and Tonto Natural Bridge.
Our family stayed over the 4th of July weekend. I expected it would be busy but it was perfect! Our kids loved playing with all of the outdoor activities. We loved the creek and the pool! Restaurant is a little pricey so we went into Payson to eat. If you want a great pizza place go to Pizza Factory!!! The rooms do have a kitchenette for light cooking but no oven! My only complaint is the wifi did not work. I understand we are in the woods so it wasn't that big of a deal. We absolutely loved this gem in the woods. Next time, we want to rent a cabin!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Are you looking for a place to enjoy outdoors?

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: We loved the beautiful grounds, great pool, and the quiet room with a comfy bed,plus free laundry. Great facility for group activities!
Cons: The restaurant has narrow dinner hours at this time of year.
Location: We hiked the Mogollon Rim trail, fished, visited Tonto Natural Bridge State Park, and had a grand vacation! We went to Payson for breakfast.
I am planning to bring my family reunion here! Frisbee golf, boccie ball, lighted covered ramada, grills, tennis, and baskeball combo court, and the playground for kids will make activity planning easy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2014 by Diamond, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are excited to hear you will be planning your family reunion at the Kohl’s Ranch Lodge. With plenty of activities on-site and nearby sight-seeing, the resort is a perfect getaway for guests of all ages. Looking forward to your return!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Check out time

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Your check out time is way too early. I have never had a check out time at 10:00am. The usual time is 11:00. I felt rushed in my stay and did not enjoy my stay due to this policy.