Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur

Georgetown City Hotel.

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: Strategic location; walking distance to Gurney Drive hawker food stalls and Gurney Shopping Mall.
Cons: Direction to and condition of hotel car park.
Good but there's still room for improvement, especially the hotel car park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Good for weekend stay , being close to shops. Hotel amenities were all good, with pleasant staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Audrey from KL

A very convenient location

Posted Jun 25, 2014
My husband, me & my teen aged daughter stayed in a junior suite for three nights. Overall is average except the bathroom shower or heater system is too noisy each time in operation and this can be very disturbing during the night. The staff are friendly. However the hotel seems a bit too old especially the immediate surrounding at the entrance. The aircon at the lobby is bad, not cold enough. And not many sitting area for guests waiting for check in/out. This is the second time we stayed here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul C from Sydney

Not good, not bad...

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not a bad hotel, just not the best. Having said that it's great value for money. The location is OK but it's 10-15 minutes from downtown Georgetown. Close to Gurney Plaza and the Gurney Drive waterfront. Too many steps to the front door and there's not always someone around to help with bags etc and if they were there, they weren't always in a rush to assist. If I had to, I'd stay there again, but it wouldn't be my first choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Aussie traveller from Sydney

Budget 3star

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have been staying at this hotel over the past three or four years. Initially, we were very happy with the then newly refurbished rooms. However, this time, we were allocated a room looking out to a close block of flats which robbed us of any privacy. The housekeeping is not thorough enough. The bathroom especially, could be better cleaned. The location is not too bad, as you can walk (20 minutes in the heat) to Gurney Plaza for your shopping, cinemas and restaurants offering anything from Penang's delectable local cuisine to our favourite Swensen's, and other Western style fast foods such as Burger King, KFC, MacDonald's. To cool down from the walk, you can also catch new release movies at RM8 (under AUD3) in comfortable seats.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by susan from indonesia

Near the Adventist Hospital

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I choose this hotel cause of its location. The hotel is just next to Adventist Hospital, where my father will get heart surgery.So I need the nearest hotel where I can go from and to hospital easily. The hotel is quite old, but it is clean....it's enough for me...cause I don't need the luxury hotel, but I need the nearest and easiest accommodation from the hospital
5 out of 5
Recommended
by shell0503 from Hong Kong

Nice location

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel which close to night market with lower price, good choice!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Penang lover

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Service is bad

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
When the day in check in the counter only have one staff and others queue as we'll. I got to wait to check in about more than 20mins and this is the worst hotel I ever face..the mattress condition is very poor that make me do not have a good sleep , also the carpet and curtain is dusty .This is my first and last time staying and will not recommend to anyone for such hotel stay.