Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, AU

Beautiful and serene

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: as above
Location: Medewi - surfing there is a local "market" - food court type set up from about 6pm
It's hard to say anything negative about this place- staff and premises were both charming & welcoming. Everyone there was very helpful and though it took a little more effort to communicate sometimes, they really do go over and beyond to make sure your stay is as good as it can be. My favourite bits: - everyone who works there seems genuinely passionate about what they do- this shines through in service - waking up to a private beach - who doesn't like that! - our driver was very entertaining and patient, sharing a lot of information about the culture and offering helpful recommendations. We felt very safe in his hands ( he kept an eye out for us at busy markets to make sure we were not lost) - the food was delicious and not too expensive - the villa was stunning, spacious and the outdoor shower a delight - great variety of activities & programs for you to choose from- you can either hire the driver to take you to places and you can plan your own adventures or they can do it all for you (NB. prices depending on distance, variety in schedule etc) Cons: - there really only is one and that is - Distance. it took us about 2 hours to get to the resort from the airport and if you wanted to visit places you have to wake up quite early to do so! It's about 2 hrs to Ubud or Kuta - a secondary disadvantage of distance is that it's hard to get anything outside of the resort (the resort is quiet self contained but the nearest mini mart doesn't carry much!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Charlottefrom USA

AMAZING

Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Favorite hotel on Bali by far! Designed to perfection. The staff are wonderful. Herry makes amazing drinks! We loved the black sand beach!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Paradise found!

Posted Jul 30, 2014
We stayed at Kelapa Retreat in July 2014 for four nights and had an amazing time here. The location is excellent if you would like to get away from it all: an endless -clean!- black sand beach lined with coconut trees and always the peaceful sound of the waves in the background. The villa's are very spacious, well designed and extremely clean, with a great outside shower in the back. From the large infinity pool in front of the villa's you can overlook the beach. The staff of Kelapa is wonderful, always there to help you with anything you might need. We took a surfing lesson (right in front of the retreat, was great!) and went diving at Menjangang island, which is about 1,25h drive from the retreat. Ketut, our driver, did a detour so we could see a beautiful temple overlooking the sea. He even made the drive back to the airport enjoyable by using his secret shortcut route. We thourougly enjoyed the delicious Indonesian (Balinese and Javanese) dinners at Kelapa's restaurant. And Herry's herbal cocktail is the best! Wished we could have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bielefeld

Heaven on Earth, die ideale Oase zum Entspannen

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Die idyllische Lage inmitten eines Palmengartens, direkt am tollen Strand & abseits der Touristenorte, aber auch der architektonische Stil des Hotels
Cons: Verstellbare Liegen bzw. Auflagen auf den Liegen wären super. WLAN kann noch verbessert werden; nicht dringend nötig, man soll ja abschalten im Urlaub
Location: Das Hotel befindet sich abseits vom Trubel und ist ideal zum Abschalten und für Ruhesuchende. Ausgiebige Strandspaziergänge und Surfen sind ideal.
Wir waren 12 Nächte in diesem tollen Hotel. Uns hat von Anfang an die Lage und die Architektur überzeugt, als auch die geringe Anzahl von Zimmern. Wir waren begeistern und können jedem dieses Hotel nur weiter empfehlen. Es ist ideal zum Abschalten und Relaxen. Das Personal ist freundlich, stets vorhanden, aber keineswegs aufdringlich. Das Essen ist sehr lecker und günstig, nicht anders als in den Cafés/Restaurants von Ubud/Seminyak/Kuta. Zu dem gibt es noch zweimal die Woche sogenannte Special Dinners, die aber auch noch in der Anzahl ausgebaut werden sollen. Absolut spitze ist der Strand, den man in beide Richtungen kilometerweit entlang spazieren kann, ohne auch jemanden zu treffen, außer gelegentlich ein paar balinesische Fischer. In unmittelbarer Nähe befindet sich nur der Ort Medewi, der Ideal zum Surfen ist oder Negara, ein größerer Ort mit einem traditionellen balinesischen Markt, der absolut sehenswert ist. Alle anderen Ort wie Ubud, Seminyak oder Kuta sind 2-3 Stunden, je nach Verkehrslage entfernt. Alles in allem perfekt für Menschen, die sich vom stressigen Alltag erholen möchten und in einer wunderbaren grünen Oase mit netten Angestellten verbringen wollen. Wir kommen nächstes Jahr definitiv wieder ;)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kallefrom Copenhagen

Very relaxing!

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
I spent three nights at the Kelapa reort in a beautiful ocean view villa. Love the place from the lobby to the restaurant. Food is ok, not the best but understandable as the resort is far away. Happy with my stay and the service was immaculate (except for the servants saying "excuse me" all the time). Warmly recommend it and I actually would come back, hardly ever happens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Fringyfrom Melbourne

Supreme Relaxation

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Kelapa is the perfect place to get away from it all and relax. The location, on an empty beach surrounding by palm trees was ideal considering how hectic Bali can be. This is the place to go to get away from it all. The resort is very well set out, not to imposing and the perfect mix of landscaped gardens and buildings right on the beach. The villas themselves are large and private with all that is required to make your stay more than comfortably. The staff are helpful and friendly without being over the top. All in all a great relaxing holiday was had by my wife and I.
5 out of 5
by DENIS SLUYSfrom Australia - NSW - Regional NSW

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Amazing staff, location, peace and quiet
Cons: Nothing negative to say at all!
Location: Perfect, Away from it all, Outstanding
Facilities: Top of the line; Value: Fantastic; Service: Remarkable, Go the extra mile, Outstanding; Cleanliness: Spotless; Get up early and watch the fishing boats come in with their catch - so colourful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Tolles Hotel, sehr ruhig gelgen

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
kleines, sauberes Hotel, am langen, tollen Sandstrand, Restaurant im Hotel fuer lokale verhaeltnisse recht teuer, keine alternative in der umgebung. Zimmer gross und sauber, gut ausgestattet, Service super.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by Jonfrom Canada

Off to a good start

Posted Mar 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms and pool area are lovely - definitely 5*. The food was also good, in particular the included large breakfast. The only complaint I had was that parts of the place are still under construction, primarily the spa. I had to have my massages in the room, although this was not a major inconvenience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nealfrom Aberdeen

Nice Villa oceanfront

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Hotel located at West of bali. Rest assured you will get peace and comfort you looking for!