Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from SPORE

Hotel has great surroundings

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: We felt very much in a holiday with the comforts of your own compound.
Cons: We had BBq on the ist nite at the Penang Grill in front of the Beach.I thought the food was not good for the price we paid for it.BBq seafood not good
Location: There is already a good range of shops outside.The authorities might want to make the strees outside look more clean n conducive for tourist.
we had a pleasant stay.We had to change rooms a couple of times due to some defects in the toilet.But the duty managers were very helpful.One of them was Ranjit.I forget the other manager also a very helpful Indian guy.The staff at the resort were excellent in making our stay comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Saudi Arabia

nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The staff were very friendly and amenities were provided.
Cons: Room's toilet with lock
Location: Location is good, close to the beach with water sports for the kids and adult.
I liked the upgrade they offered to Rasa Sayang which included pre-dinner in Rasa lounge and snacks in the room and breakfast options. The pools are very nice and suitable for all ages with a lot of activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic weekend trip

Posted Aug 5, 2014
We came to Penang, staying at the Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, for the weekend. Our plan was to head into Georgetown on the Saturday but upon arriving at the hotel we felt our time would be much better spent spending the day at the resort... and we were right! We tried the buffet breakfast at the garden wing, which had a vast selection of food available and the a-la-carte breakfast at the Feringgi bar, which had a more limited choice but was a lot less busy and a better option if you prefer a more chilled experience. The Rasa Wing pool was excellent with attentive staff providing complementary drinks. The pool area was not too busy as there's a strict over 16 (age) policy. Youngsters can still enjoy the Garden Wing pool though. Access to the beach is easy and if you leave a window open you can hear the waves hitting the beach. Overall, this was one of the best hotel experiences in recent memory.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Great location, helpful friendly staff, clean.

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Food was gr8, pool was to die for. Best friendly staff, clean. Fast check in & out. Will be coming back for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for relaxing

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Beautiful grounds, very accommodating and helpful staff, great views from room, spacious. Beautiful grounds to enjoy and relax. Sea water was warm, but was not able to swim due to jellyfish. Great breakfast selection, bar and cafe , restaurant prices were similar to Sydney, was cheaper to eat out. Overall, very enjoyable experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Staffs are friendly , breakfast are too ordinary .

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Staffs are friendly
Cons: Need to improve the restaurant ,the layout of tables and kitchen are need to update for 5 stars hotel and facilities The foods is not 5 stars menus.
The beefbruger is too dry. The hotel needs more restaurants to provide different types of foods.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Great location & resteraunt choices

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: We loved the relaxed ambience of the holiday, the variety of resteraunts and most of all the lovely team that work there.
Cons: If anything, maybe another Resteraunt geared for Western food similar to the Ferringi Grill.
Location: We found the location quite far from the main shopping district, however having the shuttle van gave us access to the shopping district if we needed.
We found the overall experience was excellent. The hotel staff from those at front reception desk to the staff in the resteraunts and around the pool to be very helpful and extremely friendly and welcoming. The ambience of the hotel was very relaxing which exactly what we were looking for during this holiday and we found ourselves at the end not wanting to leave. We will definitely be returning to the Rasa Sayang for a family holiday very soon and look forward to meeting all the lovely staff we met this time on holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Heavenly!

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Location, staff and facility
Cons: Nil
Location: It's a lovely beach and conveniently located to lounge by the pool or walk along the beach to the neighbouring hotels.
The resort was a little piece of heaven. The facilities are very good and the staff are attentive. We had an excellent family holiday. There are lots of lovely little touches that makes a good holiday to an exceptional holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AQuicksilver

Lovely hotel, good amenities, beach front

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Close to the beach
Cons: Hairdryer was missing
Location: Parasailing, jetski activites, Kek Lok See temple
Excellent service, relaxing stay, buffet breakfast/dinner at Spice market was fabulous for choice, free afternoon tea and cocktails were a great bonus
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ivan from Canberra

Best hotel on the beach

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Still the best hotel on the beach. Very popular and can be crowded. Worth paying extra to stay in the Rasa Wing where there is a separate pool and lounge for guests.