Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by ScotAussie

Very poor value for money.

Posted May 18, 2014
Location: Spoleto is one of the many lovely Umbria hill towns, close to the main connecting highways of the area, so is useful for motoring tourist trips.
It was not clear to me why other travellers rate this hotel so highly. The hotel itself is basically a very expensive bed-and-breakfast. There are few services for the high price of the rooms. The hotel breakfast is very basic and does not include any cooked eggs etc. The car park is small and difficult to use. The rooms are no better than any of 100's of 3 star Italian hotels - decent beds, but with very few electric plugs, dodgy Wi-Fi, small safe. The rooms had NO tea and coffee facilities. The room TV had only local channels with NO cable and zero in the way of English-language channels. The hotel is located in the middle of a noisy area of an urban town with numerous barking dogs. The ever-present managers did not distinguish themselves during the stay. The hotel is perhaps ok for 1 or 2 nights of tourist stay in Spoleto, but is not useful for longer stays and definitely not for business travelers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ann from Portland, OR

Beautiful hotel in the historic setting

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: It is an old building with a spectacular view in the historic center.
Cons: Nothing. The difficulties are the driving and parking, and nothing can be done about that. But the owners are very helpful with both.
Location: Spoleto is a wonderful Umbrian town, good for exploring the surrounding area and Assisi.
We loved this town and this hotel. It is owned and run by a couple who live in the hotel, are perfect host and hostess. Driving in spoleto is very difficult and they helped us to get our car in and out of the town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by David from West Yorkshire UK

getaway retreat

Posted May 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel in Spoleto was in a perfect location with stunning views over the countryside. This is only a boutique hotel but the style and decor make it a must stay if you are in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Oasis of calm in excellent location

Posted Sep 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
The location in Spoleto was perfect for us, if a little difficult to find. The fact that we parked the car outside the garden walls of the hotel and left it there throughout our stay was a real bonus, being able to walk to all the sites we wanted to see, the shops and the restaurants. The owners of the hotel were charming and gave good advice and excellent service, with good recommendations for dinner in restaurants close by each night. Breakfast was very good, great service, beautiful location and view. It would have been helpful if there had been some drawers available in our room, but that is my only criticism. I thoroughly recommend them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK

Palace life in Umbria

Posted Jun 10, 2012
Pros: The greeting the view and the comfortable beds
Cons: The breakfast coffee
Location: Just above the market square and down from the castle (can use the escalator from town centre)
Wonderful entrance to the hotel - an archway to a garden, with the Umbrian countryside beyond. Breakfast in the garden, listening to the birds. There is an escalator(!!) leading from the river side right up to the castle, not on any of the maps, and from there it is a short walk down to the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bruce from Melbourne VIC, Australia

A Lovely Stay

Posted May 26, 2012
Pros: Garden and view from garden; privacy of room (annex); breakfast was good
Cons: not applicable
Location: Difficult for us to find, but well located in Spoleto
Beautiful setting with friendly and helpful family managing the property
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Abingdon

Great terrace for breakfast

Posted May 25, 2008 on Hotels.com
Historic hotel run by very helpful family. Good position on edge of town with lovely terrace overlooking hills. Sat on terrace for breakfast and it was a great start to the day. Owners gave good advice about local restaurants and directions. Room was quite small, but well furnished and plenty of character. Recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jeanne from Tiffin, OH

Unbelieveable views and service.

Posted Oct 19, 2006
This hotel sits high up in the old city, with an amazing courtyard that overlooks the mountains. It's also just a few minutes' walk from the main squares and Duomo, as well as the castle and aquaduct. The staff was very helpful in booking dinner at a local restaraunt, and recommending shops. They also brought drinks and a snack (no charge) to the courtyard for an afternoon respite. Our room view was slightly marred by traffic noise from the highway below, but overall this is a beautiful hotel with fabulous service in a fairytale setting!