Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Vito from Australia

Great Escape

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved the old world charm located in a country setting. The restaurant service was excellent with great meals. Close walk to town and sites. It was a great break in our travels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Rover_UK from Surbiton, UK

Idyllic Setting

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pitlochry is a pleasant, if tourist -focused town and Pine Trees is located a 10 minute walk from the main street and rail station, set in beautiful, well kept grounds at the end of a tree-lined drive. Pedestrian guests should be aware that it is a fairly steep walk uphill from the main street. The interior is classic Victorian with dark wood and an assortment of sofas in the bar and communal seating areas. Breakfast offers a reasonable variety of items cooked to order, although the stylish square plates do seem to limit the quantity served thereon. Room was comfortable but not outstanding. Staff friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel near to town centre

Posted Apr 25, 2014
I took my 85 year old mother for a short break to this hotel. When booking with Expedia, the option of a room with disabled facilities was not offered. My mum had difficulties climbing the stairs to the first floor as there is no lift access. Whilst staying there, we then learned of an annexe with disabled access which would have been preferable for us. Why was this option not apparent when booking? The hotel staff were helpful and the food was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by tedtheparrot from dorset

fantastic all round

Posted Mar 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
an excellent hotel, great service and outstanding food, very reluctant to leave and will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

3 day stay with our dog during October 2013

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: Good location - freindly staff - very home from home - welcomed dogs and didnt just tolerate them - food and wine selection was good
Cons: Service at the bar wasa little slow - need a dedicated bar man
It was an excellent trip and a very enjoyable stay. The hotel is located fairly central to Pitlochry and the walk back up the hill certainly keeps you fit. Beautiful garden location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by S. Kerr from Blackford

"Lovely Hotel"

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Had a fantastic stay and the service and food excellent.The only minor complaint was the lumpy bed in room 27.Apart from that I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel as it is in a great location and the staff very friendly and professional.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Blair from sydney

Old world charm, very nice hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2013
Pros: the old world style
Cons: the bathroom was very small
Location: located amongst the giant pine trees,about 15 min walk to town, very quite location.
I would give this hotel a 5 star rating all round but to be truthful the place is getting old and there are some things that arn't being kept in good condition, nothing that would effect your stay but the place, as a lot of buildings in this country is showing its age. Otherwise the place is fantastic if you like the old world looking style, dark wood fittings 100 year old antique furniture, book cases full of old books, it really has a lot of charm. I would definately stay here again. And as a note this is one of the cheaper places that I have stayed in Scotland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by croakingfrog from Dunblane

A special place to stay

Posted Jul 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Although we were having a lovely hot spell, I could imagine myself in the depths of winter, curled up with a book, a jigsaw, or even playing board games, as these were freely available for guests to use in the comfortable public areas. Our room was lovely, with a comfortable bed, and the bathroom spotlessly clean and enormous. We only stayed one night, for a visit to the Pitlochry Festival Theatre, but I would be happy to use the hotel as a base for an extended stay. The theatre was an easy walk away, across the Dam. Breakfast was in the formal dining room, and was delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted May 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, clean very lovely location. The staff was a bit stuffy. But overall very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Great for romantic getaway

Posted Apr 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Charming hotel, nice place. The snow gave it a beautiful surrounding