Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel with good amenities.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Good location and spacious hotel.
Cons: Hospitality staff in the cafe.
Location: Good location for buses and amenities. Behind the hotel Kelawei Road, the bus would take you up to the beaches.
Have stayed here on many occasions. This time I had the best experience to date. Location is good for breakfast nearby, if not having it the hotel. Hotel room on the 9th floor had a large bed and a nice land view. If there is any let down, it would be the staff in the cafe who lost your order and could not be understood when they were speaking English.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent seaside hotel facing the sea

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Inexpensive. Overall, 3 to 4-star rating for services and facilities. Very near eateries and the Gurney shopping centres. My complaints are the flat pillows and sometimes stained towels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Singapore

GREAT and a very nice hotel facing the sea.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: FREE can soft drinks and cold water in the fridge, first experience. A well design swimming pool.
Cons: Wi-fi can be improve.
Location: 15mins walk along Gurney Drive by the beach to Gurney Paragon, Gurney Plaza and best hawker centre(open at night) with lots of nice food, yum yum!
Super hot weather in Penang, nice to be back in hotel room to cool down & relax. It would be a nice sunrise in front of the room window at 6plus without the haze, spoilt the beauty....sigh!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Good location

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: I liked the photos on expedia before I booked but was a little disappointed on arrival. The hotel is ok but not for the price that my wife and I paid.
Cons: Updating the bathroom and clean linen in the room.
Location: Gurney paragon and gurney plaza are both a 10 minute walk, night markets in ferringhi is a 40min bus ride which will cost 2MR each way, catch bus 101.
Close to the water but not much of a beach, low tide exposes the mud that stretches out to sea. The hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming but as for the hotel itself it's dated and a little tired. Our seaview room was ok but a little small and the bathroom was small as well with bath/shower combined and felt like a budget motel at times. Breakfast buffet each morning was good and a different variety each day. Make sure to check the breakfast bill each time as we were charged different prices 3 out of the 5 times we had breakfast there and didn't realise until checkout. Spa treatment was a bit disappointing, next time I think my wife and I will check the reviews before committing 220 RM.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by zlleaf from singapore

Clean hotel near beach

Posted Jul 1, 2014
The hotel is well maintained and tidy. Near beach and transit accessible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mandy from Caistor, Lincolnshire

Well located friendly hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, especially in the breakfast restaurant and the lobby. Very prompt attention when our room kettle did not work. Well done!
Cons: Initially we were asked to share a room with a king-sized bed when I had specified a non-smoking twin room on my booking form.
Location: Lots of shops, excellent choice of eateries and easy to walk to Georgetown. Would stay here again if visiting Penang
Stayed for 3 nights with my teenage daughter as a break during a visit to Malaysia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from New Zealand

Nice hotel in great location with excellent price.

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Easy and refreshing place to stay. Good views, fantastic breakfast, spacious room, big ensuit. Meals in the restaurant were very average cooking but the food was good. Service was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lee KC from Singapore

Located near good shopping malls n eateries.

Posted Jun 1, 2014
15 min stroll to malls n eateries. Reception Mark is very helpful and warm. Assisted us with the request for a quiet room. Maintenance response to our choked toilet was fast and effective. Will stay here again .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Samantha from Singapore

Relaxing Ambience

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Large hotel lobby with easy access to the hotel's cafe for breakfast.
Cons: Perhaps the lighting in hotel lobby and rooms could be brighter?
Location: There's a very good Nonya restaurant near the Hotel. Cant remember restaurant name though.
Peaceful and uncongested. Eateries situated near Hotel are of course slightly more expensive than those in town. For a short stay of 3 nites I can recommend this hotel. There are 2 shopping centres which is about 15 minutes walk from Evergreen Laurel - also filled with pubs and restaurants. Pretty hip place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com