Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel felt run down. The room had a bad odor.

Posted Oct 24, 2013
It took us an hour to find the hotel. There were not enough directional signs. Basic items like trash cans and face cloths were missing. It was quiet and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast did not have much selection.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MOF

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2013
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jeff from Hoy

Cheap and Cramped

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
This place takes CHEAP AND CRAMPED to new heights. There was no room cleaning during our stay, we had to go to the front desk for fresh towels the furniture in the room consisted of two secretary desk chairs on wheels and a two seat couch. The couch was extremely uncomfortable and they squeezed a kitchenette, bathroom, bedroom and lounge area into what seemed like a 12' x 15' space. The two of us had no room to move. The bed was situated such that your knees would almost touch the walls as you sat on either side of the bed. If you want to relax STAY AWAY FROM HERE!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

pass it by

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Pros: it was clean
Cons: better breakfast options
I have stayed in quite a few hotels in the past few years, and this one is well worth passing by. I have reserved the room a week in advance and arrived shortly after earliest check-in. The only with available for me, according to the front desk, was a handicapped accessible room. Although this is not my preference, it is okay. When I brought to the attention of the person at the front desk to ask whether or not there was a different room available she was rather short with me and said no that is it. Breakfast in the morning was rather paltry with the choice of fruit,envelopes of hot cereal and prepackaged muffins.I would not stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve our guest’s experience. I would like to start by apologizing to you for not meeting your expectations. I will talk to my staff on how guests should be treated at check-in. We strive to provide all our guests with a comfortable, “home away from home” experience. I am sorry we failed at that mission. We will take your comments and coach our team to provide better service in the future. I hope you will give our hotel and company a chance to prove that your unsatisfactory experience was an exception. Again, thank you for for providing a review of your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jackie from Fairbanks

Great Hotel!

Posted Oct 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
I thought this hotel was great! The rooms are very nice, the upgrades Extended Stay America has been doing to all their hotels are wonderful. Parking is a little tight, but otherwise great, comfortable, clean place to stay. And it's tucked away just a couple miles from the busy roads, so it's a quieter location too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Clean and quiet location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place. Wonderful staff.

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: Quiet location. On a dead-end road. Friendly staff.
Location: Not too much in the immediate area surrounding the hotel. But Salem is about a 20 minute drive away. Boston is about 30 minutes away.
Overall a nice place for the price. No major problems during our stay. We had 3 adults in one room with 2 double beds and 1 pull-out couch. The room was clean. Room rate was reasonable and affordable. The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Daily housekeeping is not offered unless you stay over 8 days. So be prepared to exchange your bathroom linens daily if you plan to stay less than 8 days. They do not serve food except for "grab-n-go" breakfast items (e.g. packaged oatmeal, muffins, breakfast bars, fruit, coffee, etc.) in the morning. Otherwise, you are on your own for food. But we did not have any issues with the housekeeping policies nor the food selection. If you are looking for 4 or 5 star hotel accommodations, you'll be disappointed. But if you just need a place to sleep and keep expenses down, then this is the place. I would recommend it and would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by Nancy from Boston, MA

It wasn't the worst place I've stayed.

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: It was clean. It was affordable. I would recommend it to a friend only if they were looking for a place to crash for the night.
Cons: A pleasant smell, or no smell at all would be nice. Also, getting the room we paid for upon booking - two queen beds, not a bed and a pull out couch.
Location: We weren't far from Salem, MA. Lots to do there.
We booked two rooms, expecting each room to have two double or queen beds. We got one room with two double beds and one room with only one double bed and a pull out couch. There was a vaguely unpleasant odor during our stay, but the room was clean. We were told breakfast was available until 9:30 a.m. That wasn't the case. We got there around 9. Coffee and tea was available. There appears to be a group of senior citizens living at this establishment, that congregate in the dining area.