Ratings based on 243 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

How to Ruin a Nice Facility with Odd Policies

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: The room was well appointed, but the whole stay was stained by the understaffing.
Cons: Staff levels to support Management policies on controlling items, including even ice.
The facility was nice, but woefully understaffed; only after we got to our room did we realize how badly. The poor rating given to the staff in this review is a reflection on Management and their odd, labor intensive policies, NOT the personnel trying desperately to make it work. The lady at the registration desk when we arrived in early evening was overwhelmed with a line of arriving guests, another line of existing guests requesting ice, towels, and other things. While she was trying her hardest, and apologized for the delays, the fault was not hers. The room we had included a kitchen, BUT you had to request everything; it had nothing, no pots/pans, no dishes/utensils, no cups/glasses, not even disposable ones. The kitchen had a refrigerator with a freezer, BUT you had to request an ice tray; there wasn't an ice machine for guest use, and ice had to be requested/delivered to the room by the staff. When our requested items were delivered, it was by the same lady from the lobby; she was the only staff there. If Management feels the need to tightly control all these items, they need to staff the facility accordingly. Until that's corrected, I would not return here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for telling us about your experience. We are sorry to hear that you felt the location is understaffed. I am sorry that a heavy volume of guests and our lack of staff on-duty made requesting items inconvenient for your. We will review your comments and use them as training along with look into adding staff members to heavy check-in days. Thank you again for your feedback. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by mikefrom pa

better than last time

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
the cleanliness of our room was an improvement compared to our last stay. The only issue was that we had a" be our guest" offer and the hotel failed to credit our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Mike, thank you for your recent review. We were delighted to know how you were happy to see improvements from your last stay. We certainly strive to make each and every visit a happy one. Still, I'm concerned though that my staff was unable to honor your certificate. Please know that I will be working with my staff to investigate and resolve this issue. Thanks again for your kind words. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by richardfrom southern california

a place for long-term residents

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
floors were stickingsmoke detector hanging by one screw lights did not work on the dresser it had a smell of people cooking and it was in an industrial park area
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our weekend in Saugus

Posted Oct 14, 2014
This hotel is in a very quiet location. A little difficult to find without a GPS.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting your review of our hotel. We are glad to read that you had a nice stay with us overall. We are a little out of the way and pretty quiet, but very convenient to all the major highways. I will work with upper management to see what we can do about the GPS issue. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to having you visit with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Big Island of Hawaii

Enjoyed our stay

Posted Oct 6, 2014
We really enjoyed our four night stay here three weeks ago. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was clean and comfy. We booked it because it was a bit secluded but still near Salem. We also liked that it had on site laundry facilities. Would recommend this place to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Jeanie - The feedback provided in your review is much appreciated. I was very happy to read you thought our staff was friendly and that you enjoyed our hotel and it's location. Thank you again for your kind words. I hope you enjoyed your time in Salem and will come back to see us again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Located in the business district

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good price for the area and you'll need a car get to/from the hotel. The staff is nice but my non-smoking room smelled like someone had been smoking in it.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Unhappy guestfrom United States

What a dump!

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
For lack of ability to use more colorful language I will simply say that this place was a dump. It was filthy. The staff in the evening was less than professional. First we were given a room that was smoking and told that it was "our problem" then because the computer crashed they couldn't find us another room after some difficulty they found us another room yet not only was at a smoking room there was actually someone staying there the clerk appeared very frustrated. After some more difficulty interfacing with the personnel we were finally given a third room that was non-smoking and unoccupied what a relief however the noise outside was out rages this place is right on the Thruway and wait for it is full of rather unusual individuals walking dogs up and down the hallway all evening I would avoid this place at all costs
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lise Boivinfrom Quebec

Emplacement exceptionnel

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Emplacement exceptionnel