Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for relaxing

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Beautiful grounds, very accommodating and helpful staff, great views from room, spacious. Beautiful grounds to enjoy and relax. Sea water was warm, but was not able to swim due to jellyfish. Great breakfast selection, bar and cafe , restaurant prices were similar to Sydney, was cheaper to eat out. Overall, very enjoyable experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Staffs are friendly , breakfast are too ordinary .

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Staffs are friendly
Cons: Need to improve the restaurant ,the layout of tables and kitchen are need to update for 5 stars hotel and facilities The foods is not 5 stars menus.
The beefbruger is too dry. The hotel needs more restaurants to provide different types of foods.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Great location & resteraunt choices

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: We loved the relaxed ambience of the holiday, the variety of resteraunts and most of all the lovely team that work there.
Cons: If anything, maybe another Resteraunt geared for Western food similar to the Ferringi Grill.
Location: We found the location quite far from the main shopping district, however having the shuttle van gave us access to the shopping district if we needed.
We found the overall experience was excellent. The hotel staff from those at front reception desk to the staff in the resteraunts and around the pool to be very helpful and extremely friendly and welcoming. The ambience of the hotel was very relaxing which exactly what we were looking for during this holiday and we found ourselves at the end not wanting to leave. We will definitely be returning to the Rasa Sayang for a family holiday very soon and look forward to meeting all the lovely staff we met this time on holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Heavenly!

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Location, staff and facility
Cons: Nil
Location: It's a lovely beach and conveniently located to lounge by the pool or walk along the beach to the neighbouring hotels.
The resort was a little piece of heaven. The facilities are very good and the staff are attentive. We had an excellent family holiday. There are lots of lovely little touches that makes a good holiday to an exceptional holiday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AQuicksilver

Lovely hotel, good amenities, beach front

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Close to the beach
Cons: Hairdryer was missing
Location: Parasailing, jetski activites, Kek Lok See temple
Excellent service, relaxing stay, buffet breakfast/dinner at Spice market was fabulous for choice, free afternoon tea and cocktails were a great bonus
3 out of 5
by Colin from UK

under refurbishment

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Excellent staff Mini golf course Good food Garden wing swimming pool
Cons: Rooms are small and do not meet 5 star standards elsewhere Needs an indoor bar - the one in the lounge is small and has no atmosphere
Location: Distant from most shopping malls The beach is not safe for young kids
We arrived for 10 days to find that half the hotel was under refurbishment They could have put us in the one wing that was not under repair as it was not 100% occupied but instead chose to leave us almost alone on the other wing Waking up to a view of decorators painting walls and moving furniture was not what I paid for Surely there must be some law against being ambushed like this Having said that the staff were great and the facilities quite good especially the beach bar and spice restaurant where the food was good value for money The location of the hotel is an issue as it takes a 30 minute bus ride to do any shopping and also the beach is dangerous The slope of the beach is extreme and you can be in a metre of water in 3 steps so kids beware
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Zoe

Great resort on the beach

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Rasa Sayang is a lovely hotel, beautiful setting and grounds, right on the beach, the spa is fantastic and the whole place is very relaxing, the breakfast buffet is one of the best
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Shangrila Rasa

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: The staff are wonderful and the buffet breakfast in the morning was fantastic.
Cons: The hotel is aging and needs an overhaul!
Location: Relax, read a book and seat by the pool. If you would like to do a bit of shopping then head to town (cost 30 malaysian)!
We had an awesome time at Shangrila hotel, it is kids friendly and close to all the amenities. Careful not to get ripped off at the night market and feel free to haggle, I found offering half the quoted price is normally a good start!!! if you are planning to get a message you are better off getting one at the shopping mall, i would not recommend the massage places across the road! (Shangrila prices are ridiculously high!).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canada

Tranquil and Relaxing

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: The staff, tranquil location and views over the bay.
Cons: There are always minor items to attend to but are not worth mentioning. This hotel's commitment to upgrading and maintenance is obvious & appreciated
Location: Easy connections via bus or taxi to old Georgetown, the airport or the ferry terminal for train access.
A short visit of three days to see Penang and relax. This is a terrific hotel with the very best of attention to its customers. Everything was as expected regarding our room. The most uncommon experience was the exceptional consistency of the staffs attentiveness to us as guests. The concierge service, bellman, room steward, restaurant serving staff and even the grounds maintenance staff all went out of their way to acknowledge us with a smile and a personal connection it seemed. This should be a must stay location if you visit Penang.
3 out of 5
by Kien from KL, Malaysia

Poor value for money

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: The trees near the swimming pool.
Cons: The room rates.
I booked 3 rooms and arrived slightly after 2pm. 2 rooms were handed over shortly after check-in while the 3rd room was handed over at nearly 3:30pm. Requested for late check-out but was refused. Found the experience poor value for money.