Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful experience.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.
Cons: Shower water could be little hotter.
Location: Shopping was convenient and Petra close by.
Enjoyable vacation. Hotel was close to Petra and a free shuttle was available. Staff were great, very helpful and pleasant. Room was clean, free Wi-Fi and the hotel had a nice outdoor pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Cruces, NM

Handy for Petra

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: It's pleasant, affordable, in a good location.
My wife, our son, and I stayed at the Amra Palace for 2 nights in order to explore the fantastic rock-carved city of Petra. The hotel is located in the town or Wadi Musa that has built up over recent decades to accommodate visitors to Petra. It's about 3 km from the entrance to Petra, as I recall, and 0.5-1 km from shops and restaurants we patronized - a healthy walking distance for multiple trips, but certainly tolerable. The breakfast buffet was fine (all elements of a good Arabic breakfast that we have come to appreciate, and Western fare as well), to be enjoyed on an open patio.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

value for money

Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
really great service, comfortable double-bed, free parking with enough space, nice breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dani from Sacramento, CA

Great experience at the Amra!

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Everything, I highly recommend it!
Location: Hotel is located 15-20 minutes walk from Petra ruins. Amra offers free shuttle service to/from if you want to save your energy.
Spent 2 days, 3 nights at the Amra last week. Check-in process was a breeze. Room was comfortable, spacious, clean and quiet. Buffet breakfast every morning with lots of selections. Pool and Turkish Bath within the premises. Beautiful garden, coffee bar and free internet...what's not to like?
5 out of 5
Recommended
by John from Birmingham UK

Perfect for Petra

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel in ideal location for Petra. Everything was as it should be with very helpful staff and breakfast and dinner a joy to experience. Even the heated pool and jacuzzi were great. Heartily recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Clean with excellent customer service

Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very friendly and helpful staff in all areas of the hotel (reception, bellboy, restaurant). Pretty clean - good for Jordan. Nice gardens. A little way from Petra and central Wadi Moussa (15 minutes walk down and 20 minutes back up the hill). Free transfers to and from Petra 3 times a day. Definitley recommend as long as you don't mind a walk through the local neighbourhood (perfectly safe) or a taxi (about 4 JOD). Excellent customer service.
2 out of 5
by Leo from Canada

OK hotel, terrible pool.

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: The staff were nice and the food at the complimentary breakfast was very good.
Cons: Fix and clean up the pool and area.
The hotel lobby and dining areas were nice, the room OK, as expected, but the pool area was awful with mould on the ceiling and the pool was filthy. It's too bad, because the pool would be quite nice if it were cleaned up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rosa from Montreal

nice budget hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: good value
Cons: rooms and bathroom a little old.
Location: there are plenty of shwarma places close by
amra palace is a nice budget hotel. the rooms were clean and breakfast was good. there was heating in the room. wifi was bit on and off. furniture is a bit dated but it doesn't affect comfort. there was an indoor heated pool and turkish bath. after a long day at petra this was very welcome. just some advice- hotel is not near the petra gate. i would recommend taking a taxi to and from the gates. remember there is a 3km walk from ticket counter to the treasury. it's downhill going but once you've spent a long hot day in the sun you have to walk it back uphill. therefore i would save my energy with a taxi back to hotel. this was great value hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Marty from Colorado

Turned out to be a fine choice in Wadi Musa

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were pleasantly surprised by the warmth we received from many, many Jordanians. At the Amra, Sayaa, Ali, Tamer and Shaaban were always ready to help us out. In particular, Ahmed, had corresponded via email before the trip to help coordinate transportation and a Petra at Night outing. Ahmed seemed to go out of his way on our behalf. The Amra is a good sized hotel and the breakfast buffet is very good. The room was very quiet and non-smoking as requested. At the time of construction this was a very polished facility and although still nice it does show some age. Still very comfortable. The box lunches are generous and very valuable on our hikes in Petra. (Modest fee.) A shuttle is provided from the hotel to the Petra Visitors Center on the hour at 7, 8 & 9AM and returning at 4, 5 & 6PM. Another shuttle provides transit to Petra at Night events. Failing that, a taxi is but a few bucks but be sure to negotiate when leaving the park because they want a premium. We found that we could walk a block and negotiate the standard rate back to the hotel. It is about a mile and a half from the hotel to the Visitors Center and up a pretty steady grade from the Park. The hotel will provide a map with ATM locations and a bakery. Don’t miss this bakery! There are also small groceries within a few blocks for snacks, water and pop.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Does what it says on the tin

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean functional hotel which has everything it says it does. Beautiful pool/Turkish bath set up. Rooms spacious and clean - slightly rough around the edges but definitely not complaining. Only complaint would be that shower water was a bit cold. Not a problem though. Thanks.