Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DFW Texas

Nostalgic

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The downtown location was great with shops and convenient transport nearby. Room service, breakfast and chauffeur driver were awesome.
Cons: Our room had a stale smoking smell on a non smoking floor. Shower pressure can be better.
Location: Great downtown location. You can catch the busses around the corner to the tourist sites like Penang Hill and Tek Lok Si for $2.00.
We haven't been back to Penang for over twenty years and were able to see the island had changed a lot. There's still the hustle of scooters and cars but much less trishaws. Traders was a convenient location, a little old but not in a touristy area as Gurney Drive. Buses were just around the corner. Service was awesome. We were late arriving and room service meal was great. The buffet breakfast each morning gave us a good boost for the day and the chauffeur package was great. We chose to do our tour with it conveniently ending at the airport. We were able to get a blast from the past with our kids, just a great experience, creating new memories for all!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nadiah from Singapore

Excellent hotel in Georgetown

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Location.
Location: Malls: 1st Avenue, Prangin mall, Gama Food: very nice and cheap Nasi Kandar at the stall opposite Gama shopping centre.
Well located. Malls and the bus terminal is within walking distance. Staff are very friendly. Free shuttle bus service to Golden Sands resort at Feringgi Beach. Nice comfortable bed. The pool opens for use quite early in the day and the gym is very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City Hotel, close to Malls

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Clean and value for money.
Cons: Access road to the hotel, only one way in and out
Short stay but hospitable and staff is accommodating to my needs and that of my family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sum from u.k.

Very convenient close to centre

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Hospitality clean and nice staff
Cons: Some update in hotel room. Eg bathroom.
Location: Transportation and view point so close
Nice hotel close to anywhere you like to reach and club styles like very much
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dartagnan from Singapore

Central location, walking to many popular hawkers!

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Location of the hotel is excellent and wifi included in room rates.
Cons: Hotel rooms could use some updating.
Location: Location of this hotel is excellent (shopping and hawkers nearby). Also with a bus station next to it, travelling around the island is not a problem.
Hotel furnishing looks worn. Room I had still uses the old CRT TVs. But hotel was still comfortable and clean. Staff were courteous and polite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rachel from Kuala Lumpur

Walking distance to food shops, shopping mall.

Posted May 25, 2014
I always stay at Traders when I go to Penang. Convenient, clean, friendly, reasonable rates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brent from wellington NZ

Well situated in Central Georgetown.

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: Spacious rooms, great pool and central location. Good band performing in the foyer bar.
Cons: Nothing springs to mind.
Location: Very central for shopping - large Mall and department store next door. Not far to World Heritage sites and Penang Jetties.
Great welcome, efficient early checkin and a great room. Traders Club also helped to make our stay a comfortable one. Too bad it was only for one night! We'll come back to this hotel.
2 out of 5
by TR from new york

old and tired

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: renovate
I will never rate this hotel as 4 stars let alone 2. disappointed. bathroom were dirty. the hotel is old. it is time to renovate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joy from London

Pleasant stay

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Central location. Rooftop swimming pool, gym. Free daily shuttle bus to beach & swimming pools in sister hotel.
Cons: Regular maintenance check of rooms for faulty bath fittings, lamps, cupboard doors etc. Upgrade of TV sets.
Location: Great central location, near main bus station, taxis to other shopping centres, sightseeing. Walking distance to food areas and local shopping.
Have stayed here many times. Overall good hotel & friendly helpful staff. Views are not brilliant as it is town centre but it does not matter as our time is spent exploring and to come back to a nice clean and cool room to rest is good enough. Do check bill on checkout as sometimes error charges are made. Otherwise we are pleased with the service received.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for down town Penang

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Location. Lovely reception area with a bar and evening entertainment. Fab pool area and gym facilities but a bit noisy from the building site opposite
Cons: Size of Traders Club lounge versus the number of Club guests
Location: Great location for walking into Penang to explore the old town.
We understand the hotel is going to be refurbished so that should improve the overall look and feel of the hotel. Hotel staff were polite and enthusiastic but regarding the Club Lounge they were a bit inconsistent in managing the service in that they would let the tables clutter with used dishes and not top up the food or tea/coffee making facilities. Some days were good some were not. Get this sorted and it will be great