Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good time to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Discussed above
Cons: Temperature of the room was a little warm and we couldn't seem or regulate it. Also it was a bit noisy due to traffic.
Location: Fine.
The Apple Tree was as nice as we expected. I had been there several years earlier and enjoyed the welcoming atmosphere and cleanliness. I would definitely recommend it to friends and family,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

FINE LOCATION, GREAT FACILITY, FANTASTIK STAFF.

Posted May 28, 2014
Cons: BREAKFAST BAR COULD BE BETTER, BUT JUST 2 BLOCKS TO THE BEST PASTRY SHOP IN NORTHERN MICHIGAN (JOHANN'S BAKERY), ALL THE OTHER RESTAURANTS CLOSE.
CLOSE TO MCLAREN NORTHERN MICHIGAN REGIONAL HOSPITAL, NICE ROOMS, CLEAN, GREAT STAFF. CAN'T SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THEM. FANTASTIK LOCATION CLOSE TO EVERYTHING.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by carol from Grosse Pointe, MI

Nice location right on 131

Posted May 12, 2014
Good breakfast 7-10 am, nice view and porch,helpful staff. Loud heater. Shower turned suddenly cold. Awkward placement of light switches.Hot tub had bleach vapor that hurt my eyes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Not beach front but nice

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Clean, nice
Cons: Heat on in rooms when you get there, heat on in hallway. Guy at desk could smile sometimes.
Location: Across from the lake and "beach", down street from downtown.
Was across the street from the "beach" but nice. Only problems were that the heat was not on in our room when we got there and the heat was not on in the hallways or at least it felt like it. Woman at front desk was very nice and friendly, guy was quiet and seemed grumpy. Room was clean and big and within walking distance of everything.
2 out of 5
by Discerning from MI

Overrated in the reviews

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Good value, generally clean and comfortable, good location.
Cons: The owners need to be more family friendly, and less uptight. They need to be more customer focused rather than stuck on their arbitrary principles.
Location: Skiing is the obvious activity in the winter.
The Apple Tree Inn is not a horrible hotel, especally for easy going travelers. I would not recommend it to families or discerning travelers. Even though we enjoyed our time there, I did notice several problems that could be bothersome to some travelers: (a) while breakfast is included, there are only 4 tables in the breakfast area for a hotel with 40 rooms. So, it's over-crowded and many times you end up having to carry your breakfast back to your room. (b) Our shower head had four settings, but it was broken so it only flowed in the one setting it was stuck in. (c) The indoor pool was very cold, and the hot tub had so much chlorine in it you could only sit about 5 minutes in there before your eyes started to burn. (d) we could hear the people above walking in their room the whole time. But most importantly, owners have what seems like completely arbitrary rules that could make your stay bothersome. Under 18 cannot enter the fitness room, even with an adult beside them. They will not put extra bed in the rooms, claiming that it's a part of their "high standards". This also means that if you have a kid, you cannot stay in a jacuzzi suite, since they don't let two parents and a kid sleep in a king bed, but nor would they let you put an extra bed in there. Finally, they advertise the location of the hotel as in the middle of three great Northern Michigan ski resorts, but won't let you keep your boots in your room (and no storage either).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice Hotel

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: Spacious and quiet room.
Location: Nice view and plenty to do with the Lake so close and a quaint downtown!
A great place, very comfortable, quiet and friendly. Staff was very easy to work with and friendly! A great hotel for a great price!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, maintained hotel.

Posted Mar 1, 2014
The hotel was pretty nice. Clean room. Pool was a bit cold so the kids also liked the hot tub but pool had good hours too. My only complaint was they charged $10 extra for each child...unlike some other hotels that don't and it couldn't of been for the "deluxe" continental breakfast as all that made it deluxe was the addition of a waffle maker. It was pretty much bagels, muffins, waffles, cereal or apple or orange. Kids ate maybe two dollars in food. They did accomadate our late check out of 1 pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, got good view of the bay.

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Room size, price, location.
Cons: Open the hot tub in the winter (it's fun!)
Location: 5 minute drive to downtown Petoskey. Lots of neat shops for those that like to shop. 10 minutes from Boyne mountain for those that like to ski.
We arrived late Friday night. The hotel staff was very accommodating even though it was close to the time the lobby was closing. Room and facilities were very clean, and the hotel was close to downtown. Great hotel and great room rates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Very quaint and welcoming. Staff friendly. Room was very clean and I appreciated the extra toiletries.