Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phila., PA

Nice hotel, but...

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Not a 4 star hotel. Rooms & beds could better. No WIFI in rooms, only lobby and did not always work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Lack of electrical sockets in room. Small communal areas, bar etc.
Location: East access to town
Reasonable hotel, well placed. Expected better after reading other reviews. Had a few problems during my stay, tv system undergoing maintenance, etc. I don't regards bbc world service as an full satellite package. Pool has a flexible liner rather than being solid. Good breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wales, UK

Right in the Centre

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Great location, comfortable and clean. Friendly helpful staff
Location: Perfect location - central to pretty much everything.
Nice clean, comfortable hotel right in the middle of Florence - 5 minutes from the Uffizi and 2 minutes from the Duomo. Ideal for exploring the city museums, bars and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the bus station

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Close to city center and bus station
Location: Great location with access to everything there is to do in Perugia and close to bus station.
Perfect location for the city center and the bus station.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Nadir from USA

Worst breakfast I have ever had at a hotel abroad

Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
On our 2 week trip through Italy, Hotel Sangallo was the only poor quality hotel we stayed at. The front desk staff was accessible and helpful. When we checked in and went to our room, it had not been checked beforehand. The room was occupied. We had to change to another room. This was not something terrible, but there wasn't an apology or anything of that sort. The biggest problem with this hotel was the god awful breakfast they served. It was pathetic to say the least. No variety, unbelievably limited and very poor service. Shocking to be frank. There is a great deal of variability with regards to hotel breakfasts around Europe, but this place was in absolutely different league of bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sangallo Palace, Perugia

Posted May 26, 2014
Our welcome from reception staff was very warm but we did not later find all reception staff so friendly. Some were really helpful about buses, trains etc, others were less helpful.The room was excellent - large, very user-friendly and excellently serviced. Breakfast was very Italian, with awful tea and lots of sweet items. Bowls and spoons were not always available. Later arrivals found a reduced choice. The hotel is excellently situated near the bus-station and the escalator to the historic centre of Perugia, as well as to the small-gauge railway. Bar service was not always available without asking reception. The lovely lounge and terrace seemed very under-used. The pool was easily accessible and very user-friendly. I was pleased to have help with printing boarding passes prior to our departure and a very early breakfast with coffee offered for our 5 30 am departure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel. Great location.

Posted May 22, 2014
Great location. 2 seconds from trains and buses. 5 minutes from historic city center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by noufel from london, england

a good hotel

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: nothing.
Location: shop,eat,stroll
overall it was a brief stay yet very pleasant, i have enjoyed it thoroughly. Perugia as a city has a lot to offer. knowing that at the end of the day coming back to this hotel for a well deserved rest is always a bonus.
3 out of 5
by UrbanSherpa from Los Angeles

Mediocre at best

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Proximity and easy to get to things- if you are willing to walk a bit.
Cons: Room decor for sure. And replacing the table cloth like hand towels.
Location: Easy to get to from Perugia Train Station and easy to get to center of Historic Perugia via series of escalators.
The room decor was very dated. Brown eco friendly toilet paper. Table cloth like hand towels. The beds were dipped in the middle and very hard mattress. Wood floors in the hallway looked nice, but very loud as people walked by. The breakfast was dismal. empty room, but the staff did not let us sit where we wanted to. Juice was watered down, croissants were stale... Lunch meats looked like they sat out for a few hours and the "hot tea" was cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Edi from Scotland

Perfect centre for Perugia

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Location, staff and general welcome.
Cons: COFFEE. It would also be good to have tea/coffee in the rooms
Location: Lots to see and do. easy transport to Assisi, Foligno, and many other beautiful places. Perugia itself is great but you need to be pretty fit.
Sangallo Palace was the perfect centre from which to explore Perugia. The staff were very helpful with regard to travel and tour arrangements. Hotel is at the bottom of one of the escalators in the town. Good little swimming pool in which to relax after a busy day. We ate in the restaurant a couple of times and were very pleased with both the food and the service. Coffee at breakfast was pretty disastrous!! In a country famed for its' coffee it was very disappointing to find such poor quality.