Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

A beautiful area and so convenient

Posted Sep 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
We visited L'Esplanade Hotel for a two night stay before going on for a further week in Sarlat and were delighted with the wonderful views and the surrounding countryside. The staff were extremely friendly and courteous and the accommodation first class.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Stickley

A special treat

Posted Aug 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
The staff were very friendly and helpful.We found our stay very relaxing.For special occasions it is definately worth booking room 15 with its own balcony.Breakfasts were good.The evening meals were very expensive even though residents could have a half board deal.We preferred the flexability of eating at different places.Lots to see close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Nancy

Beautiful View

Posted Aug 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
We loved L'esplanade, once we were there. The drive was a little scarey for my husband who has a fear of heights. We did not realize that the hotel was in a small city up on a cliff. This hotel was well worth the drive, however. The view from our room was spectacular. We had dinner and lunch on the terrace overlooking the Dordogne River Valley. The food was very good. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Victor (I think that was his name) was very helpful. There are many shops close to the hotel for shopping or just walking around. I would stay at this hotel again and so would my husband!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Fairy-tale location

Posted Aug 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
A wonderfully situated hotel with splendid restaurant, overlooking the most gorgeous view of the Dordogne river imaginable! The staff were very pleasant and helpful at all times, from guiding us in on our first evening when we couldn't find our way round the Domme one-way system, through to remembering our penchant for Darjeeling tea with our breakfast. Our room was a little cramped - the furniture was lovely but there was perhaps a tad too much of it - but overall we had a most enjoyable stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by liz

Great view

Posted Aug 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel was nice enough but too expensive! we had a room on the second floor looking over the rooftops of Domme, clearly the best rooms are at the front and on the first floor. The decor is dated and no breakfast was included in the price. the evening menu was extremely expensive, we had a wonderful meal at a small restaurant in the town at a far better price. i think the hotel is living off the reputation of having one of the best views of the Dordogne River. We stayed in far better bed and breakfasts in the area at half the price!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kirk from Ponte Vedra Beach, FL

What a great place to stay.

Posted Jul 8, 2012
Pros: The Location, View and Town
Cons: Food prices a little steep in our opinion but not outrageous.
A beautiful Hotel located in one of the prettiest medieval towns in France. This hotel exceeded our expectations. Watching the incredible sunset from our hotel terrace high on a hill over looking the beautiful countryside and river right below was a post card moment. The Village homes and shops in Domme were wonderful and the location could not be beat. We travel the world and would recommend this to everyone and will definitely be back. Hopefully this review does not help them raise their rates. Ha.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Malcolm from United Kingdom

Very good

Posted Jun 23, 2012
Pros: The location and staff
Cons: Room
Location: Superb
Excellent hotel cannot fault the location or the staff food was varied and very good. Our room was a little dated but more than adequate
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Carojon

fabulous views of the Dordogne

Posted May 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
Hotel in need of redecorating as very tired. Obviously all the money has gone into the restaurant which was very good and the terrace with wonderful views over the river. The food was very fussy and rather old-fashioned nouvelle cuisine type of food which is very dated. There were times when it was obvious that they needed more staff for the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by golf nut from Hampshire, UK

three day stay in May 2012

Posted May 26, 2012
Pros: position
Cons: lack of car park
Location: superb views over valley
confusion at reception over booking but this was quickly resolved, dinner was good quality if a bit expensive, waiting staff good with clear explanation of dishes. housekeeping faultless. view over Dordogne valley from room was superb. Car parking can be difficult as has to be on street.