Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Most convenient t

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: That it was right on top of the city. It was clean and provided everything you needed in the room
Cons: We were in room 33, which has a shower in the bathroom. But you stand in a little tub, which is on 2 levels and therefore very dangerous.
Location: Location perfect and the Basilica to see just opposite
Nice hotel just opposite the Basilica. To get to it and it's parking spaces we had to go through all the narrow streets of Assisi, which was quite an experience. Lovely view of the valley and good value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rooftop terrace breathtaking!

Posted Jul 2, 2014
This hotel is in an ideal location with great view of San Francesco especially from rooftop Terrance. This alone is worth the stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A traveling senior from Philadelphia

Great Location for the Basilica of St. Francis

Posted Feb 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was clean and satisfactory. The bathtub/shower was small and confining. I was taking care not to fall as the warning stated. The room was not luxurious, but then I didn't come to Assisi to spend much time in the room. The staff very helpful and gracious. The breakfast was ample.The free parking lot is a good uphill distance for a senior, but would not be a problem for a younger person. That being said, I would definitely go back to this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rossana from Naples, Italy

Great location!

Posted Jan 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
We travel in the off season, and so the town and hotel was pretty empty of tourists. Upon arrival, we were able to pull up right in front and remove our bags. Probably not so simple during peak travel season or during a papal visit to Assisi. There is parking available (included in the rate), but you must park it outside the city walls next to the cemetery with a green parking permit they give to you upon arrival. This hotel is right in front of the basilica of San Francesco....it was ideally located and easy to find. The room was clean and the four of us had plenty of room...my husband was able to complete a workout in the room...which says a lot for a typical European hotel room. The heater worked well..so the room was toasty. Breakfast was included in the price of our stay. Beautiful ceramics in the breakfast room with homemade yogurt (and the typical store variety), breads, cereals, and sweets. One morning they had eggs and bacon...but not the following day. The town is small and walkable...other than directions to the parking area, we didn't use the front desk for more information since this is our third trip to Assisi. All in all, I would recommend this hotel for proximity to the basilica.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jason from Philadelphia, PA

Great Place

Posted Jan 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great Place. Perfect for familes or couples. The best location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jason from Philadelphia, Pa

Cannot beat the location

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was great and so was the location! You really cannot beat this location. Footsteps away from the church with St. Francis and just a short walk to St. Clare. Free breakfast was great as well. Very nice people.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Review of hotel San Francesco

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Only problem was internet wifi has to be paid per device €3 - every 24hrs Unheard of before
3 out of 5
by suzanne from Colorado

Hotel location superb.

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Room view outstanding. Bed horrible! Uncomfortable beyond belief. Bathroom dirty. Shower had mold in tile grout. Floor disgusting. Breakfast food boring but edible.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cate from New York, NY

Nice location

Posted Oct 18, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: No other hotel I stayed in while in Italy required me to pay for my internet connection. Fee was reasonable but no one else made me pay at all.
This hotel is located practically next to the cathedral so the location is perfect. That said, be prepared for a barebones room. It was fine for a night or two but was essentially a clean bed and a warm shower. I visited when Assissi had lots of pilgrims attending and in talking with them, everyone started the comparison to their university dorm rooms of the 1980s.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by D

as close as you can get to the Basilica

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
The location was good (caffe / restaurant next door was very convenient), breakfast was superb, the rooms were a bit pricey, (make sure to ask for a room with a view if available), the staff were polite and helpful, wifi is not free.