Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
This hotel is quite old and in need of many updates, but the location is perfect. The restaurant is excellent and the staff are all very accomodating and very friendly. I hope they fix the place up, they are doing repairs now and it should be better soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pleasant Lake, MI

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Hotel is right in the downtown so walking to shops was easy.
Location: We were right at the end of Lake Charlevoix and an easy walk to light house and lake Michigan.
My wife and I went to Charlevoix for our anniversary. We found a good room rate at the Weathervane. We were not disappointed in the location or the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

room was chilly

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: breakfast beds
Cons: all of the things given above are improveable
Location: ask chammer of commerce
entry area was ucky. Beds were ver comfortable T_V was too limited
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Southern FL

Great stay in a landmark. It needs a fitness room

Posted Oct 7, 2014
One night stay; traveling through the area for fall color.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Property needs up grade, rooms are dated and need total redecorating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

Nice hotel but..

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: The charm of the hotel.
Cons: New air conditioning units. Check drains in tubs.
Location: Convenient, clean
The room was a very nice size. The staff were pleasant. What we didn't like was that the tub drain was very slow running, and the air conditioning unit was extremley noisy. When the fan would turn off, the whole room shook! It was so disturbing that we could not run it during the night. Being right downtown was convenient for walking everywhere. However, the when people would go over the drawbridge, the noise was disturbing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

Hotel is clean but needs some updates to matrress

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Room was clean. Older but quaint. Mattress was pretty lumpy like it could use a new one. We were put on older section and hot tub was in newer part. If we had used it we would have had to go outside snd walk across parking lot. It was rather chilly so we didn't use it. Not sure if they were full but we should have had option of what part we were in so we could use facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Southgate, Michigan

Our favorite spot up north!

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: The room, the pool, the breakfast, and the location.
Location: There are so many things to do in Charlevoix. You can walk to the beach, walk to town, and watch the boats pass as the bridge opens.
This is our second year staying at the Weathervane Terrace. We love it! The staff was very friendly, and when we had forgot our phone charger at our previous hotel, they found us one to use until we checked out. It is the little extra's that they do that really matter. Our room was great, the pool was very warm, and it is so close to the beach, and town. We can't say enough good things about the place! Be back next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Benfrom Eau Claire, WI

Beautiful Room, Beautiful Town, Great weekend

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: The room was very large and was very clean. Breakfast was great and the view from the breakfast area was stunning!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisafrom SE Michigan

Friendly staff, close to town, but a little dated

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: Location, friendly staff
Cons: The building's exterior needs updating
Location: It's an easy walk to the beach or to stores and restaurants in town. Also close to the drawbridge, which is good or bad depending on your perspective!
We've been in Charlevoix before but never stayed in town. We always noticed the Weathervane, its interesting roofline and nice location close to the beach and downtown. When a last-minute trip came up we decided to try it, and it's ok. The staff are very friendly, and our room was comfortable. The bathroom was a little dated, with either a half-size tub or oversized shower - it was hard to say which. We had a large end unit with a nice, fairly new kitchenette and eating area, plus a sitting area and a big balcony. But the balcony overlooks the parking lot of another motel, with a tiny glimpse of downtown off to one side. Overall the building's exterior looks a little tired. We were surprised by the metal-grid spiral staircase that led to the second floor. It was very narrow and if we'd had bigger luggage, it might not have fit! The weather was very rainy so everything including the stairs was wet, so it was a little slippery. There was a handrail that seemed very low - would be fine for kids, who would probably love the circular staircase anyway. We we went to breakfast we found another (also metal and open) staircase that was not spiral, at the other end of the second floor. Since the weather was bad we didn't have much chance to walk around, but the parking lot leads to a walkway to the beach. It's also close to downtown shops and restaurants.