Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

How to Ruin a Nice Facility with Odd Policies

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: The room was well appointed, but the whole stay was stained by the understaffing.
Cons: Staff levels to support Management policies on controlling items, including even ice.
The facility was nice, but woefully understaffed; only after we got to our room did we realize how badly. The poor rating given to the staff in this review is a reflection on Management and their odd, labor intensive policies, NOT the personnel trying desperately to make it work. The lady at the registration desk when we arrived in early evening was overwhelmed with a line of arriving guests, another line of existing guests requesting ice, towels, and other things. While she was trying her hardest, and apologized for the delays, the fault was not hers. The room we had included a kitchen, BUT you had to request everything; it had nothing, no pots/pans, no dishes/utensils, no cups/glasses, not even disposable ones. The kitchen had a refrigerator with a freezer, BUT you had to request an ice tray; there wasn't an ice machine for guest use, and ice had to be requested/delivered to the room by the staff. When our requested items were delivered, it was by the same lady from the lobby; she was the only staff there. If Management feels the need to tightly control all these items, they need to staff the facility accordingly. Until that's corrected, I would not return here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for telling us about your experience. We are sorry to hear that you felt the location is understaffed. I am sorry that a heavy volume of guests and our lack of staff on-duty made requesting items inconvenient for your. We will review your comments and use them as training along with look into adding staff members to heavy check-in days. Thank you again for your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our weekend in Saugus

Posted Oct 14, 2014
This hotel is in a very quiet location. A little difficult to find without a GPS.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting your review of our hotel. We are glad to read that you had a nice stay with us overall. We are a little out of the way and pretty quiet, but very convenient to all the major highways. I will work with upper management to see what we can do about the GPS issue. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to having you visit with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Big Island of Hawaii

Enjoyed our stay

Posted Oct 6, 2014
We really enjoyed our four night stay here three weeks ago. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was clean and comfy. We booked it because it was a bit secluded but still near Salem. We also liked that it had on site laundry facilities. Would recommend this place to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Jeanie - The feedback provided in your review is much appreciated. I was very happy to read you thought our staff was friendly and that you enjoyed our hotel and it's location. Thank you again for your kind words. I hope you enjoyed your time in Salem and will come back to see us again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lise Boivinfrom Quebec

Emplacement exceptionnel

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Emplacement exceptionnel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom BC

Great design and good people, watch your location

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: layout and staff
Cons: sound proofing
Location: nothing much - should have been quiet night
No complaints other than neglecting to ask about exit door location ( right under my room) that was used starting at 5:30 am and the washer and dryer were running all night as folks did their laundry (also under my room).
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are sorry that you experienced some noise during your stay; however, we are glad that you enjoyed our layout and friendly staff. We will have our maintenance engineer look into softening the closing of the exit door. Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Kristinfrom Sc

Overbooking

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We arrived close to midnight and already had a reservation. When we arrived, the hotel was actually over booked and had to find another place to stay for the night. We were driving from South Carolina so we were pretty tired.. The desk clerk, I believe joe, was unhelpful and did not offer to find another hotel or anything. He just seemed really confused and didn't know exactly what to do. On the plus side, the lobby was clean but that's all we could say because that's all we could see.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Nelson Kletzli Jrfrom Peabody MA.

Could have been a 5

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I enjoyed our stay, but the woman working the desk daylight on 8/2/2014 was not very pleasant or helpful, All the other desk workers were very accommodating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Stuartfrom Jacksonville

Stay on the 3rd floor

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a deceptively old building. The floors and walls act paper thin. To avoid hearing elephant feet all weekend, stay on the 3rd floor. The pool was closed for 2 days, presumably b/c kids ran all through the hallway, getting it soaked. But, the front desk people were nice. Mixed review.