Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely setting

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: The staff and food.
Cons: The Hotel needs an overhaul and a bit more thorough cleaning in a few places.
We enjoyed our stay at Athol Arms but felt the Hotel was in dire need of some overhaul and there were a few cleanliness issue's under the surface which could have been addressed. Staff were lovely, very friendly and food was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from whitley bay

Welcoming and warm hotel. Clean and traditional.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
We stayed 1 night with our 2.5 yr old twins. Very clean and comfortable room. Brilliant breakfast, welcoming staff and a lovely bar serving dinner in the evening. Could not fault our stay. Only shame was the weather as it would have been great to sit in the garden which also looked lovely.
2 out of 5
by Jack from Edinburgh

Disappointing room, staff trying their best

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: The early breakfast, the impressive dining room
Cons: The room we stayed in needed complete renovation
Location: Castle Blair is on the doorstep and was great. Watermill cafe did a decent lunch for a reasonable price. Railway station nearby.
We checked into the hotel for an event that was happening in Pitlochry and booked the hotel as it came up in the listing as being in Pitlochry Blair Atholl. It is in Blair Atholl, seven miles from Pitlochry. The hotel was full and we were given an attic room. We had to sleep with the windows open as the room was very hot even with the heating off. The television was faulty and had a burnt out screen but they were persuaded to change it after some discussion. The bed was under the roof slope. The bath tap was rusty and a glass shelf was missing from the bathroom. On the plus side, the hotel provided a 5.15am breakfast for us prior to the event and I felt that they were working hard to make the stay enjoyable but at £96 a night, we won't be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jamie from Edinburgh

Good base to explore area.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Nice hotel. Typical old school scottish styling. Bothy bar very cosy, nice food and dog friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by RM

Clean, typical mid-level country hotel standard

Posted Mar 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff a little direct, but actually very friendly and helpful when time is taken to engage properly. Hotel is clean, organised and has a nice dining/breakfast room. Adjoining pub a bit quiet and basic. Breakfast is fine as long as you are more into cooked versions than healthy ones. Bathrooms in room are a bit tired.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Old fashioned hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Can't say too many bad things about this hotel, it's very traditional throughout and rooms are quite basic and old fashioned. The shower in the room is probably the worst I have ever had, but pressure and temperature of the water makes a perfect bath :) the hotel pub is an asset - excellent service, excellent food, nice surroundings. This was a good stay but I was a bit disappointed by paying extra for my superior room which didn't feel any better than a regular room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Costellos from Edinburgh

Tartan and friendly

Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were very content with the warmth of the welcome and the comfort of our room .All of the staff worked hard to provide a good service with pleasant, friendly manners. The room was clean and provided plenty of space for three people. We look forward to returning to enjoy ourselves again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by demon from west lothian

grubby

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
very grubby really disappointed very misleading on website other guest disappointed to no parking in repair should have been notified before booking
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Booked for a romantic valentines night away, booked the 'superior double room' expecting four poster bed as in the advertised images but got there and had two singles pushed together.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Duncan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels.com