Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow, Scotland

Fantastic hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Level of service was excellent. Beach was great. Near to two towns, Grand Baie and Perybere, both with a wide range of bars, shops and restaurants.
Cons: The road to Grand Baie and Perybere is busy and doesn't have pavements in places - not recommended to walk (10-15 min walk) with children or at night.
Location: Excellent location. Quiet hotel and beach but very easy to access other amenities.
We had a great experience at this hotel. The staff especially were excellent and the level of service and attention to detail was fantastic. We had a beautiful room in one of the bungalows overlooking the beach. The beach is great, very good for swimming and lots of free water activities on offer. It is also close to other restaurants, bars and on a bus/taxi route.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by WDF from London

NIce Quiet comfy stay

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel has everything you want with a special mention for the wifi service it provides and quiet beach.The only cons were the price of the buffet food if you are only B&B also the decor is outdated.Overall a great value for money stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by SJME from UK

Easy Stay

Posted Nov 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Originally built in 1973 the hotel style is such that you may still see Sean Connery sipping a vodka Martini at the pool bar while waiting to receive some special scuba equipment from Q to use on his latest mission. He would be less impressed by the dirt left on the ground around the pool seating area that is being done by the repeated use of the area as a place to serve evening meals. Fine as an occasional event but using it every day means it needs better cleaning than it is getting at the moment. Our view is that the restaurant facilities need another upgrade as they are no longer sufficient for the size of hotel the Merville has now become. However all of this is made up for by the extremely helpful and friendly staff for whom no request is too much trouble. We would suggest that eating out in Grand Baie whilst feasible is not something one should bother with except as a one off. Shopping facilities are good though. Finally, the romantic dinner on the beach is worth having. The food is excellent (as it is the rest of the time too) and the hotel do make the effort to make their guests feel very welcome. So whilst we would not say it is a "must stay" hotel we would not say it is a "must avoid" hotel either. It's average rating of c. 4/5 for what is a 3.5 Star hotel is about right.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Rolf

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach, close to grand bay centre

Posted Sep 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed in the standard rooms on B&B rate. Standard rooms are old but clean, currently under going renovations I presume to bring up to date. Location of standard rooms very good. Hotel is 15 minute walk to Grand Bay centre. Staff in hotel are very nice, hotel bar prices are expensive, so keep in mind if booking half board. Beach is private and beautiful and located directly beside hotel, lots of free water sports on site.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by MB from Cumbria.

A great place to relax!

Posted Sep 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Merville Beach hotel. The location of the hotel is lovely- on a beautiful sandy beach. We stayed in the standard rooms, which were fine. The boathouse team were very friendly, and we made the most of the free water sports. The food was good. We particularly enjoyed the fresh crepes for breakfast and the different buffets in the evenings. My only criticism is that, while tea, coffee and water in the rooms were complimentary, the other drinks were rather expensive.The Creole jazz band and the Sega dancers were excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jitu from London, UK

a wonderful location and stay

Posted Jul 17, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: room decor
Location: heavenly
staff are very polite and friendly. the hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment and therefore could be disturbing at times ( noise) and dated room decor and service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chels

A bit tired but clean and reasonably comfortable

Posted Jun 20, 2013
Pros: The staff were very welcoming and friendly
Cons: The bed
The hotel is quite dated and the decor is a bit worn and tired but the rooms were clean. The bed was very hard. Staff very friendly and helpful. Plenty of sunbeds to cater for everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by vijee from Oxford, UK

great for all

Posted Jun 8, 2013
We arrived at Merville Beach hotel on Sunday 26th May and was booked in a surperior room on a half board basis. The room we got was on the top floor and we asked if we could get one on the ground floor. We were asked to wait in the room and they would get back to us. About 15 mins later we were told that they were going to upgrade us to a room in one of the bungalows and a porter was on his way to take our luggage. The room in the bungalow was better than the superior room and so we enjoyed the rest of our stay. The beach at Merville is fantastic with good swimming areas and has a large swimming pool also. The food was different every evening and was themed. Merville beach hotel is 3+ star rating with a 5 star service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michael from Cambridge

Great Choice

Posted Apr 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall everything about this hotel was excellent. The attention to customer satisfaction is particularly worthy of note, with the management regularly walking around to chat to the guests and gather feedback.