Ratings based on 253 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I expect from a Marriott

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Staff was very friendly.
Cons: Toilet paper, smell in reception area
Staff was very pleasant and the room was clean. It was fairly run down, however, including a line of rust running down the entry door from a rusty hinge. Also, they had single-ply toilet paper! I was not staying at a motel 8 and did not pay motel 8 prices, so I expected more. Also, the reception area reeked strongly of chlorine from the pool area. I would not stay at this Marriott again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2014 by Bob, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your most recent stay at the Boston Marriott Peabody. It is feedback from our guests such as you, that allow us to build on our products and services here at the Boston Marriott Peabody. I am glad to hear that overall you experienced good customer service and were in a clean room. I do want to apologize for some of the room condition and pool issues you reported. With our rooms being recently renovated, I can understand how the stain on the door can take away from the room experience. Also our pool is a salt water pool, however our hot tub is not. I have shared your feedback with our Engineering Manager for follow up on those two items. I have also shared your feedback with the Housekeeping Manager in regards to the toilet tissue. Thank you again for your time and feedback. It is a great tool for us to use when improving our products and services. If I can be of further assistance please let me know. My best, Bob S.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great staff

Posted Aug 11, 2014
This is a very nice hotel just off the highway. We were visiting both Boston and Salem and this was a great location - that said there isn't much around it except corporations. There was one restaurant we tried, probably would have been better off staying at the hotel restaurant. Pool and hot tub were lovely. There was a high number of teenagers staying in the hotel during our trip (they were there for a championship game) and several of them were very loud in the middle of the night. Once it was apparent the noise was not going to subside I called the front desk and they dealt with it immediately (I think a parent chaperone got involved). I mention it not to sound like a grumpy old lady but to mention how quickly the hotel staff dealt with it. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others - so long as you know you will have to drive to anything you want to do.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Generic older North Shore hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Cons: Hotel need renovation.
We were put into a handicapped room, with almost no closet space, crowded furniture and a weird shower. Asked to change room, but hotel was full and we could not. Only one coffee packet, weak water pressure, guest room doors looked commercial (plain painted metal with a steel kick panel at bottom), tired looking elevator foyers and maids hauling floor mopping equipment in the guest elevators. Not a great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2014 by Bob, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us at the Boston Marriott Peabody. I am sorry to hear that we were unable to move you to a more acceptable room when you arrived. I have followed up with our housekeeping and engineering teams regarding your concerns with the coffee and water pressure. Your feedback is a valuable tool for us to improve on our products and services. I thank you again for sharing your experience and hope to serve you again in the future. My best, Bob
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2014
the room was great. the only thing was a hint of cigarette smoke but I'm not sure if the room is near a smoking room or if someone disobeyed the no-smoking room sign. Its not something I usually blame the hotel for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Nice hotel close to Salem Mass.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Great accommodations close to Salem and Boston. It was a lovely visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Nice hotel Bed & pillows uncomfortable Staff very helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Munni from NY

Decent hotel near Salem, MA

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Yes
Cons: I would recommend that the hotel check their air conditioners which are extremely loud and creak. This can interrupt sleep for most people.
Location: Salem, MA
The location was close to the town we were exploring and had ample parking. I would recommend that the hotel check their air conditioners which are extremely loud and creak. This can interrupt sleep for most people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2014 by Bob, Hotel Management
Dear Munni, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Boston Marriott Peabody. I have forwarded your comment sregarding the air conditioning unit in your guest room to our Engineering Manager for follow up, and have asked Housekeeping as well to help with follow up in identifying rooms that need attention prior to our guest’s arrival. Thank you again for your business, your review, and your time writing the review. We hope to serve you again soon! My best, Bob S.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Clean. Inexpensive. Good room. It was nice after coming from a crappy room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alireza from Brookline, MA

Quick Business Stay

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: I am a member and it was the closest to my place of business.
Cons: I wished it included the breakfast as well at the price that I got it.
Location: It is near North Shore mall and the historic city of Salem. Therefore many things to do. It is also easily accessible from the highway.
The hotel has all the amenities to address a quick business stay. It is near many restaurants. It was clean and the staff were very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com