Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom YORK

Excellent stay at the Salutation

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Position, Staff, Cleanliness
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Shops on the doorstep, Racecourse and river Tay adjacent as was Scone Palace.
We booked a 5 night break at a special price and found that the offer was outstanding. The receptionist was friendly as were all the staff especially the breakfast lady in charge. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was small as was to be expected as it was an offer BUT the room was clean and tidy and tea and coffee together with shortbread biscuits EVERY day. We found the tv rather small. The drinks in the bar were reasonable for a hotel and almost the same as Wetherspoons. The food at breakfast was excellent with free range eggs, beautiful bacon and two choices of sausage, beans, tomatoes, black pudding, etc. etc. Cereals , fruit juice etc. Would recommend this to anybody visiting Perth. Only one problem if you have a car. The hotel does not have a car park which did not worry us as we got a cheap train offer from York.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom scotland

It was comfortable apart from the first night as t

Posted Mar 27, 2015
It was ok apart from the first night in room 303 the fan in the toilet would not go of
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Excellent rapid couterous check in, top floor room. lift available. Floor boads were noisy even when not being walked on !!! The room was previously occupied by 4 " celebrities " or so it says on the plaques on the door all clean and tidy . Restaurant 1st course served rest of the meal self service all OK staff very good and attentive Self service breakfast also good Secure 24 hour car park nearby £9 for 24 hours handy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom fife

Very central hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Enjoyed an excellent stay. Hotel staff very acomadating. Room comfortable, spacious and well appointed. Room dated but in keeping with the age of the hotel. Bit of a pain if you get there by car as there is no drop of point. Car park near by but you have to go back daily to pay for that days parking. Restuarant, excellent choice but no smaller portions available. We did ask. Food well priced and good but could be a bit hot and miss. Overall, great stay. Would visit again but probably give the Restuarant a miss.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Ardrossan

Salutation review

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: Central position, our room was comfortable with plenty of room.
Cons: As it is an old hotel the floors need major repairs as you can hear the creaks and groans when the residents above you walk across the floor.
Location: Central location to all shopping areas in Perth.
We had a very good stay, the hotel was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellant. Staff were all very friendly and great to deal with. If you have a car the parking is only free between six at night and eight in the morning and the parking wardens are very dilligent in the issue of tickets, this is not the fault of the hotel as i believe the hotel have asked for leaway for the guests but have been refused by council. Great way to encourage people to visit the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central for everything

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: Overall it was good and comfortable
Cons: Not a lot
Location: Excellent
We had a really good weekend plenty to do fromhotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
A very pleasant overnight stay in a small but very comfortable room. Staff were very friendly and helpful and our evening meal served in the bar was good as was breakfast on the next morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Warm hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2015
How nice to have a drink beside an open fire Refurbished rooms Friendly well managed staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very good value,

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Cons: Wifi was not available in room
Comfortable, clean and central. Would benefit from on site parking
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Garyfrom falkirk

good old hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels.com
Rooms a wee bit dated but clean and comfy, staff very nice,but worth it just for the brilliant breakfast . Location perfect