Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom melbourne,australia

Hotel is in a good location. close to the beach.

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Close to the beach, nice view across the ocean, the food was good for breakfast,
Cons: Needs a good touch of paint all over, a general tidiness, proper maintenance needs to be done .
Location: It was close to the beach, not very close to the shopping centre so transport is needed.
The hotel is not maintained properly, needs lot of maintenance in every department almost. No Iron provided at all, toilet roll holder is broken, controls in the lift is almost falling off. Very disappointed seeing that its supposed to be a 4 star hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kuala Lumpur

Value for money

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Been disturb by housekeeping for twice even i hung up the DND signage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay !

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Nice view.Clean.
Cons: Need a clear/better direction on how to go to hotel lobby and check in counter.
we enjoyed our stay. Clean hotel, nice view, very windy,friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Malaysia

Nice hotel poor service

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Nice swimming pool and beach.
Cons: Wi-Fi coverage.
Location: Visit Straits Quay at Tanjung Tokong at about 10 minutes drive away from the hotel.
Checked in and found out one of the toilet's lighting was not working, called to the operator and front desk to complain for several times and kept getting response of "the maintenance team is coming now". Ended up waited for more than an hour and they still did not show up. Disappointed with the Wi-Fi coverage in the room when the review states that Wi-Fi everywhere. Asked the front desk and was told the higher the floor is, the poorer the Wi-Fi reception.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Gold Coast

Lovely pool area, right on the beach

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: The outlook from the Duluxe Seaview rooms and the lovely pool area.
Cons: Rooms need to be cleaned better and need updating.
Location: Free return shuttle to Batu Ferringhi Night Markets 1 way shuttle to George Town, Return by 101 or 102 bus for 2myr was great.
Unfortunately it was holiday time and very noisy, adults and children calling out loudly and people banging doors after 10pm and it echoed up and down corridors and throughout the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Enjoyable stay

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: The Pool and the beach facilties
Cons: Shaver point/power point in the room
Location: Good location -Bus stop outside hotel. Batu Ferringa close by. Tesco Shopping centre $1.40 by bus or $ 2.00 to City Centre
My stay was for 6 nights - arrived at hotel just after 1.00pm.Room not ready as still been cleaned. Room assigned 15th Floor - 2.30pm. Sea view. Large Double bed/ non Smoking floor. Found lift very slow -although 3 lifts operating. In bathroom no 'shaver or power point'. Limited hot water in shower. Bathroom sink -plenty of hot water. The usual Tea/coffee and daily supply free water bottles. Frig O K. Bed comfortable and large. Breakfast included in room rate - suggest a late brekafast to avoid the crowds and many annoying children- after 9.15am. Swimming pool and the beach were my favourites. Internet connection not good on the 15th Floor -suggest lower floor level or connect up in the 'Lobby Bar'.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gold Coast

Good location and value

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: As above
Cons: The lifts. There are three and they are not coordinated. This creates situations where a lift will stop at numerous floors where no one is waiting.
Location: Take a bus. Eat local food across the road. Visit Butu Ferringhi or Georgetown....fifteen minutes and rmb15-25 by taxi.
This was our second stay. The location suits our purpose and the bedrooms are a good size. We like being on the beach and the hotel pool is excellent too. The only meal we ate at the hotel each day was breakfast and the buffet was more than needed. Good value. Room service was good too. We will stay at the Flamingo again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kuala Lumpur

Good hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2014
The staff were rude to me especially at the check in counter . Otherwise the hotel facilities are good , serve for Internet connectivity which poor if the hotel is full, the beach is clean and good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Feedback

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: It was clean and well kept
Cons: The staff!
Loved Penang - Flamingo by the Beach is a good place, good spot, easy to get around and visit other areas of the island.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Wuerzburg, Germany

Close to the beach, but too busy

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: good connection to public traffic
Cons: the staff could be more attentive (maybe that depends to the guests) the beach is underemployed from the hotel
Location: good connections to Georgetown in the SouthEast and to the Pinang National Park in the North
Ww were at the Flamingo in late September, but there were lots auf tourists anyway ans not all of them had a pleasant and polite behaviour. The room was spacious enough and the view from the balcony was nice. Unfortunately is was not prepared very well for new guests: we found an old plaster under the curtain and the towels were not very clean or simply old. The breakfast was very good, especially because there was a great variety of food, perhaps because the guests come from EastAsia, the Middle East and Western countries and Australia. The staff could be a little bit more attentive. The pool was not so big, but in a good shape. The beach lies directly behind the hotel. The very cheap public RapidBus has a stop 50 metres away from the hotel.