Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: The pool and the room were both great. Lot's to explore on the property.
Location: There is not much around the hotel that is walkable, plenty if you have rented a car.
We stayed for 3 nights while in the region to do wine tastings in the Umbria and Tuscany wine regions. Our room was very nice and they upgraded us as there was availability on our check in. The air conditioning was great, which you won't always find in Italy and the bed very comfortable. The restaurant on site is very good but a bit pricey. The specials change daily and the one's that we tried were delicious. The grounds are expansive and very pretty. The pool is also very nice and we spent time there each day. The hours aren't great b/c of the requirement to have a lifeguard, but the 10am to 7:30pm was sufficient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bicester, UK

Beautiful hotel , quite off the beaten track.

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Better range of menus for dinner, perhaps a rotation ?
Location: Visit Panicale, Castiglione del Lago and Assisi ; all beautiful and full of historic charm.
We stayed at BdC for 4 nights in April 15. It was very obviously out of season and very quiet, but the staff went out of their way to be helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable ( new, clean sheets every day ! ) and the facilities were good. Breakfast choices were limited, but you could pay for additional choices and the dinner menu was the same all week - I would have liked to have seen a different choice, or at least a new special each day. Spa facilities were nice, but the steam room was out of order and the outdoor pool was closed. It wasn't really warm enough for the pool anyway so that didn't matter too much. The "garden room" spa was lovely. The bar prices were extremely reasonable for a hotel ( 20 Euro for a bottle of really nice Prosecco ) and the Maitre'd ( Marcus ) was happy to recommend other places to eat in the surrounding areas without any kind of pressure or guilt about not eating at the hotel. Overall, a very nice break in a lovely location with smashing staff - definitely recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Super Hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2015 on Hotels
wir waren nahezu die einzigen Gäste im Haus, trotzdem wurde uns der volle, hervorragende Service in allen Berichen des Hauses geboten. Wir danken allen Mitarbeitern, die uns während unseres Aufenthalts betreut haben.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michael from Nashville

Hard to find but worth it.

Posted Feb 7, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is one of the nicest hotels in Italy. The staff attentive and bend over backwards to help out. Driver beware: it is hard to find. Did not show up correctly on Google maps gps. It is off the beaten path, but worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by MARIA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Un endroit magique

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels
Trés bel endroit, un havre de paix au milieu de la campagne italienne.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dan from Portland, OR

Almost perfect experience; almost perfect place.

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels
It's one of the loveliest places I've ever stayed. Beautifully done throughout, inside and out. A destination place from which you'll hesitate to leave to drive the 11 km into Perugia or 20 km to Assisi. The grounds and the buildings are remarkably beautiful. The staff is super-friendly and was glad to see us; always ready to help and give suggestions. The restaurant was beautiful, comfortable, thoughtfully and carefully designed, as was the whole place. The one thing that was wrong and marred my experience: the fact that the spa (also pristine and lovely) was unattended, and the front desk was unaware of that fact - a management flaw. I know this because I had a complaint that the spa services (whirlpool, steam and sauna) were not very hot the first night and downright cool the second night, which is a shame because the spa was one of the main reasons I booked the place. So, my otherwise wonderful experience, in a place that clearly strives and achieves perfection, was marred. Don't let this deter you, but make sure the spa is working if you want to use it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Silvia from firenze

una notte da sogno.....

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels
sfortunatamente abbiamo trascorso solamente una notte nel resort....camere standard molto bella (unico neo: stanza matrimoniale con lettone composto da 2 materassi e nn uno matrimoniale.....), ho fatto un massaggio bellissimo al viso, la resaponsabile è bravissima....mani d'oro! abbiamo cenato li la sera dopo una bella sauna...cibo molto buono e ricercato....le quantità non sono eccessive e forse si può migliorare...!la mattina con le mbike giro nella tenuta...bellissima avventura!speriamo di tornarci per un altro anniversario!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Munchen

Schönen Herrenhaus

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Sehr schönes Anwesen mit gutem Restaurant. Liegt leider etwas "vom Schuss" und man muss teilweise lange fahren um in einem lokalen Restaurant zu essen
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Tasteful, elegant...but short on soul.

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Alternate title: "Near a lot, close to nothing". Spent 4 nights as base to explore Umbria. Very high quality refurbishment of estate building, not a very old one. Lovely grounds, rooms and public spaces. We found Umbria to be a more rustic/relaxed place than Tuscany, with simpler more soulful cuisine. Unfortunately, the management seems to want to minimize the Umbrian in this hotel. Food service from bland breakfast buffet to fine dining room was not particularly of place...kind of safe international versions of italian food; nothing we tried would we seek out again. This was particularly distressing since the closest town of any size is Perugia, which has great, authentic dining but is 45 minutes away. So, if you want to chillax (my daughter's word) at the hotel, you get stuck with boring and not inexpensive food. Lots of other issues to address, like: a weak wine list; no weights (benches but no free weights nor machine substitutes), no towels, nor water in the nice spa/workout room; an odiferous lifeguard with a perpetual grimace at the pool; little to no service at poolside bar; lengthly check in and out due to faulty systems... Our significant experience with other Relais & Chateaux members led us to not expect these shortcomings. All being said, this is a stylish retreat, that is beautifully decorated and landscaped.