Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by SWRuralfrom Dorset

Great location but dated room

Posted Aug 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is really a fancy restaurant with accommodation. The 'shower in bath without curtain' syndrome did not appeal but the air conditioning (in a heat wave) most certainly did!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Delfrom Norway

Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Gorgeous little town with spectacular view. Superb service and excellent food. Parking can be a challenge.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2013
The hotel is in a premium location, looking over the Dordogne valley. If you get one of the rooms facing the valley on the first floor, the views will be magical. If not, you will be stuck in a hotel that has very little to recommend it. The hotel is in dire need of updating: bathrooms, paint, carpets, lighting, etc. The breakfasts should be amazing--looking out over the valley before all of the tourists have arrived--but instead they are just a mediocre assortment of pastries and orange juice. We couldn't dine at the hotel restaurant for dinner due to the high winds. Bottom line: only book if you can get a room on the first floor over looking the valley and you can live with a dated room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Do stay

Posted Jul 1, 2013
Pros: The food ... Awesome
Cons: It would have been easier to get in touch with ET than try to fathom out how to connect to the free Wi Fi
Location: Stunning
Fabulous location fabulous food fabulous staff just a few nigles no hot drink facilities in room no way to check out before 8.30 but please do stay it is a wonderful hotel great attentive staff great food great location just a tad short of perfect
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Québec Canada

Posted Jun 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overexpose site wonderfull rooms standard not much. The cook is apparently young according to is affiliation . Better in the desserts than everything else. Not impressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Taglefrom London, UK

Fab stay

Posted Jun 5, 2013
A very enjoyable stay. Would recommend. Food a little pricey though good,
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Olivier

This hotel is not for everyone

Posted Nov 8, 2012 on Hotels.com
If your GPS doesn’t find the location just keep heading uphill until you reach the top. It’s by the church. Parking is provided by the town around the hotel which is pay-parking, but apparently no one checks. We found that room was very clean, comfortable and modern. The only negative in the room was that they there are 2 types of heating and the one in the bathroom gets switched off by timer. You can override this, but only if you know how. So our first morning was a bit cold, but once we figured it out with the landlord’s help, the bathroom was nice and toastie the next day. I don’t recommend the restaurant. While the food is good it’s not as excellent as the price suggests, and the portions are small so don’t go expecting to be well fed. We didn’t have breakfast there, opting instead to patronize the local café which had Quiche and coffee at a much reduced price. I must say, though, that the views from the restaurant are stunning and may be worth the price of one meal there. On the whole I found the atmosphere a tad snobby for my taste, but others may enjoy the formality. I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jim and Nancy

Beautiful views and serene stay

Posted Nov 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
This was a pleasant surprise, the town and hotel are like stepping back in time. The views were beautiful, the hotel was quaint and the food is excellent. The owner and service were very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Particular traveler

Perfect romantic stay in the Dordogne

Posted Sep 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
Wonderful hotel on a cliff overlooking the Dordogne river and valley. Sophie, the manager/owner, provided perfect service and suggestions for touring. The restaurant is outstanding, with superb food and good service. Terrific value.