Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cami from Burnside, Il

Room was smaller than i expected

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Rustic & friendly
Location: Wonderful Family Diner across the street, they had awesome fried Chicken
The overall stay was good & I would stay again but just pick a different room & not by the railroad tracks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 10, 2013
3 out of 5
by Tim from Chicago, IL

Nice hotel but......

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Location: New Salem Village of where Lincoln lived for 6 years
It was a nice hotel close to the New Salem village which is why we picked it, but the room we had did not have an outside window, it had a window facing the hallway. I've stayed in a lot of hotels but never had this and was not said anywhere when I booked it.. I asked the management for a room with an outside window because it made me a little uncomfortable not being able to see outside, but they said they were all full. We stayed and it was okay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not happy

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: close to New Salem State Park,room was clean,bed comfortable.
Cons: more hooks and coat hangers,chairs,bigger breakfast bar
Location: location was good for what we wanted.
no hooks in bathroom,no hangers in closet,only one chair in room for 2 people,no dresser for clothes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lindaf from Nebraska

Staff were very nice and accommodating.

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: On the river and very clean and quiet.
Location: Close to area attractions.
Our air conditioning was not working well and staff turned the thermostat way down and got us a fan. Pizza in the lounge was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nancy from southern Illinois

Wonderful gem.

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Pros: It was clean and quiet.
Location: We spent the night here before attending the State Fair in Springfield, which was only 20 minutes away. Also visited New Salem and the amphitheater.
I'm always a little worried, when I make reservations and don't know anything about the place, but The Riverbank Lodge was a very pleasant surprise. It was close to Springfield, but far enough away to get the 'down-home' feel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The facilities were spotless. It was so quiet! Love this place. We will come back again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice motel, could have used a hot tub.

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: Quiet and Clean
Cons: the breakfast was a little odd, and it was not mentioned to us that breakfast was included. They have a lounge which could be used to make "real food
Location: Location is close to antiques, and New Salem
The staff was really nice, rooms clean a little small, good bed. Quiet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small Hotel Away from Things

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Our stay at this quaint lodge was enjoyable. The staff is terrific and the lodge décor was entertaining! It is a facility located in a charming small town so expect a small town venue. The train does run directly by this lodge. When we were staying there, it went by once a night. No horns, but everything shook! Thought it was a little pricey for what we got, but would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

RIVERBANK STAY

Posted Apr 17, 2013
i ENJOYED MY STAY VERY MUCH. EVERYTHING WAS VERY GOOD.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Petersburg

Posted Feb 4, 2012
Pros: proximity to where I was working
Cons: The bed.
Location: Petersburg, IL
Bed was uncomfortable and breakfast was plain. Rooms are small.