Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset, UK

A well run hotel in a fabulous location

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Decor, location, views, croissants
We chose this hotel as a one night stopover on our way South. Right in the centre of Domme, the hotel is well maintained in a beautiful old building with fabulous views over the Dordogne valley. As vegetarians we were also delighted to find a welcoming little Pizzeria just away from the centre of town, an essential plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Lovely hotel , great town and what a view from the

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Relaxed and georgeous views combined with very good food
Location: Dome is a small Bastide town in the shadow of Sarlat La Canade but in our experience a better place to visit.
We had a lovely time the food is very luxurious and delicious. The hotel is in a lovely location and the staff very helpful and friendly,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Brilliant views

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Beautiful hotel with stunning views. Comfortable relaxed atmosphere in classic French style. Restaurant meals sublime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Eva from Sacramento

Gracious Staff - Fabulous Location

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Proprietress, Sofie, was charming and very helpful. The restaurant was excellent and the views from the rooms, restaurant, and terrace were spectacular. The bathrooms were newly remodeled. The rooms were very clean, but could use a bit of updating. Would recommend highly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Daryl from New Mexico

A great place in The Perigord

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I spent three great nights here, visiting Domme and other villages in Les Plus Beaux Villages de France". L'Esplanade was recommended by a friend, for which we are grateful. Be sure to dine on the terrace with a good view of the Dordogne!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by - from -

Pleasant surprise to be staying at such a treasure

Posted Jun 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
very comfortable in a place which almost totally embraces the historical period - so much to learn!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Julia from London, UK

Amazing Views of the Dordogne

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
L'Esplanade is one of the nicest hotels in the Dordogne Valley, and the views are nothing short of amazing. There is a lookout point next to the hotel that attracts visitors from all over the region - although if you are a hotel guest you can enjoy their patio which is much nicer! Restaurant was also excellent - definitely higher-end but not unreasonable for eating foie gras, truffles, and French wine! Would definitely recommend and visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ellie from Virginia

Gem of a hotel in Dordogne

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved our stay at the Esplanade. The view from our rooms and the dining room was absolutely incredible. The rooms were attractively decorated and comfortable. The desk staff was extremely helpful, especially with matters requiring English translation. Domme is a lovely little medieval city and a great base for seeing the prehistoric cave paintings and castles of the area. I highly recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by SWRural from Dorset

Great location but dated room

Posted Aug 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is really a fancy restaurant with accommodation. The 'shower in bath without curtain' syndrome did not appeal but the air conditioning (in a heat wave) most certainly did!