Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta Georgia

Boyne Highlands Resort for a Wedding & Reunion

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Didn't have to leave the property for anything if you didn't want to. Easy to get to neighboring towns for shopping, eating and seeing the sights.
Cons: Need to put ice machines on 3rd and 4th floors. Very inconvenient to have to go down long hallways and several floors to get ice.
Location: Beautiful towns close by, Harbor Springs, Bay Harbor, Petoskey, Traverse City and Mackinac Island
I went to Boyne Highlands for a family wedding. The rehearsal and ceremony and reception were all located at the resort so it made sense to stay there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boyne Highlands

Posted May 18, 2014
The rooms were clean but the hot tub was under construction which we were not informed about.
2 out of 5
by mitch from Northville, MI

Worse than expected.

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Pros: The decor of the main lobby.
Cons: Seriously needs updating.
Location: We stayed here for a fall color tour. Close to Harbor Springs, Petosky. Beautiful area.
Arrived at night and after leaving the lobby, the driveway was poorly lit if any lighting at all and was difficult to find the building we were to stay in. The parking lot was hard to see with poor lighting and no signage telling you where to park for the building. Once inside, the accomodations were very old, not very comfortable and did not give the impression that it was clean. We expected much more from a Boyne property.
3 out of 5
by fayeannette from Western Michigan

Ok for just sleeping

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: Location. It was close to the places we needed to be the next day.
Cons: Floor coverings need updating badly because they have that greasy grimy look. Plumbing does need some work.
Location: There are tons of things to do, but we were their for family events.
Staff is great! We stayed just one night in one of the older buildings. Be prepared to carry your bags .....quite a distance. It would be good to explore the hotel floors first to find your room, then go get your bags. Oh, bring a flashlight if you get there after dark. Our shower quit for a time but then started again. Warm water was tepid. Bed was clean and the view a beautiful fall scene. If we were going to be there more than a day, I would want to stay in a different building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best value in Boyne, Hartley House

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: Value, peace and quiet. Very rustic.
Cons: Possibly a microwave in the rooms. The bar tender at the main lodge was more concerned with showing girls pics on his iPhone than serving customers
Location: Castle Farms, Charlevoix. Downtown Petoskey. Mackinaw. Water views EVERYWHERE.
For the price, it was a great room. It is off the beaten path of the main lodge. Ample secondary lot which was dirt. As you can read from multiple reviews, it is dated. Older rooms, older building, older TVs, etc. Bed was very soft and comfy, however, the queen beds were sized more like twins to be honest. Nothing fancy about this place, a little rustic, but clean and quiet. A few small negatives... You have to check in at the main lodge, a good hike or short drive. They actually still use metal keys... Any dealings with the hotel staff had to be made at the main lodge. However, all my dealings were very pleasant and quick. I can only rate the staff a 4 due to having to walk to the other buildings. I can only rate the facilities and condition as a 4, as it is dated. I was expecting a 60 person large hot tub which was at our lodge, however, either they mistakenly called a "heated pool' a hotub, or it was broke. We did, however, enjoy the hot tub at the main lodge after a long day on our feet. We would definitely stay there again. You're no more than an hour away from Petoskey, Charlevoix, Tunnel of Trees, Mackinaw, etc. A great central location to northern MI...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice

Posted Sep 5, 2012
Staff was very polite, helpful and friendly. Food was excellent. Only thing is that it is a little dated but on some levels that added to the charm. Also, WiFi was sometimes hard to connect to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really good getaway experience

Posted Sep 5, 2012
Everything was great except the restaurant food, while prepared well, and good tasting, was somewhat higher prices for the portion sizes in our opinion. Overall still a very good experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I will be back again to this hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2012
This is the 3d time I have been to this hotel -- lots going on even before ski season with golf, the pool, the zip line, hiking and horse back riding (not my thing but others we know who stayed there did it and really enjoyed it). The pizza in the bar was very good. The area is wonderful in all seasons. Staff is friendly and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sucks

Posted Sep 1, 2012
This hotel called The Barkley house needs to be blown up. No elevator the place is old and run down. Put in a single word. It SUCKS
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sylvia from Sterling Heights, MI, USA

Lots to do for families

Posted Aug 14, 2012
Pros: Location near Harbor Springs and Petoskey, good family place, with many things to do at the hotel itself.
Cons: Rooms are older in furnishing, but very well maintained. Not luxury, but then not luxury priced either.
Location: Very near to both Harbor Springs and Petoskey, as well as many lovely beaches along Michigan's northwest coast.
This hotel is well maintained and has many amenities for guests, including indoor/outdoor heated swimming pools, golf courses, skiing, ziplines, paddle boats, tennis courts and fishing. On the Saturday night we stayed in August, there were complimentary horse and carriage rides, and a complimentary bonfire with s'mores. You can sign up for golf and tennis lessons, segway rides were also available for an extra charge. Great place for families!