Ratings based on 279 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farmer City, IL inbetween Champaign and Bloomingto

Nice

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Location. Easy access to interstate 74 and shops that were very close.
Cons: Cleanliness needs to be stepped up.
Location: On the river front. Shop, great restaurants.
Over all our stay was great. I was though mortified the first evening I took a shower, there were several long black strands of hair on the shower walls. I took a glass of water and got them off but still. Housekeeping is very difficult I understand as I have also worked in housekeeping in the hospital working my way through college. This would never pass in a hospital. I realize there are more than 1 person employed at this hotel in housekeeping and people call in sick, but there really needs to be "black light" inspections on each employee several times a month and unannounced. This is a great tool to pick up the "nasty" things left behind.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice hotel, good location, TERRIBLE HOUSEKEEPING!!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Location is nice. The happy hour snacks are nice and the breakfast is usually good. Saturday morning it was bad though, cold, watery gravy.
Cons: I think supervisors need to check the rooms. there is no reason the room should have been that unclean.
Location: Beautiful Illinois River view. Right across the river from down town Peoria.
We have stayed at this hotel previously and were very happy. This time we were terribly disappointed. The room was dirty! garbage under the TV stand in the living room area, disgusting stains on the couch and chair cushions. Stains on the wall. Greasy face smudged on the window. Dust on the furniture, closet door. There was only 1 garbage can in the whole room the first night and the next day there were NONE! Debating on if we'll give them another try.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Aug 17, 2014
I was there 2 nights. The room was never tidied up after the first night. It did not appear that the floor had been vacuumed when I checked in. Candy on the floor. There was something dry littering the area just outside the door in the hall when I checked in and it was still there when I left 2 days later. The manager's reception in the evening and the complimentary breakfast were both very nice. The room was quiet and the bed was good. Very nice view of the Illinois River and an easy walk across the bridge to down town Peoria.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pekin, Illinois

Perfect location.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Everything is okey except the daily cleaning of the room. Breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elgin, IL

Great hotel, Great staff, Great location

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness, the staff, the "high end" look, the comfort.
Cons: The hot tub wasn't working.
Location: It's very close to downtown and easy to travel around via the expressway.
My 8 year old daughter thought we were staying at a very high prices, downtown Chicago hotel. She thought it looked very fancy and loved all the water falls. The view overlooking the Illinois River from our room was amazing. The back patio area was very comfortable and relaxing. Can't wait to go back!! The hotel we usually stay at was booked for the weekend so we thought we'd try the Embassy. We found our new "regular" for when we're in Peoria!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Streator Il

Excellent place to stay

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The "happy hour" and the breakfast were superb! Also the entire staff was very accommodating. The room was very nice .........better than most!
Cons: Would like to see some of the bushes trimmed on the veranda in order to have a better view of the river.
Location: Nice location............centrally located
Stayed overnight and came via the river. We were very appreciative of the shuttle service that the Embassy offers. Really enjoyed the night's stay..........hotel was top notch!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wauconda, IL

3 night stay

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Beds were very comfortable. If you are staying while you visit Bradley University, they drop the rate ($189 to $144 per night for the room we stayed in). Pool and excersize room (small) nice and clean. Breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Decatur, IL

Great hotel.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Very nice, clean and very friendly staff!! One staff member went out of her way to make breakfast complete. My one request would be to have a few more washer and dryers as we were there for softball tournament and so was everyone else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Nice place

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: New, clean, suite was comfortable for a multi-day stay. Breakfast was plentiful but not gourmet. Cocktail hour was thin.
Cons: Staff should be a little more focused on making sure guests have a great experience. I wasn't told about any of the amenities. Parking is tricky.
Location: Close to downtown and highways everywhere. Right on the river with trail. Big box stores and restaurants near. Roads are confusing/crazy, however.
There's really not a lot to choose from if you want to stay in a fairly nice hotel near downtown. My suite was comfortable. There's not a lot of parking next to the building. The lot across the street was ok but the one under the bridge was creepy. The roadways are very confusing. It's a mess because it's all new construction in the area. Poor planning it seems to me. But many restaurants in the area, even though it isn't really a walkable neighborhood. I was on a premium floor with free internet and vending but no one told me or gave me the code. In fact, I wasn't told about any of the amenities or even where the elevator was. When I asked questions staff was nice but not overly helpful. When I wanted dinner one night it was a catastrophe. One woman was running the bar, dining room, banquet room, and room service. Took forever and I felt like a huge imposition. There were rings in the toilet but I think it was hard water stain rather than poor attention to cleanliness. Weird for a new hotel, however. I guess I'm picky but I'm willing to pay and felt like I did! It's a conference center so there's a lot of traffic around the common areas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

crowds of noisy kids....not your fault.

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Considering the crowds of kids, it was remarkably pleasant. Even the breakfast venue worked smoothly. That chef doing the omlettes deserves a medal. The front desk went out of their way to find us a (relatively) quiet room. Very helpful. Also, the shuttle was terrific, and the driver sweet.