Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Castle Hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: Location was lovely and the hotel did have some charm. The staff was also very nice.
Cons: The grounds and the hotel as a whole need some care, attention and updating.
Location: Location was quiet and peaceful.
Beautiful location and grounds and the castle has a lot of charm. It is an old, outdated and tired facility though and could use a lot of care and maintenance. Breakfast was good, but dinner at the hotel restaurant was just OK. We were served our food at different times and our wine wasn't delivered until our first course was served.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dr. Maddux from USA

Castle Paridise

Posted Aug 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was a Magical stay ! Sleeping in a Real Castle ( Not Disney World made ).Also the Grounds were beautiful , with roses & butterflies. The food was also Excellent !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Helena from The Hague

Superb romantic castle

Posted Aug 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
My husband and I stayed at the Castello for two nights on our honeymoon and it was certainly the highlight of our trip. We upgraded to a Junior Suite (which was certainly worth the extra money as the castle is so beautiful but the standard rooms felt a little, well, standard) and the views were stunning- overlooking the Tuscan hills. You do need a car here- we were doing a road trip through Tuscany so it suited us perfectly, but without a car it would be more tricky, as the Castle is in the middle-of-nowhere which is, of course, part of its charm. Do bear in mind that the swimming pool is not at the castle- the lady said that it was a 12 min walk, but that was down a lot of steps in 36 degrees heat and so we made sure we drove! The staff at the hotel were wonderful- incredibly accommodating and very helpful. They called the local winery and booked us in for a tour and tasting. This is a must do if you stay at the castle! Enrico took the two of us on a tour around the vineyard, explained how the wine was made and we sampled some of the offerings. He was extremely knowledgable and it was a very interesting tour. At the castle we opted for the four course dinner both nights -it was definitely an exquisite meal with items such as quail and swordfish on the menu in such a beautiful setting, all for just 30 EUR pp! Thank you Castello dell Oscano for making our honeymoon so special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kara from USA

Lovely castle for a romantic getaway

Posted Jun 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
The castle and grounds were absolutely lovely, and we enjoyed staying here (part of our honeymoon). Our only complaints were that it was often hard to locate hotel staff (it took us over 20 minutes to locate someone so that we could check out and leave, and that was after hunting all around the castle and finally flagging down a housekeeper who was able to find a staff member for us), and the quality of the food at the restaurant. It is definitely a fine dining establishment, but probably offered the least delicious food we had during our three week trip to Italy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Robert from London

Excellent faded grandeur

Posted Jun 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
We loved our two night stay, some might expect a more modern experience for the quite high price but we loved the faded grandeur and ethereal feel of the castle. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful experience

Posted May 28, 2013
Must have a car - a great location for those interested in driving around Umbrian countryside
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good experience for a castle stay

Posted Oct 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
A great experience if you have not stayed in a castle location before. You certainly need a car for this stay as the castle hotel is perched on a hill, and the view from up there is excellent. Had an enjoyable stay here with excellent breakfast buffet spread - the service was great. They also serve dinner but this is extra, and the food was a bit on the high side but good quality. Within good driving distance from Arezzo and Assisi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous, romantic hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel is so peaceful and beautiful, and the staff were utterly charming. The food in the restaurant and at breakfast was very good indeed. Just don't expect the pool to be open, when we went (June 2012) it was definitely a work in progress. This didn't have any effect on our enjoyment of the hotel though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by bryan

absolutely beautiful

Posted May 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
very beautiful.amazing country setting. staff very friendly and helpful. The restaurant and breakfast room are in the hotel and romantic. The food was great. Stayed in the annex which is seperate from the main castle. Wonderful view of the mountains and valley. When we return , we will upgrade to castle room. A true Italian beauty and well priced. A special thanks to Monica
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Great

Posted Jan 5, 2012
We loved this castle. My 19 year old niece was crazy about the castle. Great views, great place. All good thanks for everything.