Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older but quaint place to stay.

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: Nice location and reasonably priced.
Cons: Light the fireplaces for breakfast.
Location: It is just outside Harbor Springs on the way to Cross Village and the tunnel of the trees. It is a beautiful drive.
This is an older hotel but it is in a nice place and it was clean. The only thing that bothered us was that we were not told that there wouldn't be maid service on Thanksgiving Day. THis is understandable but in that case a couple of extra towels would have been nice. Also, the lodge fireplaces were not lit. It would have added to the rustic atmosphere.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lisa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Metro Detroit

You Get What You Pay For

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: The price was right, it was available during a peak travel period (fall colors) in northern Michigan and they are pet friendly.
Cons: By investing a little money in this place, it could be a lot more desirable.
Location: The town of Harbor Springs is only about 10 minutes away and there are a variety of places to eat. Nice stores for shopping.
Not a bad experience, but there was no fridge, no iron/ironing board and the last night we were there, it rained really hard and the ceiling started to leak. We had to use the ice bucket to catch the rain water! Décor is outdated and the lobby does smell old and musty like other people have mentioned. We were happy to have an inexpensive place to stay the night for the fall colors, however.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Quiet getaway in Harbors Springs

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was spacious and very clean. The amenities were not the newest, but we traveled to see the area, not stay in our room the whole time. The hotel has a rustic feel to it. My only concern was the steps to the second level need to be updated or repaired for safety concerns. The breakfast provided was a continental breakfast, which is okay, but I prefer a hot breakfast which several other hotels provide.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grand Rapids, MI

Midcentury charm

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: The room has windows on both sides of the room. Graceful charm
Cons: The bathroom had a very loud toilet.
Location: Near the Legs restaurant, on the tunnel of trees by-way. Near shopping and restaurants
Hotel is on the tunnel of trees by-way. Take a step back in time to mid-century modern décor with a peaceful charm and lots of room.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Kurtfrom Grand Rapids

Great Potential; Not well maintained

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pretty place. Nice reception area with great room for breakfast. Nice staff. Hotel is not maintained though. Carpet was stained. Mattresses were run down. Hot water did not work in the shower on the second day. Shower head was poor. Advertised "heated pool" but the only thing heating the pool was the sun. It was cold so we did not swim. Overall, not worth the cost for the room. Has potential but looks like the owners choose to not invest in improvements.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jim C

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ridersfrom Ohio

Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
the motel was dated yet very quiet and peaceful. It sit's a long route 119 right on the coast of Lake Michigan, write at the beginning of the tunnel of trees. we are planning next years trip right back to the Birchwood Inn.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Detroit, Michigan

Worst motel our family has ever stayed in.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Good proximity to downtown Harbor Springs.
Cons: This hotel screams for a major makeover. I would not stay here again without significant improvements.
Spent two nights in this hotel in late mid July 2014. Decided to try an independent hotel as there was no availability in a local chain we would typically use. The hotel dates to the '50's, which we knew going in, although I would have expected some updates since that era. Our room had a stale, pungent smell and the carpet was well worn and stained. The ceiling showed evidence in several spots of recent water leakage that had been patched, but not painted. Bathroom is vintage '50's with no updates with a sink and toilet that were at a level that was so low, it was uncomfortable. We also noted a broken light switch plate and a couple of bulbs burned out in the dining room chandelier. Most importantly, the bed provided absolutely no support and I suffered with back pain for a week following this stay. The breakfast was modest with toast, juice and coffee (no cereal). The staff was friendly, although at checkout no one asked about our stay when we checked out. I emailed the innkeeper following our stay, and although he did respond, his responses to my concerns were inadequate and he offered to do better on our next stay. Rest assured, we will not be back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Clean but tired

Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was clean, but dated. Mid-century modern (aqua bath tile) meets knotty pine paneling. Mattresses were somewhat concave in the middle. My only real complaint was that the room was very dark; only two lamps, no overhead lighting, and even with all lights on, it was cave-like.