Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Location
Expected better room in terms of size, finish and bathroomwas ridiculously small.Went down for breakfast at 9.00 a.m. and many items had run out and were not replenished. Would not stay there again or recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from memphis

Location

Posted Aug 14, 2014
The staff was wonderful. The accommodations were top drawer. The breakfast was superb. And the desk manager helped us out of a tight spot...we are ever grateful. Love this hotel. And did I mention the fantastic location!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very central

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Fabulous hotel. Pay the extra for a valley view, well worth it. Limited parking opposite the hotel. Great restaurant with friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Charming hotel with beautiful view of the valley

Posted Jul 10, 2014
This was the second time we stayed at the Fontebella, and were once again very pleased. Being in an antique building, the room was not very large, but comfortable and had a lovely view of the valley. The breakfast, included in the price had a large selection. The only issue we had was a leak in the shower's seal, which left water on the floor. Otherwise, we would recommend the Fontebella.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Close to St Francis- wonderful staff

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Nice room. Great breakfast. Martin at the front desk was absolutely wonderful. Always eager to help & have great directions & visiting tips. My daughter gives Martin 10 stars!! Thanks Martin for making our visit perfect!'
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Beth T. from Austin, TX

Nice hotel with a convenient location

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
I liked this hotel. We were able to park right out front for a nominal amount. The view was very nice. Room was old but clean with tiny shower but typical of European hotels. Staff was nice and breakfast was ample. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JJR from Moorpark CA

Great hotel in Assisi

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location in town is excellent. The staff was extremely helpful especially Michale. One of the staff loaned us their personal umbrella to use during our stay. The food at the restaurant was first class. I would recommend this hotel. Only suggestion is to provide wifi in rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Nice hotel close to basilica of St Francis

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: We had dinner at the hotel one night which was very nice and reasonably priced. Breakfast each morning was great and had a good variety of food.
Cons: The bar seemed a little limited in choice
We stayed in April 2014. We chose this hotel based on a recommendation and due to its closeness to The basilica of St Francis. It was in a good location, uphill from the hotel was the main town. I would recommend getting a taxi from the station to the hotel and if you want to visit Eremo delle Carceri also to get a taxi as the local bus routes don't seem to really cover any of the sights. We walked to San Damiano which was beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Traveler from Kentucky

Very nice hotel within the medieval walls

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Cons: The internet connection was spotty, but that may not be in the hotel's control.
Location: In the historic district of the medieval walled town, almost everything is close by. The desk clerk provided a map, and finding sites was easy.
I enjoyed my stay here. The room was comfortable and the view out over the valley was amazing. The hotel staff were courteous and helpful. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was very good. It's always nice to say in a historic building in the medieval district of a town like Assisi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by martha from Hartford

Nice place to stay in Assisi.

Posted Jan 23, 2014
Nicely located hotel. Nice staff. Nice view of valley. Breakfast OK. WiFi in public rooms only. Nice public room.