Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Generally okay hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Hotel was pretty nice, the historic decor and general vibe of the public areas was lovely, and the room itself was spacious with high ceilings (second floor "loft" room). Unfortunately it felt like the furnishings were quite old, the bed was very soft and the carpet felt quite dirty. The bathroom was pretty nice, and hot water was plentiful. Location was pretty good (short walk away from Hay and Murray streets, and the Perth and Esplanade underground stations), with a 24hr diner/restaurant just about a minute's walk away (great if you're arriving late, everything else closes really early).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Australia

Excellent historical hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Hotel staff were excellent, room was spacious and clean - a little paintwork needed doing in bathroom. Breakfast was delicious too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Convenient location.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Great location close to the Perth Arena, theatre, west end bars and eateries. Easy walk to main shopping precinct. Rooms were large, comfortable and clean. Overall the building could do with freshing up new carpeting and painting would really improve this accommodation. Food in was very good. Good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

nice hotel in middle of perth CBD

Posted Jul 27, 2014
The hotel was in a convenient location in the middle of the city, but still able to give a nice comfort feeling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nick from Melbourne

Nice hotel close to Perth CBD

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Cons: 2nd floor rooms could do with redecorating
Location: Kings park, CBD, convention centre, cultural centre all within 10-15min walk
The Melbourne Hotel is in a lovely old building with great feel in the foyer and downstairs in general. Upstairs looks a bit dated and the room was adequate, but not luxurious. The cafe, bar and restaurant looked very nice although I didn't actually use them. Close enough to Kings Park for a walk and a short stroll to the CBD
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PNJ from vic

Very well located and clean but not perfect.

Posted May 29, 2014
Watch the traffic noise in the morning. The bed was pretty sad. The room was very clean though and the bar meals were pretty good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donna from Brisbane

HISTORIC, WELL LOCATED BUT BASIC ROOMS

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Restoration of the outside and public areas of the historic property
Cons: Hotel staff service training and room décor as above
Location: Well located within the city, walkable to Hay St Mall, restaurant and bar options and transport
We stayed an overnight recently at The Melbourne and found it to be clean with quite basic small 'deluxe' rooms. Décor was minimal and not in keeping with the hotel renovation, amenities in the room - adequate. It was interesting from an historic aspect and public areas of the Hotel are beautifully renovated and restored. The restaurant was very 'olde worlde' and atmospheric, food was of a surprisingly high quality, along with the service. Breakfast in the café was also of a good standard. Just the room was disappointing. Hotel staff were not particularly service orientated, not a smile to be seen.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lee from South Africa

Lovely old ambience .

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: The vibe is nice and the room was very quite but that was probably because it was at the back and has very small windows.
Cons: The beds are only doubles and that should be upgraded to at least queen size!The restaurant is very expensive and even the pub meals were pricy!
Location: The most amazing restaurant across the road.very easy walk to Hay St Mall and the parking is not too expensive.
Lovely high ceilings and has the feel of an old cowboy movie!gorgeous old lift and nice pub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Crgharold from NSW, Central Coast

Beautiful place to stay

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Absolutely beautiful Hotel. Worth a lot more than the rate! Huge, clean comfortable room. Balcony access from the room is nice. Wifi. The bar downstairs is handy, a little pricey compared to where I'm from though, but still very good. I stayed on a Friday night and the bar was very busy in the evening, so I took my beer up to my room and enjoyed it out on the balcony. Central location makes everything convenient. Breakfast downstairs was fantastic. I Recommend this hotel definitely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean & comfortable, good wi-fi. Good service & stored my luggage for free after checkout. Free Perth Red Cat bus at door.