Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrea

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marsha from Boston, MA

Time travel to "old China:

Posted Dec 17, 2013
Pros: Beautiful furnishings that evoked Asia of old, but with all the modern amenities.
Location: Many restaurants nearby, including street food, dim sum and small marketplaces. An easy walk to Armenia Street which has lots of shops.
I just loved this place. My room was beautifully decorated - like a trip back to old China. The bed covering, antique lamps and old armoire. Yet, it had all the modern amenities: a/c; wifi, etc. The owners and staff were extremely friendly and helpful, without being overbearing. The location was perfect - just slightly away from the street food, but an easy walk everywhere, including the harbor. The lobby and restaurant area were comfortable and breakfast was very good. I would definitely go back !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jean-Claude from Singapore

Delightful stay at Campbell hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: We had a delightful stay at Campbell House that exceeded our expectations.
Cons: Just follow and continue to exceed.
Location: Campbell House is located about 17 km from Bayan Lepas Internatinal Airport and a 10-minute drive from Gurney Drive.
Campbell House is a heritage boutique hotel tastefully decorated with 11 rooms conveniently located in Georgetown within walking distance of all the major sites in the Old Quarter.The spacious colonial-style rooms includes featuring classic wood furnishings and floral prints, excellent bed, modern bathroom facilities and are well equipped with air conditioning and fan, safe box (laptop size), flat-screen cable TV, DVD player, iPod docking station, Nespresso machine and minibar. Campbell House provides laundry and ironing services. Nardya and Roberto are outstanding. Excellent advice on what to do, places of interest, taxi fares, restaurants and shopping were provided by a very friendly helpful team that intent on making our stay comfortable and enjoyable. At “Il Bacaro” restaurant, Roberto's brother cooks lovely Northern Italian food. If not on the menu, just ask they will do “Come a casa” !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ash

Great hotel for GeorgeTown authentic feel

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Great hotel to get the GeorgeTown experience in great comfort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vince from Singapore

Very nice hotel in the central part of Georgetown

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: Everything mentioned above
Cons: Small point : the very limited number of TV channels in the room (5 only...) but this must be a local issue since it was the same in other hotels.
Location: Central location on a large commercial street with many eating places around (such as a dim sum across the street) and interesting places nearby.
Besides its convenient location, this hotel has a lot of excellent points : nice and friendly welcome, excellent service, helpful and attentive staff, reasonably good wifi facilities for Penang (you can even borrow a laptop if you need one), good integrated restaurant with Italian specialities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Campbell House stay a Great location.

Posted Jul 14, 2013
Location: Well cantered in the hub of life in Penang
Very helpful, interested and personable staff, who went out of their way to meet our requests for help and information. Meals were of great quality and we particularly liked the fact that breakfast-time continued till midday! Our room was extremely comfortable, with special treats such as a different goodie left for us toward the end of each day. We were particularly touched when management and staff all came to the reception area to wish us goodbye with handshakes and hugs. They made sure we had a fantastic stay in Penang. Murray & Maggie, Adelaide , South Australia July 2013.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Roberto from Pennsylvania, USA

Great experience!

Posted Apr 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Campbell House is an exceptional value and the staff is warm and accomodating. The room was clean and well appointed (bottled water, tea and coffee, creamer, apple juice, robe, slippers). The staff was very helpful in sharing sites and experiences to focus on, seeing as I had only two days in Penang. The owners are lovely and you can beat the breakfast and Italian food at this restaurant! Go and enjoy!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jun from Sydney

Great boutique hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
This place is a little gem, if you would like to stay at George town, this place is perfect! Rooms are very clean and tastefully done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
A MUST! Each room has its own special flavor! Definitely worth the visit. Had I gone to Penang by myself, I would have stayed in the hotel 24/7, only to leave to get food!